We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might Be Ok ???”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #102 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Might Be Ok ???”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed there with family for short trip vacation. The staff is okay,...for breakfast prefer to go outside,...room was clean but might be okay,..for us its just an average hotel..and remember the location is NOT near from MRT and riverwalk

Room Tip: We have the room with stopper at the door, the bell boy was falling when showing our room, and we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadSul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    949
    417
    109
    91
See reviews for
449
831
149
487
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our second time at the Furama which was part of a Singapore vacation. The hotel is a little dark inside but nice. The bar area has a nice view to sit in and visit . Breakfast was included and was very good. For the price the hotel is nice and I really have no complaints. Would I stay again if I were choosing my hotel and it wasn't part of a package-probably not.

Room Tip: We had decent rooms with both stays. Nothing outstanding about the Furama but no real complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Brochure made rooms look wonderful but we were very disappointed when we got there. Room was very very basic and small and in desperate need of a refurb. Coffee was complimentary daily - a whole one sachet each a day WOW!! We booked a double room and had a double and a single bed in the room?????? At least with it being a room for 3 we got an extra sachet of coffee and bottle of water daily whoopee doo!!
Staff are wonderful though and breakfast was great.
If you go here make sure you book the executive floors as the rest of the hotel rooms are too basic and shabby looking.

Room Tip: Book executive room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzsue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
304 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Furama for five nights on our way home to Sydney from Hong Kong. Our first impression was of a very grand hotel with imposing lobby and foyer, huge bar/lounge area with a feature waterfall outside, visually pleasing and elegant.

As a stop-over holiday with Singapore Airlines our room was a standard one. I asked if we could pay for an upgrade and was told they would not know what to charge me (?) as they did not know what the agent had charged. The gentleman said he would give us a complimentary upgrade, which was nice of him although I think it just made life easier for him!

I asked about Internet access and was asked did I have a laptop. I advised them that on this trip I had just brought my iPad, "too bad, laptop access is much cheaper then Wi-Fi", excellent! The most you could book at a time was 60 minutes at a cost of $15 Singapore dollars-daylight robbery these days when the majority of hotels are offering free broadband and Wi-Fi internet. I was told they did have an internet room that I could use. However it operated on Wi-Fi so the cost was the same $15 per 60 minute block. The internet was extremely slow and barely worth using except for basic email.
We then headed to our 'Superior' Room on the 10th Floor. The first impression when leaving the lift on the tenth floor was a stale, musty smell that was very evident in the corridor. The walls of the corridor were gouged with pieces out of them and poorly repaired .The bottom of the front door to our room was broken and the veneer lifted.

The room was ok, thankfully it had a nice view of a small park opposite although you did have to peer through the filthy windows. The room also looked tired. There were crayon lines on the wall obviously from a previous guest’s child. The power points were discoloured and old.
The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower over the bath. The downside was the mould that was at the bottom of the soap tray, the corner of the walls and below the taps. There is no excuse; this is simply poor housekeeping practice. The towels were thin and worn and quite rough.The bed was extremely hard and the pillows likewise.

Our room had an adjoining door which meant that noise from guests in the room next door carried through into our room. On several nights we were woken in the early hours of the morning by guests talking loudly in the corridor and banging doors.
There was a bar fridge and the hotel did provide two complimentary bottles of water daily which was very handy when you are sightseeing in the humidity. The coffee provided was horrible as was the powdered milk. Have they not heard of long life milk?

On the up side of our stay was the Waterfall Lounge and dining at the Four Square Restaurant.
From 3pm to 8pm every day is Happy Hour in the Waterfall Lounge, which with the lovely waterfall outside the massive glass windows is a very pleasant way to spend an evening. Each night there was entertainment by a local singer and musician. They were fantastic and the range and variety of music was wonderful. The staff in the lounge are very friendly and attentive.

We had opted to include the daily buffet breakfast in our package so each morning we ate in the Square @ Furama. A modern pleasant restaurant with helpful and friendly staff the breakfast was great value. Providing both Asian and Western food options you would be hard pressed not to come away feeling very satisfied.

The Singapore Airlines Hop-On-Hop-Off Bus stop is two doors down from the hotel outside the Miramar Hotel which is quite close and convenient.

Overall I would only rate the Furama Riverfront as average. It is advertised as the business class hotel on Havelock Road, however that is not my impression. I guess if the little things do not matter you will be happy at the Furama.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missskybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked a deluxe room and we were disappointed with the quality of the hotel in general but especially the room we were put in first. The lobby was promising with lots of gold, plants and a waterfall but the rooms were very shabby and in much need of refurbishing.
The initial room given to us, was unacceptable, with stained curtains and dirty windows, scratched furniture and mold in the shower. We complained and got moved to a different room in the tropical wing which was nicer. If you have to stay in this hotel, make sure to ask for a room in the tropical wing!
When we complained, the staff was quite unfriendly trying to make it like it was our fault for not knowing what to expect from the hotel we booked. When they finally moved us in the other wing they downgraded us to a standard room instead of giving us the deluxe room we paid for.
We were quite tired of fighting them so we did not bother complaining again. But we would not choose this hotel again or recommend it to any of our friends. Overall, I think it was overpriced for the limited comfort it offered.

Internet was 8 singapore dollars for 30 min and was very slow. During the 30 minutes the only thing you could do was barely synchronize your email and open an online newspaper page. Breakfast was good and the pool nice but not very sunny so the water can be slightly cold.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel, make sure to ask for a room in the tropical wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#264 of 312 in Singapore
2,592 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Property: Furama RiverFront
Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing