We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
1
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
1
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Located in a quiet area off D Talipapas, it's clean, good value for money. They have a free shuttle and breakfast included every morning.

This place is good for singles, couples and families. They also accept group travel with a maximum of 3 people in a room at a time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There are two Sun resorts in Boracay -- the Sun Village Central Beachfront, and the Sun Villas. The first one is right smack in the middle of crazy Boracay, just where the action is. The other one is on the other side of the road, up on a hill with a great view of the beach, very private and very tranquil with its nicely landscaped garden, inviting pool, and relaxing pavilion. It's also walking distance from D'Mall but the walk back could be quite tiring since it's uphill.

Actually, our initial reservation was at Sun Villas but when we found out that it's quite some distance away from the beach, we requested a transfer to Sun Village which the very gracious staff readily took care of. Admittedly, Sun Village does not have the charm of Sun Villas but what it lacks in facilities (it's just a two story house with a couple of rooms and an eat-all-you-can Mongolian Barbeque restaurant downstairs), it made up in location and accessibility. It's practically beside D'Mall so shopping and dining are no hassle. There are also several bamboo lounge beds with attractive yellow beach umbrellas by the beach exclusive for hotel guests and where my friend and I stayed most of the time. Our room had two double-sized beds with romantic mosquito nets which i think is simply for aesthetic purposes. It has cable TV, a big bamboo cabinet, aircon, and hot and cold shower (the water won't really turn as hot as i wanted though). There are no activities in the hotel (no pool, no wifi, no spa, no game room, etc) but well, there are lots of establishments nearby offering all sorts of entertainment so it was not really a big deal for us.In short, Sun Village Central is for people who want to be just a stone's throw away from the beach and are okay with no frills accommodations.

Room Tip: there's a room fronting the beach with a nice little terrace but the noise from nearby bars could be quite irritating
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gold1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We went here last July until the first week of August. It was a sort of emergency vacation so we weren't prepared at all. The location of the hotel is just perfect! Near to everything you would want to go to in Boracay. We were welcomed by warn smiles, a nice cold drink and a cute shell necklace.

The hotel entrace was a bit flooded that time so we have to step on some wooden blocks to reach the stairs to our room. You wouldn't notice the hotel because it has a small entrace. But beside it is a mongolian eat all you can buffet. You wouldn't miss that sign board fo sure.

The theme of the room was very Filipino. Bamboo bed, cabinets and tables for our things. It was very cozy. Perfect for honeymooners! The tv is quite small though, but I dont think youll go to Bora just to watch tv so we didnt mind it at all.

Breakfast was also good. Not that great but can do already. They have few choices so go try each per day.

Overall, our stay was great. The place was clean. They replenish the toiletries everyday. The room smells clean. Its comfortable and I would say, I wouldnt hesitate to go back again!

Room Tip: We got the room upstairs but they have a room downstairs for family who has kids and for those who are a bit old already to climb up the stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jascee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2006


Trip was March 11, 2006

Sun Village South is located in Angol Beach which is nearest to Station 3. It's quite a distance from the more crowded areas of Boracay, which is great if you want peace and quiet.

I got a standard room which was pretty basic -- bathroom was very clean, linens were crisp, aircon was (very) cold, everything worked. No phone or mini bar, but they weren't really necessary for me on this trip. My room was cleaned regularly, towels changed, bed turned down, etc. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

My package included breakfast which is good if you're too lazy to search for food in the morning. There's a selection to choose from -- American, Continental, Filipino. It's not fine dining, but it'll do.

If you're the type that wants to be in the middle of all the action, hop from place to place everyday, visit D'Mall, buy souvenirs, mingle with the crowds, then Sun Village South might not be for you. But for someone like me who was taking a much-needed break from work, Sun Village South was perfect because it was on a less-busy part of the island, yet not too isolated (about a 15-20 minute walk to Station 2) that I couldn't get to the restaurants and bars. It was also a cheaper alternative to staying in Station 1, which is just as quiet but a lot more expensive.

Sun Village South is perfect for those who want to go to Boracay to just kick back and chill out. You can spend hours (or in my case, the whole day) on their wooden lounges and not be bothered by large crowds passing back and forth, which happens in other parts of the island. There aren't many vendors walking around, so you're left alone most of the time. The beachfront is almost as wide and as white as that in Station 1 so there's lots of space to bake in the sun or play in the sand.

I recommend Sun Village South for Boracay "veterans" who've already explored the island in past visits. The ones who go, not to be trendy or be part of a scene, but those who simply want to get away from it all and enjoy a few days of relaxation on a beautiful white sand beach.

17  Thank vanilla_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews