We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:30 - 17:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Thian Hock Keng Temple
from US$31.12
More Info
from US$27.23
More Info
from US$62.23
More Info
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
89
161
56
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
161
56
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews telok ayer street chinese immigrants sea goddess amoy street worth a visit the south china sea chinatown area southeast asia take pictures chinese new year hokkien worship oldest deities gods pray passage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2020

The temple is the oldest and most important temple of the Chinese Hokkien people, and worships a Chinese Sea Goddess. The temple follows a traditional Chinese design, with a rich colour scheme of black, gold and red. I particularly loved the addition of the striking decorative dragons. 

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Chinatown Singapore is the best. So much cultural history and interesting historical buildings. This Chinese temple is dedicated to the Chinese sea goddess Mazu and majority of funds came from the Hokkiennese community to erect this temple. The history of this temple goes back to the early 1800's. It is pretty phenomenal that this area of worship is dedicated to many other deities but the main focus is the sea goddess Mazu whom the Chinese community wanted to give thanks for a safe journey from their native China. It is also interesting to note that the temple originally faced the sea. Just goes to show you how much shoreline has been reclaimed over the century. The temple grounds are pretty amazing and the altars, buildings and pillars are uniquely ornate and carved and embellished. Dragons and phoenixes wrap around the supporting pillars. Eye popping tiles and altar decorations. A really fascinating cultural immersion into temple etiquette. Its not the first time that I have visited a temple dedicated to the sea goddess. There are many temples of this nature in Southeast Asia as the main Chinese population emigrated via sea route. A very memorable side excursion.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank Della G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2020

While it is a short distance from the tourist center of Chinatown, this Buddhist temple is the best, most authentic, and old attraction in Singapore's Chinatown. The detain is exquisite and it is easy to be convinced you are in China when visiting instead of SE Asia. Both the stone and wood work are amazing and just what you think of the oldest temple on a Chinese mountain top. The tower and side chapels are also just as impressive. The main sanctuary is also a sight and it can not be pictured. It is a short walk from Pagoda Street and more central sights of Chinatown, but you will get to walk through the quaint and beautiful Chia Ann Siang Park. Be sure to visit, it is the most authentic attraction in Chinatown.

Date of experience: February 2020
4  Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

It was a very old temple in China town near Amoy street. I was there to pray at the end of Chinese new year and the second day of Chinese new year. The place was always crowded with local people and tourists. At the opposite site of the road, there was a building, on top of that building, they design it like the image of eyes looking down from the sky. Although it was crowded, everything was so calm inside. On the right side, there was a wishing well. I saw some European throw coins there but it was not the way they should do to make a wish. Long time ago, people used to drink water from the well believing that water was blessed. Right now, they didn't drink water from the well anymore. They just ring the bells, each bell was a symbol of a wish, then put the hands together and wish. The letters on the bells were Chinese so I couldn't read. I dragged my phone out to use Google translate in order to know that they mean. The security guy saw me and thought that I was taking pictures so he came to me and reminded me not to take pictures. I explained what I was doing so he stopped and translated for me although they were about to close. He was so helpful and kind

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank Ginnyleeinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

This temple is small but lovely. It didn’t seem as well maintained as the tooth relic but worth a visit. Plan on spending 15/30 minutes here. There was some free literature which I would have loved to read if it was available in English.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank AmeenaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews