We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - not much else going for it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #263 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I'll start of with the pros:

1. We booked a Deluxe Room (with a free upgrade to Family Room through a promotion on Traveloka). The room was spacious enough, and the beds were comfortable enough, but there's really not much else I can say about the place.
2. Location is great - Novena is 5 minutes away by foot, Newton MRT 9 minutes away. The bus station is right across (or right at the hotel).
3. The doorman was very nice. I'm quite sad we weren't able to get his name. He was the only warm personnel we encountered during our stay (5 nights, 6 days)

Cons - and if you're used to traveling often and are used to several amenities usually provided by a hotel - there are plenty:

1. NO FREE WATER. They don't offer complementary water, and on top of that, if you make yourself a cup of coffee, you can only make 1 cup per day. Otherwise you get charged an addition 5 SGD. It's a little absurd, because I can go to a coffee shop nearby and get charged for the same price for a bigger cup of coffee.
2. NO LAUNDRY BAGS. Instead, they provide a laundry basket, which works if you're looking to actually do your laundry at their self-service laundromat. But if you're like me, who likes to collect their laundry in a separate bag and have it washed as soon as you get back home, then that definitely sucks.
3. The bathroom was dirty - with some stains on the toilet bowl. An indicator that the entire bathroom needs upgrading. Shower was leaking - to the point that every single time someone had to shower, we had to add another towel on the floor to soak up the water. Otherwise the entire bathroom would flood.
4. I don't know if it's a lack of coordination with Traveloka, or a lack of coordination on the hotel management's side, but the next morning when we went to get our free breakfast, we almost weren't able to because we weren't issued the "meal vouchers" upon check-in. We had to show paperwork, etc. just to show proof that we actually paid for the room with free breakfast.
5. WiFi signal was poor
6. Breakfast was okay, at best

I just keep repeating to myself that we're paying for the size of the room, and not much else.

Room Tip: go for the family room for the most space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laralouise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms. laralouise92,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. Thank you for your kind feedback. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share your thoughts with our team on the compliments & also on the area for improvement.

For your kind information, bottled water is not provided as we are on the path of going green. Nevertheless, water dispensers are available on every floor.

Once again, thank you & we wlook forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Be careful in this hotel cheat Hotel staff have stolen our branded sunglasses.
I have been to many hotels in the world and i have never been stolen because cleaning personal is very honest because even if i have money open on the table there never was missing a dime and that i have great respect.

The manager told us he will investigate. After few hours later when we called he said, there was no evidence that sunglasses were stolen. What a joke. One can not win a dispute with a customer one can only lose a customer. I do not think he knows what a customer is.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel royal is situated in a great location and the hotel family room was very spacious and it gives a good deal ,staff was very helpful,WiFi is not free it gives password for only 2 gadgets,the only problem we faced was the breakfast no indian breakfast for vegetarians and they don't even help you for heating the stuff .After staying for 7 nights they didn't even give us half an hour extra for the check out.
Stay was ok .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simmi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Mr. Simmi K,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. Thank you for taking time to provide your review. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share our thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you & we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Booked a deluxe room at Royal. Upon check in was told by receptionist fully booked. No rooms available. Seriously, are you a partner of United Airline? Worst, the manager try to find excuses: air-cond system breakdown affected 2 high floor thus overbooked. Requested refund but was declined and then they offered another "suite" at one of the building (2-block away from hotel). We had enough and insisted to get cash refund. Hotel claimed booking made through HotelQuickly.com and have to liaise with them. And till now, i have not heard about anything from the agent... all they can tell me is to wait... So, my advice to Hotel Royal, be more efficient and sincere in doing business. For hotel quickly, please change your name or close down your website before victims appear.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Keano4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Mr. Keano4896,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated. As we take feedback seriously, we will share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Initially allocated a suite which had no hot running water. Was told it would be fixed within half an hour. Got up next day still no hot water. TV reception was poor! Bedside lamp was not working. Transferred to another ‘family room’ the next day which was right next to the elevators. Hence, we had a sleepless night due to the constant noice coming from the elevators going up and down. Half the front desk staff were rude & unhelpful! After the first night of a bad experience we just expected to be given a more decent room, not necessarily a big room! Note.. free WiFi excess but limited to only two gadgets per room!

Room Tip: There are better hotels for the same cost
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank angeline012017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Ms. angeline012017,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. All of us take guests' feedback seriously & positively. As such, your feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you & we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#165 of 317 in Singapore
762 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#184 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#129 of 317 in Singapore
1,024 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#151 of 317 in Singapore
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: €74 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing