We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
28
78
69
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
78
69
22
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Located in center, in kind of bohemic area. There are many bars around, visiting by young people. The hotel is quite old, with wooden floors. The furniture are also old and seems not so clean. There is no elevator

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Ok if you're on a budget but this is not a hotel, it's a hostel. Breakfast room was really dirty, no bowls or spoons and staff uninterested in helping. Maybe Independence Day hangovers were to blame but overall the staff were rude. Avoid if you can.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Absolutely loved this place! Very clean with a great atmosphere. Very affordable. Staff is very nice and accommodating. We loved sitting on top of the rooftop deck in the sunshine. TV worked great. Only down side was needing to sit in the common living space to get consistent internet. Planning on staying here again at the end of our trip.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Accommodations were ok. They allowed me to go into my room early which was nice because I was supper tired. The shared bathroom worked out ok and had really nice hot water; but they didn't replace the toilet paper until I told them about it and every time someone showered there was a lot of water in the floor which was also not mopped. Lights also kept going out in the first floor... I think because of the small space heaters which are electric.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank José C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This is a unique sort of place that you'll either dig or you won't. It has a great location and is right in the middle of an old-style streets and building patch that could be used as a movie set for 100 years ago. A Disney community would spend big just trying to re-create the atmosphere.

But the hotel and neighborhood are still more functional than touristy, and there were several reminders like a "serenade" outside the nearby socialist party headquarters, or a shop down the street specializing in plastic containers of all types. There are popular cafes and the like, but if it were the U.S. they'd make the whole neighborhood very touristy and nothing but, as it looks like the backdrop of a Monet painting. The cobble-brick streets and sidewalks are so old-worldy that they practically beg people from all over the city to bring their dogs so they can poop there.

I had to schlep a lot of stuff during the trip, so I was looking for a place with either an elevator or a lot on the first floor. Not much luck with that here...It took 3 flights of stairs to get to my room and there isn't an elevator.

It's a majestic old place dating back nearly a century, I'd guess, with high celings, smallish single rooms with no climate control and shared baths. Also spciaous common areas. The one concession to modernity was a flat-screen cable TV that had a pretty good movie-channel selection. Furnishings were old and the mattress had seen better days and the floorboards creaked, adding to the character. Call it only lightly renovated...if Raffles got their claws on it they'd do a big top-to-bottom job BUT then charge 3-4 times as much. So be careful what you wish for.

The hotel is most convenient to the U. de Chile metro (though also not too far from Santa Lucia), and the ever popular Piccolo Italia restaurant is an easy walk. I never made it to the breakfast but that was probably fine. There's also a roof terrace used for smoking but that also has great views of the neighborhood around and the more modern buildings not far away.

Santiago is still the kind of place where you can stay centrally in these types of places sub-$30 as long as you don't mind the shared bath and some other sensory evidence of lived-in qualities. Reminds me of visits to a friend's place in D.C....it'd always be a pre-renovation townhouse in a transitional neighborhood near the northwest quadrant...in a few years the gentrification would reach it and it'd look like Georgetown, but in the meantime the rent was much more reasonable. That's what a few Santiago places like this feel like for now. Expect a mostly hostel standard for the private room along with more spacious common areas. And hope Raffles concentrates its attentions elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews