We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch @ Bar & Billiard Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

After having been to premium hotel buffets in many very nice restaurants around different parts of the world, I can say that the Saturday morning brunch at Raffles Hotel Bar & Billiard Room is one of the best around the world. I was especially impressed with the cheese station which included many very "fatty" cheeses that dripped all over my plate after they had soaked into the wonderful crusty breads that were provided at the next station. It was an incredibly difficult decision to pair a bread with a specific cheese and I, ultimately, made the decision to pile up the cheese and eat some breads separately.

The Welsh lamb was particularly good and the US Prime Rib was perfectly cooked. My friends were impressed with they Newfoundland oysters and the Maine lobster. I liked the cured meats as much as the fresh, but the Jamon Serrano seemed particularly distinct and flavorful on Saturday.

Desserts were accompanied by an explanation by the soux chef who had prepared them, who had fortunately been passing by. This added particularly to the brunch itself by getting some local Raffles knowledge about what was chosen, why it was chosen and how it was prepared. The chef was certainly well prepared for questions but seemed genuinely interested in sharing with the customers about her craft. She was particularly proud of the Earl Grey Tea infused cream and citrus tart served in an eggshell. After eating it, I can see why it was something she was proud of. It was excellent and if I had nothing else, that would have been a suitable finish to a wonderfully done premium buffet. We did, however, have coffee to finish off the brunch and I was served a very well drawn double espresso. I heard that the lattes and cappucinos were also very well prepared.

The location feels like a step back to a colonial period with the ambiance and the many rotating ceiling fans. The decor includes dark wood and adequate air conditioning but it certainly felt airy enough that it still felt open and as if all of the windows could have been ajar. The service was very profesional and quick to supply anything that was asked for. We found everyone to be pleasant and go out of their way to help serve the customers who were attending each station.

We will certainly be back for another brunch at the Bar & Billiard Room!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mundodivino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you very much for writing such a detaled review of the Saturday brunch at Bar & Billiard Room. Indeed, we are among the few hotels in Singapore offering Saturday brunch and I am delighted to hear that you were satisfies with the atmosphere and service as well as with the food.

Raffles Hotel Singapore and the whole team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,872 - 2,876 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very nice rooms . Very quiet. Nice bathrooms. Nice pool and good food. Spa is also nice. Room service also very good. Have no complaints! Liked our stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flankflicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Many thanks for your positive review, Raffles Hotel Singapore is looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Singapore is an incredible city, full of some of the finest hotels in the world. When traveling with different business partners I've stayed at several of them, the Mandarin Oriental, Pan Pacific, Fullerton and Four Seasons, to name a few. But when traveling on my own and given the choice I always choose Raffles. It isn't just that Raffles is a marvelous hotel in its own right, but I am always overwhelmed by the sense of history in it and what it has seen in its lifetime as a hotel, from its early days in the Crown Colony, through WWII and into independence, it has housed the movers and shakers of all those periods.

I had a Grand Hotel Suite so there is certainly nothing to complain about in terms of the accommodations. The suite is very spacious, wonderfully appointed with antiques and spectacular furniture and the verandah a great place to conduct business meetings to impress clients and prospects.

Singapore is also one of the great food cities of the world and some of the best are right in the hotel. I love the Bar and Billiards Room, especially their Carving Sunday Brunch, a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar is almost mandatory, but the steaks are excellent too and The Raffles Grill has the feel of a very different era, but delivers very contemporary cuisine.

As to the staff, I am not sure any of them knows the word "no" as every request I had was met with a smiling "of course, how soon would you like that." Every one was friendly, not just trained to be polite and friendly, but genuinely warm.

The ultimate kicker was being met at the airport by the hotel's Bentley and be driven to the hotel, a surprise and quite a happy one, from my assistant.

I'd recommend Raffles to business travelers, honeymooners and especially solo travelers because of the friendliness of staff and the feeling of camaraderie among the guests. It is like belonging to club where you might not know all the members, but you share a commonality with them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Raffles Hotel Singapore with us and the other users. I understand that you know Singapore very well and am happy that your personal choice for staying & dining is the Raffles Hotel Singapore. Indeed we strive to make our guests feel cared for and at ease - surrounded with genuine service as gentle as a breeze.

I look forward to meeting you at your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

There are plenty of reviews here that do great justice to this absolutely fabulous hotel, so I will keep mine brief. There is simply no substitute, in Singapore let alone the world, for the quality of the service at this hotel.

I had dinner at the Long Bar Steakhouse with my parents for their anniversary--a fact that casually came up in conversation with our waiter, Jefferson (who, despite his young age, was incredibly professional. Would not hesitate to ask for him by name next time, and would encourage others to do so as well). To our surprise and great delight he brought out an extra cake with a "Happy Anniversary" wish written in chocolate. That is the sort of personal touch that causes this hotel to outrank any other.

The staff was attentive (to say the least) and seemed to know all of the details of our trip and of our experiences in the hotel. The architecture, the ambiance, everything, was absolutely stunning. Please do not miss out on a chance to at least visit, if not stay, in the Raffles Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review of Raffles Hotel Singapore. I am delighted to hear that you had a special time with us and that the dinner at Long Bar Steak House was to your satisfaction. I have shared your compliments both with the F&B team and with Jefferson and we all look forwrad to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I've stayed at Raffles five or six times....and while it never seems to change - it does - it gets better. I do agree with others who fault the room decor as dated but I don't mind the Raj period decor - far more character and charm than the new product out there -- BUT the bathrooms are getting a tad tired and are in need of a refurbish.

I highly recommend The Empire Room (for killer authentic Chinese food) (it's located in the adjacent Raffles Arcade complex, and the breakfast at the Tiffin is among the best I've ever had -- brillant selection of foods, great service, and charm. Fresh squeezed juice and made to order eggs that are perfection- what's not to love. The Long Bar is terrific - but for my money (and if you can eat early enough - as it closes early - the pool bar serves up a mean fish and chips (along with the "original" Singapore Sling - if you wish). The pool and accompanying spa are fantastic. This is the perfect place for quiet relaxation and decompression time- and a welcome respite from noise main stream hotel pools. It's like a little oasis of calm in a frenetic town. And, it's never crowded.

If you can swing it - opt for one of the Personality Suites in the main hotel. Re the courtyard suites - they are charming -- BUT I recommend that you actually see your room if at all possible before you accept it. If you can't swing the main building - do NOT go for a ground floor room. You will sleep better not hearing someone walk to and fro over your head at all hours (remember - people are arriving and departing at all hours). This is an old historic hotel and soundproofing is .... as you would expect given it's vintage.

Room service is flawless and we found the bed "heaven". Great sheets, and they listened to and responded quickly to our request for extra pillows. Rooms are dark - with no views - but order up a drink and sit on your (shared) terrace/room walkway in a rocker and there is little else to ask for....

Conciege can do wonders if you need them to. Check in is efficient and courteous and the doorman (a Sikh) is a gentleman....

We did feel that the mini-bar charges were a little out of touch with reality.

Room Tip: Go for a Personality Suite in main hotel. If you are sensitive to noise opt for a second floor (rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at Raffles Hotel Singapore. I am glad you enjoyed our different restaurants and that you found the peace & tranquility in the room as well as in the spa that you were looking for.

I noted your comments on the bathrooms and the minibar pricing and appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem,
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,176 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: €403 - €734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing