We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #275 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This hotel is a quite good choice for travelers with its good location and clean room with relatively low prices in Singapore.

【Advantages】Good location. You can find a bus station at the front door of the hotel. About 5 min walk from the hotel, there is a metro station called Novena. Beside this station, there's a dessert shop called "AH CHEW DESSERTS"(阿秋甜品), make sure to try it, we're told that it's one of the most popular dessert shop in Singapore. And the desserts they made is really awesome!!! It's also very convenient to go from the hotel to Orchard Rd and Chinatown.

Nice staff. The staff at the reception table were very friendly, they were very patient when explaining details and answered all our questions.

【Shortcoming】wifi connection. We lived in the corner room on the 11th floor, and the wifi connection in our room is very very unstable. Sometimes we couldn't even access the hotel wifi.

The showercurtain in the bathroom is quite useless. After taking a shower, the bathroom looked like just been hit by a flood.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 昊琦 吴
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Ms. 昊琦 吴,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Singapore. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you & we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in 926 for 3 days

Chair was broken
Bathroom was not up to the standards- Water leakage & broken washbasin.

Most importantly- room keeper honestly. We lost 3 sunglasses and 1 comb 3 days.

Advice - locked everything when you are leaving.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Mr. Sachin S,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We take all feedback seriously & your feedback is highly appreciated. Please allow us to share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Stayed here for almost three weeks for a business trip. We were in the apartment next to the hotel which were quite nice. Was clean and they fixed a plumbing issue quite quickly after I reported it to the reception.

The conference rooms we used a few times were OK, but audio and video was a bit outdated. The business centre did not have internet when we wanted to use it, 1 print was 1 SGP dollar, but it did not matter because the computers did not have microsoft office so we could not use it anyway. When I commented it to the management they were not really open to the idea that their business centre was disfunctional and that they should do something.

A bit the same with the food. Meals were OK, but half of the staff seemed unmotivated to work or do something unless they were told something to do while there was enough things to do (clean up tables, refill food, check for hygeine issues with the customers).

In general the room was OK, but the staff could use an upgrade to make all things at the hotel better.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yihuan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Mr. Yihuan11,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. Thank you for taking time to provide your valuable feedback & it is highly appreciated. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you & we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in Royal residences. Everything was beautifully maintained and the staff were excellent. Close to MRT and bus at the door so an MRT Card is a great investment. United square shopping centre is 4 minutes walk and Novena Shopping is 5 minutes. Washers and dryers are free and were a welcome service. Restaurant was a bit expensive. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mr. Peter D,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in Singapore. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share your thoughts with our team.

Once again, thank you & we shall look forward to serving you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The wifi requires an access code. Wifi connectivity is weak, drops almost every other 10mins. Using an iPhone 7, doesn't even pop-up page to punch in its wifi code! Not to mention having to buy the internet because it doesn't came together with the booking of room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyal_Sg, General Manager at Hotel Royal Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Ms. Karine C,

Thank you first of all for staying with us in Hotel Royal. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated & we will definitely share your thoughts with our team for improvement.

Once again, thank you.

With Kind Regards,
Lee Chou Hock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#163 of 317 in Singapore
769 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#127 of 317 in Singapore
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
Hotel Chancellor at Orchard
#240 of 317 in Singapore
374 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#184 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Hotel Boss
#158 of 317 in Singapore
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: €73 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing