We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
655
194
25
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
194
25
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango pancakes place to stay short walk to the beach bars and restaurants deluxe room janet station island philippines alleyway transfer boat pesos
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Small hotel with circa 8-9 rooms, secure small complex, located down little lanes and a short walk from the beach. Very friendly staff, that welcomed us to their 'family'. Basic, but very acceptable accommodation, all rooms have separate little patios areas. The whole experience felt very much felt in like staying with friends or family. Room only, B&B and dinner packages available. Bedroom was a reasonable size, we stayed in a double with a large en-suite bathroom. The room was spotless, and had everything we need but it was quite basic and we did spot ants and creepy crawlies on a daily basis, but it is the Topics and therefore expected. The air conditioning and ceiling fan were a welcome relief from the excessive heat at the time of our visit. The hotel was fully booked - tranquil and quiet - Its hidden away a few minutes walk from the stunning beaches. At the time of our stay all guests were adults, mainly couples on travels from far and wide (Australia States and Canada) and aged between late 20s and mid 60's, There is a small reception area next to the dining area and lounge, which has a seating area and conversation flowed freely between staff and guests as they relaxed in this intimate, cosy and friendly environment. WiFi was available but the signal as quite weak - better connections are available in the beachside bars.

Staff were incredibly friendly, and could not do enough to help and serve us during our stay. Hotel staff felt like a family and we were welcomed with open arms. Housekeeping team were great and cleaned our room, providing fresh linen and towels each day. It was my brothers 40th birthday during our stay and the staff arranged for a lovely, vey tasty birthday cake and balloons - all at the hotels expense - that was a very special and lovely gesture.

The hotel is set off the beaten track, its a short walk from the beach and in an area of small hotels and private residential accommodation. For a first time visitor without a guide, the hotel might be a tad trick to find. The beach, bars, restaurants and shops are predominantly front the beach - which is a circa 3- 5 minute walk away. There are a wealth of bars and restaurants to choose from and the beach areas closest to the trail to the hotel awards breath-taking views at sunset.

This hotel is just perfect if you want to get away from the world and retreat from the hustle and bustle of life and you just want to sit, relax and ponder on your own thoughts - its a perfect retreat and has a great library - you could sit for months reading through the collection and become totally carefree. However, is you like on site lively entertainment and activity's you sold look elsewhere. The hotel does not have a pool and even thought the beach is only a few minutes away, the heat when we visited in April was very uncomfortable at times due to the humidity - a pool, even just a small plunge pool would have been a very welcome relief.

Very much looking forward to visiting again.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank courteneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We arrived at Dave's and were instantly made welcome by the friendly staff, who showed us to our room and gave us a drink on the house. Throughout our stay they couldn't be more helpful and kind to us and really made the holiday special. The room itself was cheap (about 20GBP a night) and was great for the price, with a TV, two chairs, double bed, ensuite shower and bathroom, fridge, small warddrobe and fridge. Outside we had a little patio with two chairs and table.

The location is great - only 30 seconds walk to the beach and an easy walk along the beach to any number of bars and restaurants. It's really easy just to leave your room, go for a swim and walk back again if the sun is too hot.

They also have a restaurant (last orders at 7.30pm) and the breakfast pancakes are huge and easily enough for two. At night you can get western and local food there and the prices are extremely cheap.

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim55132432523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

The Best Hotel at Boracay..That was The best vacation of my life. Beginning I was worried about traveling alone, but after I explored this hotel I felt like home...The stuff was incredible friendly and looked after me...I was sitting at the garden and talked with the nice stuff many hours..They were helpful, polite. The rooms are very clean and its just 100-200 meter away from the beach..I would recommend this hotel everyone, especially this people who prefer to stay familiarly small hotels..I am sure that I ll stay by my next visit at the same hotel...

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
Thank Merve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Greeted at the place by 'Welcome home', which might sound cheesy but they really did make you feel welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and although not luxury, they were very comfortable. Shower had piping hot water all of the time. The hotel environment was lovely (gated and secure), rooms set in amongst trees and was very quiet and they lit anti-mosquito incense sticks to deter any bugs - it worked. The narrow path to it was safe at all times with 'hello's' coming from behind shop windows as you passed. The beach was a minutes walk, 2 minutes into the water. Some very good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and a good variety too.
Breakfast could have been better - but for the price it was appropriate and was okay. When you leave they take a photo of you with the staff all coming out to see you off. They do it for everyone.
We would definitely recommend Dave's Straw Hat to anyone who is looking for a very clean, comfortable, friendly hotel, close to the action but far away enough as to get a good night's sleep. Do ask for transfer as they do it well and at first it's difficult to find and quite a trek with suitcases from where you might be dropped off. Cost is the same as trying to get external transfer so no point in looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: They all seemed good. The more modern rooms were smaller. We had a luxury room but they all seemed good.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobnJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Really lovely place, great location just a few steps to the most amazing bit of the beach, a 7 min walk to station 2 which is busier in the evening so I loved being able to walk away from that and get a good nights sleep compared to a sleepless night in station 2 the night previous. Would certainly stay here again in the future as the staff were nice and helpful.
P.s. They do the most amazing fried rice! And the restaurant in front on the beach does a lovely breakfast :)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chloesharpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews