We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CEO versus Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Certificate of Excellence
Spore
1 review
“CEO versus Guest”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Overall not too bad of a place. Better be the renovated units or else u better be a mushroom. Had a run in with the CEO of Far East today. Was stopped from getting into the lift (that just arrived) by the doorman to make way for the CEO. Every staff member was on high alert so guests better step aside for the mighty executive in case we the paying guests got in the way.

Anyway it turned out that they had programmed the lift to only go to the penthouse where the big pow wow was being held so since I was on the lowly 14 floor that would not have worked anyway. Would have been nice to have been forewarned by either staff or signs. A big fat sign that says "Beware of CEO" would have been a kick.

Anyhow the staff here has been real nice especially Ernest at the front desk. He tries real hard to make sure my husband and I have a good stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated one on high floor corner unit for better light unless you are a mushroom or a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineChen, Manager at Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Julian K

Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards of our paying customer, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We have noted your comments and will put up signages when we have private functions at our Corporate Penthouse in future.

We also noted your compliments on our staff and we will share your encouraging words with the team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and please feel free to let us know if there is any other way we can make your stay here a more comfortable one.

Warmest regards,
Jasmine Chen
Residence Manager
Orchard Parksuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    136
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
193
25
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We (2 of us) booked 2 months ahead for a long stay at Orchard Park Suites (OPS) from Christmas 2009 until mid-January 2010. We booked a Studio LOFT serviced apartment because we did not want to stay in a "hotel-type" room which OPS also offers. Other one bedroom apartment type were fully booked.

FIRST IMPRESSION:
1) From the outside, the high-rise property looked impressive. Architecturally beautiful and in an excellent location. One enters the building into a spacious and very well-decorated hall and faces the Reception and check-in desk just a few steps ahead. The rest of the space is for sitting, waiting, reading and passing through traffic.
2) Reception and check-in was smooth and efficient, but with hardly a friendly smile from the staff who handled our check-in. Seems like it sums up Singapore: smooth, efficient, professional and "cold" (another government "Smile Campaign" perhaps ?).
3) Further to the left is the Buffet/Breakfast area - seems not too spacious, but guests can eat at tables outside, close to the pool area, when it is sunny or dry. We have seen guests piling up their plates, and even some stuffing fruits, pastries, etc. into plastic bags to eat later.
4) The pool is good-sized for laps, but sunbeds are not too many. Also with a children's pool. Gym is rather small with limited basic equipment.

LOCATION:
The OPS is in an excellent location, just behind Orchard road. Just step out of OPS, cross the road and you are walking up the steps to Wisma (ATMs are located within, on same ground floor) and then on to other Plazas, food courts and shopping centres. The famous amazing ION building and the Orchard MRT station are just 5 minutes walk away. No other tourist accommodation is this close to the MRT station, which offers cheap, safe and fast transport throughout Singapore.

STUDIO LOFT:
A lift (note: lift does not access some floors) delivered us and the bellboy with our luggage, to our 5th floor Studio LOFT, which turned out to be a lovely, spacious, and sunny 2-level apartment (total area about 64 sq. meters).
Upon entering the room (with electronic card-key), to our right is the second toilet (which is handy for a 2-level apartment), walk in pass the kitchenette to the right (separted from the living area by a low wall), and along the wall on the left is a beautiful but heavy iron frame dining table with glass top, and 6 heavy iron frame cushioned dining chairs, followed by a lovely modern sofa, chairs, a coffee table and a side table with table lamp (good for late-night reading downstairs) in the corner facing the window. This is a corner Studio LOFT apartment and it has big glass 4-meter high windows on 2 sides of the apartment. The windows offer an amazing view of the open field and road on one side, and facing the Wisma building across the other road on the other side. A plus point is the tall windows from ceiling to floor in this 2-level Studio LOFT, with bright sunlight streaming in on sunny days. Another plus point is the brilliant idea of having easy-to-close thick cloth horizontal shutter-curtains with pull cords to pull down or up. The sofa and chairs face the flat-screen tv (there is a second flat tv upstairs in the bedroom). The kitchenette has all the necessary appliances and crockery, plus a good-sized fridge, coffee machine and electric stoves. There is enough room in the kitchenette for 2 persons to move around. We use it to brew coffee, make drinks, warm foods in the micro-wave, but no serious cooking (we eat or dine out). Downstairs offer spacious (about 40 sq. meters) living area with walls painted in light biege muted tone, but with rather tired look, as seen in the rug under the coffee table, uphostery, and wood finishing. The air-con works well and has temperature control both downstairs and upstairs, but it can be noisy, though the noise can be drowned by the passing vehicular traffic below. There is a bus stop just below our window and we hear every bus that stops and takes off every 10-15 minutes, and several bus "numbers" stop there.

UPSTAIRS/BEDROOM:
The curving iron wrought staircase leading up to the bedroom is a lovely feature, but it "wobbles or trembles" so better for one person only ( two might be too much weight) to climb up or down at any time. Also, suggest to have a "night light" on downstairs in case one needs to come down at night. Bedroom area is not as big as downstairs area, but still spacious.The bed is rather spacious and has a hard mattress which we like. There is ample wardrobe space, with hangers, extra pillows, blankets, slippers and bathrobes. The alarm/radio and phone are on the bed-side table, and there is a flatscreen tv facing the bed. The bathroom is very spacious, includes a separate shower and bathtub, intercom and phone. But bathroom is dimly lit, and furnishing/wood-work looks worn out, although kept clean. The thick, fluffy white large towels and bathrobes make up for it in some way.

NOISE LEVEL:
Our peaceful and quiet sleep at night were short and abrupt, as in the early hours - around 2 a.m.to 3 a.m. onwards each night we were there, we heard the roaring of Formula 1-type cars and other fast-tuned cars speeding up the long and straight Orchard Boulevard on the side of the building that the windows are facing. We learnt (from our Singapore family and friends) that this is a trendy "sport car race track" for some of the newly rich professional (wall street type) locals and expats who do this for "fun" (kicks). This plus the late-night Christmas noise and other traffic street noise, means we had little sleep at night At around 4 a.m. we soon woke up to a different source of noise - that of the cleaning and rubbish trucks, delivery vans arriving and leaving, and the related human noise, followed soon by road and bus traffic as the new day begins.

When booking, we did ask for a LOFT which is high enough to cut down street and traffice noise levels. It was obvious our request was not met, despite assurance given when we booked 2 months ahead of our check in date.
We decided we should move rooms. The Guest Service officer was kind enough to suggest down-grade (as all apartments were fully booked) to their regular room types. We were shown a few rooms. But these were so different from the LOFT where we stayed.

OTHER ROOM TYPES:
1) The lay-out of these regular rooms are very different from usual hotel rooms. Each room has " small compartments" that are "linked", but do not allow air flow, and the dark colours and wood finishings do not help. The rooms seem "damp and stuffy". I later learnt that the property is about 20 years old, and was built as office accomodation for certain businesses before it was converted to a hotel property. Seems like the conversion was rather "cosmetic".
2) Non-smokers do please take note that there are not really "smoke-free" rooms. We both have smoked for many years but have stopped, so we can recognise tobacco/cigar smells. We were shown rooms which were supposed to be smoke free, but could detect nicotine smell coming from the curtain drapes. We were in one "smoke-free" room that was just vacated 30 minutes ago by guests who smoked. The Guest Service officer promised us that the nicotine smell will go away when they use a fan and dehumidifiers. We were not convinced and so stayed at the LOFT until we could move to another hotel.

As it was Christmas period, most hotels were fully booked. Lucky for us, we eventually were able to move 4 days later to a more luxurious (more expensive) hotel in a quiet location, but it was worth the move.

PRICE-QUALITY ?
1) If the plan is to book a regular room, I would go elsewhere. Most regular rooms do not have a good view, rather dark and dingy. They usually face another building.They are also expensive.
2) If booking a STUDIO LOFT, a one, two or three bedroom serviced apartment, ask for a higher floor, to get your money's worth.
3) Always ask to view the room yourself, before you check-in, sign for it, as later it can be time-consuming and frustrating when waiting to change room.
4) This property is about location, location, and location, and you are paying just for this.

We do not expect to return to OPS. There are other better and more price-quality options in the same area.

Thank you OPS, but once is enough.
G. Seow

Room Tip: 1) Corner suites are large and sunny, but ask for higher floors to avoid street noise. 2) If bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineChen, Manager at Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear G.Seow

Thank you for taking time to share with us your detailed feedback.

We have noted your observations and potential areas which we can work on such as the smiles from my staff and the tiredness of the building. We are working on some enhancement works such as facade painting and apartment refurbishments. Your feedback has also nonetheless highlighted certain areas which we have noted and consider as we are going through other areas of improvements.

We will also like to clarify here that our lifts here do access all floors. You may have seen that they only access to 1st, 3rd and 5th floor as these are deplexes at the Podium blocks where there is no corridor on 2nd and 4th floor. In fact, 5th floor is the highest we have for loft units. The rest of the units my team has shown you are likely to be 2bedrooms and 3bedrooms apartments at the tower block which are bigger. Loft units are the smallest and the only type of 1 bedroom apartment we have here at Orchard Parksuites.

We are sorry to hear that we have fall short of your expectation and that you are not expecting to stay with us again. However, we do still look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warmest regards,
Jasmine Chen
Residence Manager
Orchard Parksuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here for one month in June 2011 and paid for by my company. Orchard Parksuites is quite average as far as Singapore is concerned. What I liked - location is very good and near to major shopping areas, restaurants, and accross the street from an LRT station. What I didn't like or found very average are following. Breakfast buffet very basic and boring. Rooms are a bit old fashioned layout in that they have many small compartmentalized spaces which don't allow good air movement. Hence this contributes to the generally damp feeling I got in the rooms (my paperbacks curled their pages after a few days). Hotel even posted a sign in the room stating that turning the air-con off is not allowed, as I suppose this would excacerbate the already damp condition of the rooms. Couldn't believe the price my company paid for my one month stay (but then again thats Singapore). Don't think I would stay here again willingly nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greywolfmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasminechen, Guest Service Officer at Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear greywolfmeister,

Thank you for staying with Orchard Parksuites and taking the time to share your concerns with us. We wish to let you know that your feedback plays a vital role in improving the experience for all our guests.

In view of the humidity issue in our apartments, we have installed dehumidifiers in our rooms to improve both the airflow and damp conditions. You will be pleased to know that there are plans underway to refresh our apartments and bring it up to date.

We constantly strive to maintain the highest standards of customer satisfaction and would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,

Jason Lin
Guest Service Officer on behalf of the Management
Orchard Parksuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have just finished a twelve month stay at Parksuites and have many fond memories.

The location is perfect. Just behind Orchard Road with all that's on offer there, but also within 50 metres of the MRT station which gives easy access to just about anywhere. That's a big bonus given the heat and humidity as getting around on foot can be quite draining.

It's difficult to fault the staff. Without exception they were polite and helpful. A special mention to Freda on the front desk who always had a smile for us and nothing was too much trouble.

Unlike many serviced apartments they serve a breakfast on weekdays which is a great bonus when dashing off to work. Decent choice and quality at all times.

Facilities are acceptable but not 5 star. The pool is a good size although with limited sun beds. The gym is small and could do with a bit more equipment. A constant frustration for me was that there was just one treadmill with loads of guests trying to use it.

The rooms are a bit dated and tired. This was the biggest downside for me. Perfectly comfortable and serviced daily (not Sundays and public holidays) but just a bit dark and drab. The building is almost 20 years old I think and compared to more modern counterparts, is showing its age.

All things considered this is a great choice for central Singapore, particularly if on business and needing the benefit of serviced accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasminechen, Guest Service Officer at Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear lanandPaula,

We thank you for your positive feedback of Orchard Parksuites and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us! You will be pleased to know that your feedback is greatly valued, and our gymnasium has been upgraded with more treadmills and modern equipment for all our guests.

Additionally, there are still plans to continue to further refresh our rooms to bring it up to date.

Once again, we thank you for your continued support of Orchard Parksuites and look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest regards,
Jason Lin
Guest Service Officer on behalf of the Management
Orchard Parksuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and me stayed at Orchard Parksuites for 6 months last year on a business assignment to Singapore. It truely was our home away from home! The location is fantastic - stone throw's away from Orchard Road, Orchard MRT is walking distance and all the malls like ION, Wisma Atria etc. are just 5 min away. The staff is courteous and the service is great. Maintainence is prompt to respond to any issues. Daily breakfast is good too. Highly recommended for short/long term stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anurag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasminechen, Manager at Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Anurag28

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Orchard Parksuites, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
Jasmine Chen
Residence Manager
Orchard Parksuites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 314 in Singapore
2,468 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 314 in Singapore
9,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality

Property: Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Address: 11 Orchard Turn, Singapore 238800, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Parksuites is the serviced apartment of choice for leisure or business travellers who believe in living the high life. This multi-award winning residence is located right in the heart of Orchard Road next to popular mega shopping malls like ION Orchard, Wisma Atria and Takashimaya. As a winner of the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards Regional Series 2008 to 2010, Best Newcomer 2008/2009 in Wotif and 3rd winner for Signature Serviced Residence, Orchard Parksuites offers unparalleled luxury and convenience in Singapore's premier shopping district. With Orchard MRT station right at your doorstep, you are merely a train ride away to anywhere in Singapore, including the city's Central Business District. Select from our exquisite collection of 225 exclusive apartments, ranging from contemporary one-bedroom lofts to luxurious penthouses. Complimentary breakfast, daily housekeeping and a fully-equipped Business Centre are among the many guest services that you will get to enjoy here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Parksuites Serviced Residence Hotel Singapore
Orchard Parksuites By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing