We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #103 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We booked this hotel in conjunction with a BA flight so we were working on their recommendations. We also wanted this area of Singapore. This hotel is showing it's age a bit but the rooms were fine. we were there 5 days.

Pros: nice staff, good location for us (near my son's house), good overall price, good value dinner (we had this once), nice bed, pleasant room. clean swimming pool. Near Robertson & Clark Quay.

Cons: air conditioning in the room was noisy but the ambient temperature wasn't too hot so you could turn it off to sleep. limited channels on TV, expensive bar drinks, singing in the bar every night (noisy & not my kind of thing), the hotel doesn't have a lounge to speak of (just few easy chairs in the entrance area. swimming pool area was showing it's age. Near the pool were large noisy industrial sized fans. This background noise made you only want to stay in the pool a short time. It also was the ever present noise coming through your bedroom window. The fitness room was very uninviting.

So OK for a short stay

Room Tip: Go for a room at the top of the hotel & not facing Havalock Road (busy). For Singapore the dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    462
    225
    51
    24
See reviews for
164
446
70
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Miramar on a two day stopover on our way back from Australia.
The room was a non smoker on the 9th floor, it had twin beds which we hadn't requested.
The bed that I slept in or should I say 'attempted' to sleep in was like trying to sleep on a concrete floor, the mattress was that hard.
At one stage during the night I even contemplated lying on the carpet, it was softer than the mattress.
The next morning I requested to change rooms as I couldn't face another night in that bed.
They offered to put extra foam padding to make it softer. Which they did and it was better.
The hotel is situated some way out of the city and a long walk to the nearest MRT, so it was a taxi every time.
On the 4th floor is an outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The water in both are lovely and warm with plenty of chairs, loungers and sun umbrella's.
Also on the 4th floor but in the main wing is a well equipped gym.
As our fight back was a night flight and our transfer to the airport wasn't till 8pm, I asked if we could keep the room longer. We could but it cost us an extra £133.
When we went back to the room to get ready to go, I noticed that the extra foam padding had been removed from the matress. God help the next person who has to try and sleep in that bed.
All in all I wouldn't stay there again, there are much better situated hotels either in the city or close to the MRT which is brilliant, but mainly due to the rock hard bed.

Room Tip: Insist on extra foam padding for the bed before you attempt to sleep in the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Miramar for 3 nights on our way out to Australia. I had read previous reviews and took their advice about selecting a room and it was good advice. We had a non-smoking deluxe room on the 9th floor This meant very little traffic noise in the early morning and if you are a non smoker it really is advisable to ask for a non-smoking room. The room was a very good standard with extremely comfortable beds. Overall, the hotel is good, is well positioned close to coffee bars (free wifi), restaurants and the river (lit ip at night) and for getting out and about in Singapore. We ate dinner in the buffet restaurant on our first night and it was most enjoyable with enough choice to accommodate all tastes. Staff were very helpful in recommending and explaining certain dishes to us. Service was efficient and friendly. Breakfast was also good with international options as well as local dishes.
I would recommend this hotel as an excellent short stay hotel which is both reasonably quiet yet centrally located.

Room Tip: You need to ask for non-smoking room. Ask for a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way back to England.The hotel is in a great position close to the river,plenty to see and do.Lots of places to eat,plenty of choices.We went on an open top bus tour which cost19.99 each,you can hop on and off where you like. There are 3 different buses,all different routes which are included in the price.Very good value for money.Singapore is a great place but very warm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VonRedditch_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We used the hotel as a base for exploring Singapore for a couple of nights - we were glad it wasn't any longer!
Staff were not particularly friendly, in fact some of them were just damn right rude and not very helpful at all!
Rooms are ok, average standard for the price paid, could do with updating.
Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food.
Location is good, only a short taxi ride away from everything, within walking distance to some of the attractions. Be warned, if you have a connecting flight that arrives early they will not let you check into your room until 2pm so like us, be prepared to wait!
Swimming pool looked nice, although we didn't use it.
Overall we weren't too impressed with the hotel or it's staff and wouldn't recommend it or come back, however it was fine for what we needed - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hf8979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#101 of 312 in Singapore
2,264 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,837 reviews
Furama City Centre
#264 of 312 in Singapore
2,592 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing