We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Expedia.com
US$145
View deal
Vio.com
US$104
View deal
Hotels.comUS$145
PricelineUS$128
Trip.comUS$126
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
89
271
213
74
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
271
213
74
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool bugis area bus stop small hotel mrt bras bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We didn't expect much from this hotel where we stayed for one night as a bridge for our Beijing-Singapore-Bintan trip. And we didn't get much.

Breakfast was paltry and had to be served outside the hotel, on the sidewalk. Actually this we didn't mind that much, but the miniscule selection of eggs, ham and toast was a severe disappointment.

The room itself was a decent size. Had better days. View? Side of another building and its ventilation equipment.

Bathroom toilet had a plumming problem, took a long time for somebody (looked like a high school kid in street clothes) to come up to fix.

The building itself has a small entrance akin to an old office building. Didn't feel very safe. Price wasn't too high, but next time I wil pay more to stay someplace decent.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB_in_BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Our visit was a short one.. a 3days and 2nights stay.. just for the purpose of sitting an exam. My collegue and I booked this hotel together with our flight, so we did not know what to expect. We arrived early at 12noon, greeted by the not so friendly but helpful receptionist and discovered that the check-in time was supposed to be at 2pm. We were so grateful as we were allowed early check-in as there was available room at the time.

The room was small but cozy. We were hoping for twin beds but got a queen bed instead. But we do not really mind. The room was well equipped with a bedside table, a rack to hang clothes enough for 2 people, a hairdryer, coffee/tea making equipments, a small fridge and a safe. The bathroom was also small but clean. Our room faced towards the bencoolen street and the window allowed us a nice view of the stone forest (yeah.. the buildings), the pool and the small garden. Yes.. the dome of the mosque was also obvious from our window.

As we came in the month of Ramadhan and we were fasting, a simple guide from the receptionist made our search for 'halal' food for breaking fast easier. We went to the umm.. if we were not mistaken.. 'Al-Jailani' - an indian Moslem restaurant about a short distance away from the hotel, about 3minutes walk to the left of the hotel. It was convenient to be able to get 'halal' tasty food nearby as we do not have to go in search for good food elsewhere. Our business there was to prepare and sit for the exam, and the hotel suited us nicely for that purpose.

We were also relieved to have the Bencoolen mosque just adjacent to the hotel and were able to get our Qiblat right as the receptionist has no clue as to what a Qiblat is. But we did not blame her as she herself is a non-Moslem. However, a tiny arrow in the room directing to the Qiblat (as what we have in hotels in Malaysia) would be a great help and a relief for us Moslem travellers.

Our stay was purely for the exam. So we did not sample the pool or the gym provided there. But if it is for leisure in the future, will we be coming again to the hotel? I'd say yes..

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainy_Nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I was deeply and greatly disappointed with this hotel. When I first arrived with my family, the two female reception staffs did not even greet us with a smile. And when they tried to explain the hotel rules of extra charge of 30$ for my child, they conveyed it with a very unfriendly and almost impolite tone. Luckily, the manager of the hotel is reasonable enough to offer us with another option. This unfriendly way of receiving guest had really ruined my holiday mood and made my stay in that hotel very unpleasant.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjen2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Hardly the height of luxury but a great location and good value. I don't know where else you would get breakfast and the pool for this price. The rooms are small but clean. Has to be one of the coolest breakfast rooms on the planet: the food's not great but it's a fantastic place to eat. Would stay again for the location and price alone.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonyYamathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hotel is good location, room is everage with this price, but the reception staff service not friendly, breakfast also bad

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonmums
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews