We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”
Review of Astoria Current

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Current
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Very nice hotel. It may not have the grandiose of a traditional 5-star hotel but it makes up for it in it's modern, hip and clean white atmosphere at an affordable pricepoint. The pool certainly gives the place a distinct look at night when the lights are lit up. It was just my fiancee and I traveling, and the room we booked had everything we needed. Complimentary waters, great AC, clean, a nice bathroom, a digital safe. We enjoyed the free breakfast buffet as well as Astoria's beach area out front. The staff was friendly, we were able to check in an hour early and the welcome drinks were tasty.

If I had to give the place some cons: The elevator "buttons" are terrible. Expect to walk up the stairs out of frustration. Also, the shower seemed to not provide hot water after 10 PM for our room.

This was our first visit to Boracay and I am very happy we stayed here. After walking around I think Astoria's Current looked to be the best hotel in Station 3, making this a great value for the price. Our stay was for 2 nights, May 20 and 21, 2017.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_W2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Current, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Ben_W2639,

Thank you for this thorough review! We are delighted to hear that you had an “outstanding” experience with us. Here at Astoria Current, we want to give you everything you can possibly need, and your review affirms that we are on the right track in providing the best vacation experience for our valued guests.

We appreciate all your positive feedback regarding our rooms, staff, and other amenities. The team was ecstatic upon hearing your compliments.

As for your concerns with the elevator and shower, we assure you that we have addressed these. We value your feedback because it helps us in the regular assessment of our services and amenities.

We will be looking forward to your next stay!

Best,
The Astoria Current Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 294 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights from May 10 to May 20. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and had a hassle free check-in. Breakfast was fine with a good daily variety and again the staff were friendly and attentive.
Avoid room 242 like the plague. Once we took one step inside the room we lost wifi. During our stay, the air con would remain at 26 degrees despite constantly lowering it. I was disappointed as we reported this to housekeeping and received no feedback. On day 5 we started noticing a smell coming from the room but put up with it until day 8 when both my wife and I woke to a foul smell which smelt like sewerage. The staff were great and moved us to another room with a couple of hours. There is a lot of construction adjacent to both rooms we had and you could not use the balconies as they were filthy with dust.
There were not enough sunbeds on the beach and not many are offered shade. The security guards on the beach were very lax, quite often allowing the local guys to sit on the beds while hassling guests offering tours/ activities. It is busy enough now walking along white beach constantly being offered activities without getting hassled when you want to relax on the beach.
Overall a decent stay but a lot of improvement is needed.

Stayed: May 2017
4  Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Current, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Brad F,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your feedback regarding our staff, check-in process, and breakfast buffet is greatly appreciated. However, we understand that you experienced a situation while you were in your initial room. We assure you that we have addressed the situation, and that this will never happen again.

Our staff will always be ready to assist you with all your needs, and we were more than happy to arrange a new room for you. We value our guests’ comfort and safety. Hence we will always go out of our way to ensure that we provide the best service experience possible.

We will continue to improve our services and amenities so that on your next visit, you will be able to have a more pleasurable stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Astoria Current Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The hotel staff are very well trained and customer oriented. I booked 3 rooms for my family and even without requesting, we were given adjoining and interconnecting rooms. The rooms were spacious and very clean. All the staff were very attentive and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous, with a good spread and delicious! It is located centrally in Station 3, right where the action is. We had a fantastic stay and would love to come back again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ebonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Current, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Ebonnie M,

Thank you for this review! We are delighted that you especially liked your overall experience at our hotel. Our staff were honored to have served you, and it gives us great pleasure to know that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Truly, Astoria Current mirrors the vibrant and carefree vibe of Boracay. We will continue to improve our services so that on your next visit, you will be able to maximize the beauty of our resort.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Yours,
The Astoria Current Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel for the price and the location. Had one of the nicest beach without algies. Longchairs were always available on the beach and security on site to check your personal belongings while you swim.

Crystal clear water and fine white sand. Incredible landscape.

The Astoria seems brand new. Rooms were fresh (air conditioning), clean and spacious. Loved it.

The pool is nice with massage beds integrated and a glass wall.

Breakfast buffet was always great. Good variety. Best place to eat was on the terrace. We had a waiter (Gino) who made sure we had all we needed. He was so nice and professional. Staff in general was welcoming.

If you go, You should deffenetly stay at the Astoria. Just make sure to try a few restaurant during your stay... the chicken at Andok, the seafood at D'talipapa market and the shakes at Jona's shakes.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank palmolive_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Current, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear palmolive_11,

Many thanks for this review! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We thank you for your comments regarding our location, beach, room, pool, and breakfast buffet. Gino and the rest of our staff were all pleased when they heard your comments. It was our pleasure to serve you. Your suggestions on where to eat will surely be beneficial to our future guests!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
The Astoria Current Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Great service! we're super satisfied. One of the best in Station 3. We were upgraded to a room with direct pool access. The features/amenities are superb: complimentary drinks, water/shampoo replenished daily, breakfast buffet. Slippers, hair dryer, fridge, microwave, 4 chairs and a table, and sink filled our room with 2 queen-sized bed but doesn't feel crowded. If ever we'll go back in Bora, we'll definitely stay here in Astoria again.

Room Tip: choose a room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstoriaHotelGroup, Guest Relations at Astoria Current, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Dianne S,

Thank you for this review! We are thrilled that you were beyond satisfied with our service. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast buffet, room, and other amenities with us.

Here at Astoria Current, we always look to provide our guests with excellent service, and your review truly affirms our efforts. Being named as “one of the best” in Station 3 by a guest is definitely a compliment that we would like to continue living up to.

We are looking forward to your next visit here or in other Astoria destinations in Ortigas, Makati, Palawan or Bohol!

Yours,
The Astoria Current Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 151 in Boracay
774 reviews
0.8 km away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#3 of 151 in Boracay
776 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#23 of 151 in Boracay
1,670 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#36 of 151 in Boracay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Current

Address: Sitio Mangayad, Brgy. Manoc Manoc, Station 3, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: €83 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Current 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh. Vibrant. Hot. Three keywords that best describe Astoria Hotels & Resorts’ 8th establishment: Astoria Current. The 7000 plus square meter beachfront resort is located in the action side of Boracay: Station 3. The location gives guests easy access to the many water sports offerings, adrenaline pumping activities and exhilarating nightlife the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astoria Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing