We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but it got the job done!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #263 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights while in town for a kite festival... Overall, it was pretty decent... On 2 of the nights, we had yellow water from the sink and shower, but it cleared up pretty quickly... Breakfast buffet is fair, later dinner menu is *very* limited... Pool was clean and decent to use... VERY close to the MRT (train) station, lots of shopping and dining nearby... We had AWESOME housekeeping, friendly staff, had our laptops out in our room every day of our visit without any concern for theft.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiteLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 354 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

I complained about the furniture being torn and the bathroom being dirty - hair all over the bath and the shower recess so dirty you couldn't see through it. There was no internet in the room unless you paid a $50 sing deposit on top of the $8per hour you already had to pay. On top of this I was charged $300 sing for the privilege on the guise that this was a self rated 4 star hotel from motif. Upon complaining to both Wotif I was told it was beyond their control. Upon complaining to the hotel I was sent a poor bell boy to deal with my issues. When I called management I was told that the duty manage had gone awol. I insisted so a teenager from the front desk was sent to talk to me. She nodded and offered me another room with exactly the same problems i.e. dirty bathroom, torn furniture,etc. Utterly depressing and worst thing about the place was the complete indifference.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

at first, i was hesitant to stay at this hotel due to its bad reviews. but when i got there, it was ok. yet a bit old, it's a cozy hotel. the staff are not strict. yes, you carry your own bags to the room but it was fine. (did not have to give tips) hehehe..... the location was very convenient. it's near a mall, a grocery store, a 5 min drive to orchard and little india. just don't have big expectations. it really is not a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank md_traveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel as part of a stopover package which was included in an airfare to Europe. I was not impressed by this hotel.

The check-in was slow compared to other hotels that we have stayed in, in Singapore and elsewhere.

I chose this hotel (out of a list of 5 hotels offered by the airline) because it is advertised as having a swimming pool. Upon arrival, however, we were told that the pool was closed "indefinately". This was in late June 2011 - I do not know if it has since been re-opened.

The air conditioning vent in one of our rooms leaked. There were no towels provided in the bathrooms - I had to call housekeeping to request some. There was also no plug in the bath - again, I had to call housekeeping to obtain one. We could hear loud plumbing noises when water was used in the adjacent rooms.

I saw the advertised rack rates at Reception and have no doubt that you could easily find better value for money accommodation elsewhere in Singapore (as we did on our return journey).

i would also strongly advise against using their 'busines centre'. I tried to use it to do an internet check-in and it took me almost an hour to do what I could have done elsewhere in under 5 minutes. There is basically no printing capability and their computers are extremely slow. All in all, a very frustrating experience!

Ona positive note, we thought that the breakfast buffet was good quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Room was dirty and old. The room also smelled bad. It needs a renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#167 of 317 in Singapore
762 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 317 in Singapore
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#126 of 317 in Singapore
1,026 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#151 of 317 in Singapore
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: €74 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing