We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Ranked #110 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Wonderful hostel, clean, friendly, good bar, great live music every night, cheap for singapore and ideally situated in little india for atmosphere and wonderful food. Free breakfast too - including DIY fried eggs - a real treat! Very australian hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    48
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
2
50
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I booked online, and other than the taxi driver insisting on taking me to the wrong hostel, it was very easy. The barman at the Dunlop St location drew me a map to take the undergrrouond to the right location. It is in fact, very easy and cheap, to get the underground from the airport to Boat Quay, where the hostel is situated at the river front. It is a new hostel, with mixed and single sex dorms (enforced well!!) and I believe there's a double room too. All bedding is provided and the rooms are nice, clean and has free wifi. The only down-side was that someone (probably a guest who got cold) turned off the a/c so struggled to sleep. The staff are lovely and helpful, and after my harrowing journey, they even kindly gave me a free drink (which at the equivalent of £6.50 was very graatefullly received). Drinks are some of the cheapest in town, with special offers for those staying. I will be moving to Singapore soon, and fully intend to stay at the hostel whilst I look for somewhere to live.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Singapore was our refuge after roughing it in Indonesia and this hostel was awesome!! We stayed in a private room, which was actually in the attic. It was clean and really nice! We had a TV, DVD player and several movies free of charge. Air conditioner, a fan, a ton of space, basic furniture. I think they just made this space into a room because we had to walk through a staff storage room to get to it. We could have shared a bathroom with the other 2 private rooms a floor down, but we ended up using the shared bathroom two floors down more often. It was clean and there was always paper, soap, etc. The bar here is popular with many travellers, but if you sleep here, you get drink specials and discounts on the food. The included breakfast was great too! You get 2 eggs, toast, fruit, coffee/tea. You make your own eggs (everything is provided) and do your own dishes. Laundry machines on site too.

The girl who checked us in was really sweet and helpful. I think it was only her first week on the job, but she had a ton of information for us. It was so terribly unfortunate that we were there during the Nascar weekend and this place didn't have space for us for another night. The location was great, a lot of tasty Indian food, short walk to the metro, and short distances to shopping, China town, etc. If I'm even in Singapore again, this is where I'm going.

Room Tip: Private room in the attic was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananas2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Good private room, very clean, closed to everywhere, MTR a block away, and 20 minutes walk to sands marina hotel, and Singapore flyer. 15 minutes walk to china town for great food and shopping! Singapore is a must visit country, and POW boat quay a cheap way to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was my first time staying in a hostel so was a little apprehensive as I have heard a few horror stories. I stayed here for four nights and after a long journey was pleased at how easy it was to get to the hostel using the metro, I stayed at the POW at Boat quay.We were quickly checked in and then shown to our room which was at the top of three flights of stairs, be warned there are no lifts. The room itself was small but was well equiped with a good size double bed, a desk, an Ipod station, tea and coffee making facilities, towels, a safe and an excellent air conditioning system. We shared a bathroom with the double room next to ours, it was a great size and always very clean.

The hostel at Boat Quay is in an excellent location along a main strip of pubs and restaurants. It is also within walking distance of Raffles and other attractions. The Pub itself is very expensive if you want a drink but people staying at the hostel do get a 50% discount on the food served.

Overall for my first experience of a hostel I was very pleased and hope all the other hostels I stay in are as good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#37 of 231 in Singapore
276 reviews
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#18 of 231 in Singapore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
Heritage @ Clarke Quay
#132 of 231 in Singapore
6 reviews
River City Inn
#28 of 231 in Singapore
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Property: Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing