We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the reviews suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Ranked #109 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews suggest”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Previous reviews on this site convinced me to book and stay at this hotel. It was really very good! I've stayed in Singapore many times but this was the best experience I have had and I think one of the key factors is the warmth of the staff. They were all very personable, helpful, and warm. The hotel itself is small, just one level of the recreation club's building. Also the reception is on level 3, not the entry level. But none of these things are really important when you think of the great central location, the reasonable (for Singapore) cost, and the ability to use all the club's facilities (swimming pool, 10-pin bowling, cafes and bars). My kids loved the pool and the breakfast buffet, and after a day out sightseeing we often ate at the excellent poolside cafe rather than have to go out again for dinner. The meals were decent and cheap. It's worth bearing in mind that if you wish to use the club facilities on levels 1 and 2 there is a dress code in place. No such dress code for the other floors though. Nice clean rooms, and very close to the City Hall MRT station. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    400
    157
    39
    30
See reviews for
161
450
63
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This place seems to be a well kept secret so I'm glad I found it on Tripadvisor. Its not a hotel as such, you stay in rooms on the top floor of what I can only describe as a private club. When you first walk in, especially if you're a bit crumpled and jet-lagged like we were, it is a bit intimidating. However, despite the dress code in the rest of the club or any discomfort you might have with the exclusivity, it is worth it!

The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable. Ours overlooked the Padang, so we had a great view of the surrounding colonial district. Its not too far to alot of the main tourist attractions and there is an MRT station over the road. Also, in the basement there is a swimming pool and jacuzzi. So nice to go for a swim after a sticky day sightseeing! The breakfast was nice too, good range and you could even pick what kinds of eggs you wanted (omelette, scrambled etc.) The price is good too, still expensive but a bit of a bargain compared to some other accommodation in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The residence is a little hidden gem in a perfect location, there are so many hotels to choose from in Singapore it is difficult to pick one unless you have been before. My partner and I stopped over for 2 nights on our way back from Lombok, we arrived late and caught the MRT from the Airport which was really easy and very safe, the hotel is right opposite the MRT station at City Hall, they only have a few rooms but they were clean , spacious and ours had a great view of the Singapore skyline, I would defiantly stay there again, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have to say, i almost feel reluctant to write a review, as I would love this hotel to be my secret place in Singapore...
Ok, bad things first. I hate CLUBS, British Clubs, and their snobby feeling. And certainly when you get to the reception, you are very tempted to walk out. It's super outdated, super in need of some tidying up and it really feels like you landed in a true nightmare place. But how come then everybody loves this place?
Simple: the rooms are amazing. they are very clean, very spacious, and quite modern. The water from the shower actually works!!!
And secondly, the location. It's not far from the airport, it's not far from the city. It's right where you want to be if you like shopping. At least, it's where I shop when in Singapore and it's very easy to get to.
Basically, close your eyes, till you are inside the bedroom. Would stay always there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank satori99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Central, in nice old colonial building, good breakfast, excellent value. We were very pleased with this hotel. For the very reasonable price paid it is in an excellent position and the old colonial recreation club building is delightful. With a limited number of rooms the hotel may lack some of the additional facilities found in top class hotels but this did not affect our stay at all. We found it to be perfect for the short stay stopover we had in Singapore. Our room, 307 did not overlook the Padand but was perfectly respectable and quiet enough and of a good size for a city centre position.

Room Tip: The open terrace goes in front of the Padang rooms so ther could be visual intrusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddytnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Park City Hall
#47 of 312 in Singapore
2,480 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#114 of 312 in Singapore
4,305 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,845 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 312 in Singapore
5,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club

Property: The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Address: B Connaught Drive Singapore Recreation Club, Singapore 179682, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#90 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 deluxe rooms, in a central location conveniently located near the business district, major attractions and shopping centres, The Residence at Singapore Recreation Club offers travellers an oasis of entertainment and pleasure. Located just minutes away from Singapore's newly opened integrated resorts, it is perfect for those new to the Lion city or visitors who want to experience Singapore in a new light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing