We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
49
172
116
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
172
116
38
29
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel does have a good central position bur is more like being in Delhi than Santiago. The decor is very Indian, with elephant wallpaper and Indian Gods throughout the horel.
The hotel feels grubby as though it has not had a good clean in years. The setee's on the 1st floor look as though a dust cloud would occur if you sat in them.
This hotel was Best Western but has not been part of this chain since 2010.
The breakfast is fine but basic.
Not recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Icholta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We were put in this hotel by our agent at the end of a cruise and it was really not good although the reception staff were very helpful.

We were put on the 3rd floor, no lift and my husband has had 2 lots of back surgery so not at all good, in a room less than clean although a good size. the bonus was that there was a fridge, air con and a kettle. The whole hotel was shabby and felt unclean. Quite a come down from the cruise ship.

I will be contacting the agent to complain.

Room Tip: avoid if possible
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ttjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The room was clean, but basic.We did have trouble with noise carrying from the passage when trying to sleep. Once we opened the door and told the noisy guests and they disappeared into their rooms it was fine. Best things were the area off the foyer where you could enjoy a cocktail or wine, and the Indian restaurant. Worst was that frequently the persons on reception did not have any, or very little English. Location - the area looked pretty rundown (as was the hotel) but it was convenient - only a short walk to the Plaza des Armas, museums, galleries etc. We stayed 2 nights in January, and when we returned for a final night in February, our plane was delayed so that we reached the hotel at about 4.30am. Woke the staff up. but they did kindly delayour checkout for a few hours at no charge so that we could get a decent sleep. Okay for a few nights, you might want somewhere a bit more comfortable if you plan a longer stay in Santiago.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phaedra499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

If you don't mind staying somewhere where maintenance is clearly a foreign word, the receptionist sleeps on the lobby armchairs in the darkness at night, the air conditioning doesn't work, and there are no lifts then this is the place for you. Not many people had safes which worked, and the breakfast buffet was tragic. I could go on for ever about the state of this hotel which could be a gem if closed down for a couple of months for a total renovation. As it is I can only warn potential guests to stay well away. A real shame but the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I send pictures of the broken bathroom floor, the broken safe and the broken air conditioner which doubles up as a bedside table. Such a disappointing start to our holiday but at least things could only get better from here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

My husband and I had the misfortune to spend two nights along with a group of friends at this hotel prior to enjoying a cruise. We had previously read the reviews of the hotel and it is clear to us now that the excellent and very good evaluations must have been written by kind relatives of the staff, or by people who ordinarily reside in mud huts. It must be at least a century since the Hotel Majestic deserved its title. It is located in a decrepit part of the city, approx. 12 minutes walk from civilisation. Although it has several floors, no one has yet thought to install a lift.
The hotel has a few good points. 1. A pleasant back garden with a small swimming pool, this is also probably the best place to sleep. 2. The staff make an excellent Pina Colada at a reasonable price and 3. the hotel has an acceptable Indian restaurant.
The first room we were offered was so appalling that we instanntly demanded a change which resulted in an improved room which became the envy of all our less fortunate friends, at least our air conditioning worked and we could open our windows.
English was spoken or at least understood and the service varied between helpful one minute and totally truculent the next.
Breakfast was one of the most depressing of experiences.
Finally do not trust the 3 star rating, maybe 2 star is more realistic.

Room Tip: Try another
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigiIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews