We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation needed ASAP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #262 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Curbside Impression: Stuck in the 80s.

Check in/out: Staff was courteous and helpful

Room: The minute we walked into our room, it reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was constantly humid and the A/C did nothing but circulated the smoky smell inside the room. Since the humidity was so high, I quickly pulled the bedsheets off to check for bed bugs, fortunately, I found none, but did spot quite a few pubic hair. I felt so uncomfortable, I slept in long sleeves to add another layer between myself and the mattress. The carpet looked and felt dirty. kept our slippers on 24/7.

Bathroom: The worst part of the room was the bathroom, it reeked of mildew. In fact, it smelled like the inside of an old Chinese dim sum restaurant. Black stains along the bath tub and after every shower, no matter how careful you are, we ended up with a big puddle of water in the middle of the bathroom floor.

We hated our bathroom so much that we tried to go as many times as possible when we were in nice shopping malls to avoid using our own.

Breakfast: Good selection of Asian and some western food.

Location: OK if you don't mind a 8-10 mins walk from the nearest subway stop. Easy bus stop out front for connection to all major tourist attractions.

Verdict: Go somewhere else, unless you have no other choice, or until they renovate the property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 373 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

Bad attitude at check-in. Rooms filthy and loud. Found old socks under bed. Full of groups from China: Loud and unruly. Put us in wrong room. Asked us to repack. then changed again. High prices. Poor location. zero value beyond a bed. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bangkokmangoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July 2010. We had to have 2 rooms as they didn't seem to have family rooms or rooms for 2 adults and 2 children which is a pity and made it very expensive. However they did give us adjoining rooms, although not the promised upgrade that we were entitled too, and when I asked for a late check out, we were allowed an extra hour although the hotel wasn't busy (again this were supposed to be part of our booking). The furniture in the rooms was old fashioned but it was fine and the rooms were clean and quiet. The fridge was empty and you could have a mini bar on request which we thought was a great idea. Didn't use the restaurants as very expensive and plenty of food places nearby. Pool was quite small but underutilised so no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taliababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

From the first impression you can already tell this Hotel is not really presentable. Reception is small, everything is a bit worn out and the arrangement of VIP Rooms, Restaurants, breakfast room quite confusing. The room, it was an upgrade, still disappointing. They "added" a small room, furnished it with a sofa a table and a tv, no carpet but lamination... more like a waiting area at a low tier dentist. Worst thing, even if common in southeast asia: the frowst. Like mildew... Air con is leaking, windows don't really close and at the same time can't be opened. And it's loud outside... Breakfast is a torture. Especially if you are not a morning person you will like the crowded and loud cantine atmosphere.. no corner to hide. A picture on the wall, or a lamp on the desk would be helpful if you wanted to work in the evenings... New bedclothes would be nicer to sleep in then the worn out ones...And if you are the kind of person who likes to have ensured nightlife amusement in your hotel instead of going out and try your luck, you might make use of the nightclub, the KTV, or the "Vip-Room"... Well what's positive? Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We went to Singapore last year around April 2009 for 5 days for our honeymoon. We booked the room in Hotel Royal for 5 days. The weather was fine during the month of April. t is located on Newton road, very close to Orchard road and the rooms are beautiful and nice and clean. Entering the hotel area, there is a beautiful little pond with the golden fishes.

We used to go to Orchard road by local transport bus. Commuting is quick in Singapore and metro is the best medium of travel. The hotel has a nice restaurant and the buffet is served all three time. But we only pick the breakfast buffet. They serve american, english, indian and european food styles. Inside the room, a nice little fridge is present and loaded with cans of beer and other beverages. The cans in the fridge are not free.

The bathrooms are pretty nice and have showers. They also have a digital safe inside the wardrobe to keep the valuables. There are pubs and nearby markets near the hotel. The nearest metro station is Novena square and it is around 15 mins walk from the hotel.

Inside the hotel there are some shops also, and i bought the local mobile SIM and some post cards. The famous local mobile network is Singtel.

Overall i like the hotel and would definitely visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaranIsCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#166 of 317 in Singapore
762 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#184 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 317 in Singapore
1,023 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#151 of 317 in Singapore
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: €74 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing