We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Friendly Smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Dave's Straw Hut is a great place to stay. Big room, with big fridge, powerful shower and hot water all the time. Great for the price. They cleaned the room everyday and it was always immaculate. Air con was a bit noisy but effective at cooling the room down very quickly. Very quiet and only a minutes walk from the beach. About fifteen minute walk from D'mall which is the centre of the strip where most restaurants and bars are.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very nice. Big room, big bathroom, Big fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben_blt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2015

Small hotel with circa 8-9 rooms, secure small complex, located down little lanes and a short walk from the beach. Very friendly staff, that welcomed us to their 'family'. Basic, but very acceptable accommodation, all rooms have separate little patios areas. The whole experience felt very much felt in like staying with friends or family. Room only, B&B and dinner packages available. Bedroom was a reasonable size, we stayed in a double with a large en-suite bathroom. The room was spotless, and had everything we need but it was quite basic and we did spot ants and creepy crawlies on a daily basis, but it is the Topics and therefore expected. The air conditioning and ceiling fan were a welcome relief from the excessive heat at the time of our visit. The hotel was fully booked - tranquil and quiet - Its hidden away a few minutes walk from the stunning beaches. At the time of our stay all guests were adults, mainly couples on travels from far and wide (Australia States and Canada) and aged between late 20s and mid 60's, There is a small reception area next to the dining area and lounge, which has a seating area and conversation flowed freely between staff and guests as they relaxed in this intimate, cosy and friendly environment. WiFi was available but the signal as quite weak - better connections are available in the beachside bars.

Staff were incredibly friendly, and could not do enough to help and serve us during our stay. Hotel staff felt like a family and we were welcomed with open arms. Housekeeping team were great and cleaned our room, providing fresh linen and towels each day. It was my brothers 40th birthday during our stay and the staff arranged for a lovely, vey tasty birthday cake and balloons - all at the hotels expense - that was a very special and lovely gesture.

The hotel is set off the beaten track, its a short walk from the beach and in an area of small hotels and private residential accommodation. For a first time visitor without a guide, the hotel might be a tad trick to find. The beach, bars, restaurants and shops are predominantly front the beach - which is a circa 3- 5 minute walk away. There are a wealth of bars and restaurants to choose from and the beach areas closest to the trail to the hotel awards breath-taking views at sunset.

This hotel is just perfect if you want to get away from the world and retreat from the hustle and bustle of life and you just want to sit, relax and ponder on your own thoughts - its a perfect retreat and has a great library - you could sit for months reading through the collection and become totally carefree. However, is you like on site lively entertainment and activity's you sold look elsewhere. The hotel does not have a pool and even thought the beach is only a few minutes away, the heat when we visited in April was very uncomfortable at times due to the humidity - a pool, even just a small plunge pool would have been a very welcome relief.

Very much looking forward to visiting again.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank courteneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We arrived at Dave's and were instantly made welcome by the friendly staff, who showed us to our room and gave us a drink on the house. Throughout our stay they couldn't be more helpful and kind to us and really made the holiday special. The room itself was cheap (about 20GBP a night) and was great for the price, with a TV, two chairs, double bed, ensuite shower and bathroom, fridge, small warddrobe and fridge. Outside we had a little patio with two chairs and table.

The location is great - only 30 seconds walk to the beach and an easy walk along the beach to any number of bars and restaurants. It's really easy just to leave your room, go for a swim and walk back again if the sun is too hot.

They also have a restaurant (last orders at 7.30pm) and the breakfast pancakes are huge and easily enough for two. At night you can get western and local food there and the prices are extremely cheap.

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim55132432523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

The Best Hotel at Boracay..That was The best vacation of my life. Beginning I was worried about traveling alone, but after I explored this hotel I felt like home...The stuff was incredible friendly and looked after me...I was sitting at the garden and talked with the nice stuff many hours..They were helpful, polite. The rooms are very clean and its just 100-200 meter away from the beach..I would recommend this hotel everyone, especially this people who prefer to stay familiarly small hotels..I am sure that I ll stay by my next visit at the same hotel...

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
Thank Merve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Greeted at the place by 'Welcome home', which might sound cheesy but they really did make you feel welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and although not luxury, they were very comfortable. Shower had piping hot water all of the time. The hotel environment was lovely (gated and secure), rooms set in amongst trees and was very quiet and they lit anti-mosquito incense sticks to deter any bugs - it worked. The narrow path to it was safe at all times with 'hello's' coming from behind shop windows as you passed. The beach was a minutes walk, 2 minutes into the water. Some very good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and a good variety too.
Breakfast could have been better - but for the price it was appropriate and was okay. When you leave they take a photo of you with the staff all coming out to see you off. They do it for everyone.
We would definitely recommend Dave's Straw Hat to anyone who is looking for a very clean, comfortable, friendly hotel, close to the action but far away enough as to get a good night's sleep. Do ask for transfer as they do it well and at first it's difficult to find and quite a trek with suitcases from where you might be dropped off. Cost is the same as trying to get external transfer so no point in looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: They all seemed good. The more modern rooms were smaller. We had a luxury room but they all seemed g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobnJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 km away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#57 of 151 in Boracay
313 reviews
0.6 km away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 151 in Boracay
151 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 151 in Boracay
1,677 reviews
0.2 km away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#123 of 151 in Boracay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Malay, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: €29 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dave's Straw Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing