We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dawn G
Twizel, New Zealand

Don't get aucked in by the glossy adds in booking sights.

Review of Hotel Bencoolen
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
What a dispointment our first room was no other word for it "dirty" I think the sheets had not been changed. The receptionist moved us to another room which was cleaner to a fashion but completely dated decore. Bathroom needs aclean to remove the huge scum on everything with bleach. Floor coming up. Which is a trip hazard!!! Room so small and smelt damp. I had booked a tripple room but did not get it and when I asked they said that there was not available. Bed linen clean but old and stayed. Bed was sooo hard Towels were old and grey
Breakfast was included. Interesting pasta, beans, eggs, cabbage and toast again nothing like the photos. I wish I had read the reviews first. Though some rooms must have been done up for sure the top floors are completely neglected. This is the second worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The two.stars are for the receptionist who was very helpful when I complained almost like she was used to it.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Read all information from reviews don't get sucked in by the photos.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€111
€100
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    €111
  • Hotels.com
    €111
  • Vio.com
    €103
0.0 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
€101
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €102
  • ZenHotels.com
    €95
  • Expedia.com
    €111
1.7 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Pool
Restaurant
€177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €149
  • Agoda.com
    €139
  • Expedia.com
    €194
1.6 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
€101
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €102
  • KLOOK
    €80
  • Expedia.com
    €111
1.3 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
€132
  • Priceline
    €124
  • Vio.com
    €117
  • Expedia.com
    €125
2.0 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Pool
Restaurant
€142
  • Priceline
    €140
  • KLOOK
    €115
  • Expedia.com
    €140
1.5 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Pool
Restaurant
€130
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    €120
  • travelup.com
    €114
  • Priceline
    €130
2.3 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
€208
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    €205
  • Expedia.com
    €207
  • Hotels.com
    €208
16.7 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
€125
  • Priceline
    €120
  • Agoda.com
    €116
  • Vio.com
    €118
2.4 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
€836
€718
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    €715
  • Agoda.com
    €715
  • travelup.com
    €836
2.0 km from Hotel Bencoolen
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
94
275
214
79
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
275
214
79
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop walking distance hotel location is decent hotel mrt ms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible hotel with worst food .. will not recommend .. paying this amount for a three star hotel and you get nothing .. no room service , we went to check in morning there were no receptionist at that time ,we were waiting at the lobby . There is no enough space in room or seats in the restaurant for having breakfast .. complete spoiler . Except it was in city .. it is not looking like in the pictures provided .. these photos in this website posted on this hotel are fake . This isn’t the same hotel at this address . Plz don’t be fooled

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2024

A terrible experience. Smelly, damp room (the whole floor was wet and sticky) . Bathroom was stained black & filthy in corners. It was noisy all night (sounded like there was a nightclub next door!) Also in our room there was an adjoining locked door with a light shining under it, which didn't give the safest feeling. The passage carpet was stained and filthy, there is no other word for it. Staff were unsmiling and offhand. Breakfast was not ready to start at 7.00 a.m. as stated. We fled without breakfast not wanting to stay another minute. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Room tip: Make sure you are booking the right Bencoolen Hotel (there were two and the other one looked far superior.)
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Stay during family trip to Singapore. Nice city hotel. Great location in the city. Nearby MRT station. Walking distance to Bugis Street. Room clean and fresh. Bathroom with bathtubs and hot-cold showers. Tasty breakfast and friendly staff

Room tip: No parking space
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Lucky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Great location 2 minutes walking to Bencoolen MRT. Miss Minh. Reception is helpful and great service mind. The property itself been built since 1968. They did refurbish partially. I did not expect excellent room condition but with her great service, really made my stay so happy.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raydS1452VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Hotel Bencoolen was a very pleasant place to stay. The location is very convenient, with the MRT, restaurants and shops nearby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Note that some rooms are very angularly shaped, and may be difficult to maneuver in.

Room tip: Some rooms are not rectangular.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SteveAntpitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews