We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,339)
Filter reviews
4,339 results
Traveller rating
3,295
783
164
54
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,295
783
164
54
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiffin room billiard room courtyard suite monkey nuts famous long bar writers bar the palm court peanut shells on the floor high tea personal butler bucket list butler service colonial style main building rooftop pool marina bay sands sling
Filter
Updating list...
3,028 - 3,033 of 4,339 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've stayed at a few places in Singapore but never before at Raffles. I was expecting a tired tourist trap but the truth could not have been more different.

The building is gorgeous, the situation perfect and the bedrooms fabulously colonial and vast. It has the feeling of age and history so if you are expecting the "fake" history of a Four Seasons but with everything identikit and perfect then Raffles is not for you. Raffles, unlike so many hotels has true character, elegance and class.

The service is simply incredible. The Tiffin Room lunch is one of the best Indian buffets outside of the best 5 star hotels in India and the Billiard Room bar is also highly recommended and is incredibly evocative of days gone by.

I can wholeheartedly recommend Raffles as not only the best hotel in Singapore but one of the very best hotels in the world. I'll be back...!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderers_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I always enjoy going back to Singapore and my favorite place to stay is the Raffles Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collingwood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We reserved one of the personallity suites but I think they ran out of them so we had the very fortunate experience of being upgraded to the Cathey Suite off the original courtyard. It has two private balconies to sit and enjoy the "guests only" courtyard, with its elegant trees and birds. We didnt want to leave the balcony. It was so relaxing. The service was wonderful. My wife and I had dinner on the balcony and the two gentleman that bought us dinner were delightful. They even included a dozen roses and romantic candlelight.

We had dinner the night before in one of the public area restaurants near the shops and found the meal very good, but overpriced. You definitely pay for the historic surroundings so consider it partly entertainment. Nothing else can explain the cost, but we are happy we did it once.

The pool was very nice, although the jacuzzi sections were down for repair. One strike against an otherwise wonderful experience.

The Long Bar, not so great. Skip it if you have other more important things on your list. It felt like an Applebees to me.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddog4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your fantastic comments of your most recent visit to Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and have already shared your great review with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The height of colonial elegance . the staff all remember your name , the management fall over to ensure your stay is a superb experience . It is not cheap , but it is a wonderful experience . You cannot even get into the lobby unless you are a guest . The service is second to none , the piano bar and the restaurants fantastic . The rooms are suites with fabulously high ceilings , the teak floors and the BOSE music system just add to the splendid richness . Beds are turned down , slippers and dressing gowns laid out , fresh fruit in the room . The mini bar is astronomically expensive

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for choosing Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your time at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President , Operations, Asia Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Raffles in Singapore in a Palm Court room. What an experience! This place is truly amazing and lives up to its reputation as one of the finest hotels in the world. It's certainly among the best we have ever stayed in anywhere. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at ease by your personal butler and the welcome Singapore Sling on the verandah outside your room sets you up for your stay. The ambience of the hotel is superb and you get the sense of the history of the place as soon as you enter. The rooms are spacious with a separate dining area, dressing room and bathroom/toilet off the main bedroom and the furnishings are in keeping with the period decoration of the entire hotel. We had arranged to stay over the weekend particularly so we could attend the Sunday Champagne brunch in the Bar & Billiard Room and we were not disappointed. Would recommend this experience to anyone, but make sure you book ahead. The magnificent selection of the finest foods accompanied by fleeflow Billecart champagne is an absolute highlight. We had previously enjoyed the brunch a couple of years ago during an earlier stay in Singapore and the standard has certainly been maintained. Another highlight is the daily breakfast in the hotel, which is as good or not better than any other we've seen. A magnificent buffet selection of fine foods supplemented by extensive a-la-carte offerings as well. This hotel is truly a jewel, it does not come cheap, however if you have the opportunity it warrants a stay at least once in your lifetime.

Room Tip: Look for the value room packages that are available from time to time through various internet booking agencies and include breakfast in your tariff.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaykayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your time at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews