We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent highly recommended ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Didn't book just walked in. Nice and quite location but easy walking distance to bars and restaurants. Hidden little gem highly recommend this place. Very freindly people and clean accomodation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Wow, where do I start!
Loved, loved, loved this place! The rooms are very basic but what do you need anything more for, after all, it's just somewhere to sleep and store your luggage.
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily, beds and pillows are comfortable, and linen and towels are clean.
What makes this place stand out is the staff. You're made to feel exceptionally welcome from the moment you book until the time you leave. A particular mention to Jhint and George for their outstanding customer service - nothing was too much trouble for them, the advice and information they gave was invaluable and they did everything with a smile on their face.
I initially booked a small fan room but decided it was worth the extra pesos for a hot shower so moved into an A/C bungalow after 3 nights. I never use the A/C so they kindly provided me with an extra floor fan. The small room had a single bed which was comfortable but the bungalow had a double sized bed which was better.
The property is down a small path in Station 3 which is definitely the best place to stay if you want reasonable rates and to be away from the noise/bustle of Station 2. The good news is that it's a pleasant 15-20min walk to Station 2 along the beach path. Yup, you'll get targeted by every boat trip, massage and food seller whilst you're walking, but a polite 'no thank you' solves that problem.
I only ate a few times at Daves Straw Hat, but what I did have - Pancakes and chicken adobo was great quality and good value.
I happily recommend this place for solo travellers, couples and families. Loved it, and can't wait to return, it'll certainly be the 1st place I look to book.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aqua0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Private cottages for 2 in a quiet, sheltered location for the same price as a hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, even offering welcome drinks and an extensive library. They have a backup generator so the AC always works and the showers are always hot. We'll be back soon!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a low price place but you get a lot of value. What really makes the difference here is that the staff is really attentive to the traveler. They are keeping the place and the rooms clean and provide efficient service for things like laundry. We stayed 11 days with my son and used laundry quite a bit and also had many breakfasts yet we had to pay only about 1500 PHP in all incremental spend at checkout Beach is 2 minutes walk via some small passages and it is easy to find beach areas with comfy chairs where you are welcome as long as you drink or eat.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renaudir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I loved my stay at Dave's Straw Hat Inn! The staff was excellent, both professional and friendly. My room was neat and comfy, the fan and the aircon made me forget about the hot weather of Boracay!

Dave's Straw Hat Inn offers a laundry service, massages in your room, books and movies loaning and a restaurant:
- the laundry is charged regarding which clothes you give the staff. The prices are reasonable
- the massages usually last 1 hour, and you cast ask for swedish massage, reflexology, shiatsu or a combination of these techniques for P450
- the restaurant's prices are reasonable, but I have to say I was slightly disappointed with the food (except for the pancakes: they are delicious!)

The hotel itself is located in Station 3, which is good because it's either quiet and close to most restaurants and bars of White Beach. The access to the beach is very good, not more than 5 minutes to get there from your room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 km away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#57 of 151 in Boracay
313 reviews
0.6 km away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#42 of 151 in Boracay
150 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#21 of 151 in Boracay
1,674 reviews
0.2 km away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
#17 of 151 in Boracay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Malay, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: €29 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing