We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,339)
Filter reviews
4,339 results
Traveller rating
3,295
783
164
54
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,295
783
164
54
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiffin room billiard room courtyard suite monkey nuts famous long bar writers bar the palm court peanut shells on the floor high tea personal butler bucket list butler service colonial style main building rooftop pool marina bay sands sling
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 4,339 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Just a quick word of warning (though they may have finished now) but Raffles is having a major refurbishment, ie the outside is covered and the long bar (where the original singapore sling was served) is shut...., they have opened up the Games room instead...

Not sure when this work is due to finish, so you can't see Raffles in its full glory...

Whilst this place is for the tourists, lets be honest....it has to be done..

We had several cocktails and the bar menu food was lovely...it still feels very colonial and hast lost it charm...., it might be tacky but i enjoyed...

I must mention the staff, they were charming, very welcoming and really friendly. Service was impeccable...

So personally i think it is worth the trip, have a few drinks and soak up the ambience...

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Singapore Sling...
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank agill2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian W, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Agill2407,

Thank you for sharing your Raffles experience here with us. I am glad that you have enjoyed your Singapore Sling experience at the pop-up Long Bar despite the ongoing restoration. The iconic cocktail was first concocted in Raffles in 1915 and to date is hand shaken by our bartenders. Like yourself, many world-travellers view coming to Raffles as a rite of passage when in Singapore.

At Raffles, we pride ourselves on exemplary standards of service and hospitality and hence it is great to hear that you were able to feel that through your interaction with our dedicated Raffles colleagues who were friendly and welcoming.

We hope to welcome you back again, perhaps for a stay when we reopen at the end of 2018.

Yours sincerely,
Christian Westbeld
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Wether for afternoon tea witch is a delightful experience and top of my list on ever vist or if your lucky enough to stay at the hotel a truly beautiful time a step into the step back into a colonial time aStunning building beautiful kept and very courteouss staff

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marshtony45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian W, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear marshtony45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our English Afternoon Tea in Tiffin Room before we had closed for restoration and enjoyed your experience.

At Raffles, we pride ourselves on exemplary standards of service and hospitality and hence I am glad that you were able to feel that through your interaction with our dedicated Raffles colleagues.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps for a stay when we reopen in the later part of this year.

Yours sincerely,
Christian Westbeld
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Whilst in Singapore we decided we had to visit raffles and savor the atmosphere and of course the famous cocktail.
Glad we did! Great atmosphere really takes you back to a time of British rule.
Of course the drinks are expensive but we were prepared for that. I would definitely recommend if you are ever in Singapore.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnK6KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian W, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear JohnK6KR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. I am glad to hear that you made it a point to visit Raffles Singapore and have a taste of our iconic Singapore Sling, first concocted here in 1915. Like yourself, many world-travellers view coming to Raffles as a rite of passage when in Singapore.

The unique practice of throwing the peanut shells on the floor is a 100 year old tradition adapted from the plantation days and is a fun aspect enjoyed by most of our guests for its relaxed atmosphere. Here is also quite possibly the only place in Singapore where ‘littering is encouraged’.

At Raffles, we also make it a point to constantly review our prices locally and as alcohol is heavily taxed here, we feel that for such an unique experience in such a historic location, our prices are reasonable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, perhaps for a stay when we reopen in the second half of this year.

Yours sincerely,
Christian Westbeld
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

No visit to Singapore is complete without a visit to the famous Raffles Hotel and as important, a Singapore Sling to enjoy as one savors the atmosphere of days gone by. Singapore architects are great at blending in the old with the new. I look forward to the renovations being completed and a return visit. Your staff in the pop up bar are a credit to your organization. So polite, so attentive to your needs and my need was a thirst quenching ss. I tried the top two on the board menu and both were different. Was a bit light headed as we left but well worth it. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian W, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Wayne G,

Thank you for choosing to complete your trip here with a visit to Raffles Singapore! It is great to hear that you managed to have a taste of our iconic cocktail, which was created in Raffles over a hundred years ago. Like yourself, many world-travellers view coming to Raffles as a rite of passage when in Singapore.

I am glad that you enjoyed your Singapre Sling experience at the pop-up Long Bar, despite the restoration works ongoing in the hotel. At Raffles, we pride ourselves on exemplary standards of service and hospitality and hence I am glad that you were able to feel that through your interaction with our dedicated Raffles colleagues who made you feel comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for a stay when we reopen in the second half of this year. Till then!

Yours sincerely,
Christian Westbeld
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

check its open before you go .... I knew it was closed but there were other tourists that had been disappointed. I THINK it reopens in October 2018 ..................................................................................................

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian W, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Linda H,

Thank you for the review and indeed, the hotel is now fully closed for restoration and our grand reopening is planned for the second half of 2018. In the meantime, we hope to welcome you to our pop-up Long Bar for the original Singapore Sling experience as well as a visit to the Raffles Gift Shop located at 3 Seah Street to bring home a Raffles souvenir.

Once again, thank you for the interest in visiting Raffles Singapore and we look forward to having you with us when we reopen.

Yours sincerely,
Christian Westbeld
General Manager
Raffles Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews