We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$172
View deal
Expedia.com
US$188
View deal
Vio.com
US$138
View deal
Hotels.comUS$188
PricelineUS$177
TravelocityUS$188
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
89
271
213
74
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
271
213
74
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool bugis area bus stop small hotel mrt bras bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

This is a basic yet affordable hotel. I paid $334 for 3 nights which I found much more reasonable than surrounding hotels. The room is small but everything you need is there. Bed is comfy, shower has great water pressure and is hot. Fresh towels, toiletries and water bottles supplied daily. Service was great and staff are lovely. Very effective air con. This hotel is in great location - convenience stores extremely close by, MRT is close as well as a 10 min walk to the Raffles Mall. Only negative - there were a few small stains on the bedsheets, aside from that I would recommend staying here if you want an affordable hotel.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LouiseeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Justin Yeo, General Manager at Hotel Bencoolen @ Bencoolen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi Louisee,

Thank you for leaving us a review.

The team is glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully managed to explore most of the city given our centralized location.

Duly noted on the shortfall in cleanliness experienced during your stay. We have counselled the team as well as the vendors to be more diligent when preparing the room for our incoming guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Bencoolen in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

Writing this review as I’ve just checked in. This is really worse than a budget hotel 81 around the area. Can also feel the coil of the mattress.

The first room that was given to us smelt of mould so badly, the second room was better but still bad. Everything is old, cranky and unfortunately dirty. Because it’s the long weekend, the better hotels nearby are full.

Book at your own risk.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel. Great location, basic but not the cleanest
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Yy2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2022

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Bencoolen during the first day of the new year. Amy the front desk lady was quite busy while we waited to check in but she was always smiling and didn't forget to wish us a happy new year the whole time we waited. Although a lot of people were waiting in queue to check-in, she worked very quickly, even seeing a little girl struggling with the entrance door with 4-5 pieces of luggage, she asked me to wait for 2 mins just to help the girl drag her luggage to the counter. A small act, but it also shows that she is a person who cares for each of her guests.
I'm just amazed at such a big hotel but I only see her working,
Anyway, I had a happy holiday with the hotel.
Thank you for providing very good service.

Room tip: Deluxe room with king bed.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velayshunmugamudham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 November 2021

The front desk service is excellent! Had arrived early and they allowed me to check-in without waiting. The room was clean and tidy, The swimming pool for the time being requires booking as well as the gym. Small pool for a cool dip on a hot day! The parking is quite limited but weekday is fine! Nearby there is a food paradise 50 meters walk to Sunshine Plaza, lots of small restaurants. A good place for a few days of staycation and sightseeing walkabout. Overall, my stay was good.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 November 2021

SHN is on-going for this hotel together with staycation. Staycation is for 6th to 9th floor. Below is for SHN. The management image shown here is for Hotel Bencoolen @ Hong Kong Street, NOT for Hotel Bencoolen @ Bencoolen street.

Now, the review for hotel Bencoolen @ Bencoolen Street. Many connecting rooms. Deluxe comes with king bed and bathtub. Most of the rooms no good view as the view is blocked by the next door high building. Parking is limited, 5 to 6 parking lots. The carpark gate would close at 9pm. If u coming later, do phone them to open the gate. The carpark is very squeezy, be careful when opening your doors. Once you have passed Bras Brasah MRT, turn right into rendezvous hotel. Then continue stiraght. Hotel Bencoolen @ Bencoolen street would be at the right. Turn into the carpark and you may park your cars there.

Room comes with bathtub. Water handle cracked in one of the rooms. Soundproof was very bad. Even can hear intimacy next door at late hours.

Lobby looks grand. The lift looks like the 90s lift. Once you have reached your hotel level, the lift door opens, you would be greeted with a spooky dark corridor, very dim light and scary if you are alone.

In one of our rooms, the aircon was super cold, even we turned it to 28 degree, it was still super cold.

There is a older man who is very friendly. He was always greet you and smile at you when he sees you. He walks around the lobby as well as the carpark.

Under the covid-19 pandemic, the hotel requires all guests to fill up their declaration form. You would have to declare if you have close contact with c+ for the last 14 days. You also need to declare when was your last PCR and ART test and what is the result. Then you would need to sign on it.

Room tip: Choose higher floor
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller_SGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews