We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A unique treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #76 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A unique treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you want a big generic hotel room don't stay here. New majestic is much more interesting than that. We just stayed one night on a stop over in a premier garden room. We had excellent service with reception giving us an early check in free of charge and also giving a room to freshen up in before our evening flight which really make a different if you've been exploring the hot city all day. Free Wifi was good. The room was not large but had an outside patio area with bath. There was a little noise during the day from construction and occasionally from people walking past in the corridor but generally it was an really interesting place to stay and the outdoor bath was a luxurious touch.

Room Tip: Premier Garden room has an outdoor bath which was excellent, also very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for your kind compliments. We're glad that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and pleased with the service we rendered. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay so we may be of service to you once again.

Cheers!
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    280
    70
    24
    17
See reviews for
42
391
68
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a beautiful property conveniently located in Chinatown near the Outram Road MRT station. Before we arrived, we had some misgivings due to some critical reviews on tripadvisor. However, we thought that criticisms of breakfast were totally misplaced (were the critics expecting Claridge's or the Waldorf Astoria?), and we couldn't understand the complaints about hot water--as long as you leave it turned on, there seemed to be plenty of hot water. And, noise was not an issue, perhaps because we were there over the Chinese New Year weekend.
In short, we would strongly recommend this hotel to others and would almost certainly stay at the New Majestic if we go to Singapore again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so I am not sure how you choose a room. But we were glad to have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear KenaiAlaska,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel! Thank you for your generous compliments. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I travel to Singapore for work several times a year and I am familiar with most of the hotels catering to both the business and leisure markets. With a one night stopover planned en route to Europe I wanted to try something different and was looking forward to staying at the New Majestic. The service was great, with the desk staff working very hard to make our stay enjoyable. For example, they kindly arranged an early morning check-out with breakfast takeaway. Unfortunately, our stay was marred by a number of factors: 1) I deliberatley booked the Premier Garden room but we were given an Aqua room instead because apparently the garden rooms were all booked out. While this was described as an "upgrade", it simply wasn't what I wanted. Given that the hotel sells itself on the unique character of each room, I would assume customer room choice would be of utmost importance when confirming bookings. 2) Nearby construction hammered away all day long at the back of the hotel - I know this isn't something that the hotel can manage, but be sure to check to see if it's been completed before you book. 3) The nearby pub was EXTREMELY noisy until the early hours of the morning. The Aqua room fronts the street so we heard every lover's tiff and drunken argument, and the street lights blazed into our room despite the shades. The hotel provides earplugs but it made little difference and only added insult to injury as I contemplated the loss of the quiet garden room at the back of the complex.

Room Tip: If you find it hard to sleep through noise and light, choose a room at the back of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Malingshu,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that the hotel didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have investigated the matter and it appears that the room you requested for had an unscheduled last minute maintenance prior to your check-in. As such, we had to do a room move for you.

We are taking steps to ensure that such occurrences would not happen again in the future, and hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our two year old and it was great.

We booked the garden room with an outdoor bath which was a nice touch.

Free water and soft drinks were a nice touch too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear darlingnikki71,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to drop us a line here, we appreciate it. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you back in the future.

Best regards,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Date of our stay 12-18 December 2011, The hotel itself was very interesting layout of rooms, all different themes, The staff were very obliging to show us any of the rooms that were not in use, we were also offered to change rooms of same grade if we wished but we were happy with one we already had. All staff from cleaners to reception were very polite, friendly and helpful,
Daine the lady on reception for most of our stay was outstanding, for example, on our last day when we needed to leave for the airport, she went out of her way to go and flag down a taxi in pouring rain because taxi firms were not responding to her telephone calls due to bad weather conditions.
We would without doubt have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again- excellent!!

Room Tip: Go on website and look at rooms and descriptions very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!

We appreciate your generous compliments, and extremely glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Our guests' ease and comfort is of utmost priority and we're pleased that Deine have stepped up to further prove this. Your note will be relayed to her and i'm sure she'll be overjoyed to hear from you again.

We can't wait to have you back with us so we may be of service to you once again. In the meantime, safe travels!

Cheers,
Mae Noor
Marketing Communications Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#79 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#120 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#94 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing