We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raffles is simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2005

Well what can I say Raffles exceeded all expectations, this hotel has to be the best I've ever stayed in. The hotel is absolutely stunning, it's like stepping back in time, from the moment you enter the staff treat you like royalty, nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed in a Palm Court suite which was beautifully furnished, I didn't want to leave and can't wait to return. The hotel also looked lovely with all the large red bows covering the exterior and with all its decorations for Christmas.
Once inside the hotel I was surprised at just how large it is, with so many shops and restaurants to visit, from the outside it's very deceiving as it doesn't look that big.
We had lovely meals in Raffles Courtyard and the Royal China restaurant, and special thanks to Dave at the Royal China for taking care of us so well.
I know many reviewers previously have been critical of the Singapore Sling, but I thoroughly enjoyed my time relaxing by the pool sipping a Singapore Sling, they may be expensive but it's all part of the Raffles experience. I must admit it was the strangest scene being in this beautiful glamourous hotel, and then walking into the Long Bar and seeing this carpet of peanut shells covering the floor, that was quite a contradiction.
In my own opinion I cant understand any criticism of this hotel, the whole experience for me was amazing and I will definately return.
Thank you Raffles for an amazing stay!


  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Liverbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,288 - 3,292 of 4,256 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2005

Originally booked 2 nights in a courtyard suite. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a "nicer suite". We were pretty thrilled at this but nothing prepared us for where we were to spend the next two nights. To our absolute amazement we were shown to the Sir Stamford Raffles Suite. It defies description ! We had a massive bedroom with Chinese antiques, huge electrically operated thick drapes and every amenity one could imagine from a de-luxe marble bathroom, dressing room, pantry with state of the art wine fridge, expresso coffee machine, cut glass, fine china, a 12 seater dining room, a triple aspect living room, a small library and a private terrace that stretched more than 75 feet. We think there was another bedroom and bathroom in the suite but they were closed off to us and occupied by other guests. It was totally unexpected and overwhelming and for a while we dare not touch anything in case there had been a mistake! But the personal letter with fruit basket from the management confirmed we were booked into this suite. Our personal valet, on call 24 hours did a sterling job showing us around the suite.

On a more down to earth level, the front desk/concierge were very helpful and gracious. However, the service in the restaurants, especially the Tiffin Room at breakfast was erratic and the meal we had in the Long Bar Steakhouse was disappointing. And as other reviews have mentioned the "Singapore Sling experience" lacked romance! The areas soley for "residents" are stunningly furnished and very comfortable and it is true that one gets a slightly smug feeling being able to cross the "residents only threshold" and leave the gawping tourists behind!

The hotel complex was much larger than imagined and the array of restaurants, bars and shops is very impressive and the courtyard cafe and bar areas a very pleasant spot to spend a warm evening. One thing that did annoy was being overcharged by 100% for postage stamps bought at the front desk and £6 sterling for a beer in the Writer's Bar did hurt a bit while sending a simple email from the Business Centre turned out to be a very frustrating experience.

However, staying at Raffles be it in the the Sir Stamford Raffles Suite or the (far from) basic Courtyard suite has to be an experience that remains in ones memory for ever.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2005

In October, we stayed 1 night at the legendary Raffles and were very impressed. The hotel is beautiful and the suites are charming. The suites and bathrooms are large and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The concierge was able to get us a reservation at the last minute on a Friday night at a very busy Indian restaurant we had requested.
We had the obligatory Singapore Sling (expensive and overrated) at the courtyard bar/restaurant which had live entertainment on Friday night.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lance92270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Another five star hotel that has everything going for it - location, facilities, grandeur .... but unfortunatley is (once again) let down by the fact that their staff are clearly afraid to smile or make guests feel at home. The curse of five star establishments unfortunately.

Would it be "below" silver service to ask your guests how their day was - where they went - what they did ? Introduce them to the menu - recommend a few things and then ..at the very least .. ask them how their meal / drinks were once they've had them ?

A little personal touch would go a long way at the most basic level.

Stayed: October 2005
10  Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

I can only defend this hotel, it is simply wonderful. The suite was beautiful and our valet professional and efficient. The staff knew our names within a day and never once let any standards slip. The food was delicious, especially the steak house if you are one for that kind of thing and the breakfast buffet choice was extensive . The spa is luxurious and the outdoor pool is not what I had expected within such a setting. You do meet a lot of people around and about the hotel visiting but it seems to add to it's charm. It truly is what Singapore was about and definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lilliando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,192 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: €404 - €765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing