We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
5
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Great location on lakefront, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and arena. Modern facility with spacious, upgraded rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast area and lounge on executive floor for Delta Privilege members.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMGIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

The location is great if you don't want to stay right on White Beach where all the excitement is. Rooms are clean and nice. The staff are excellent...extremely helpful! The restaurant has good food, however, it's not very cheap. But, you are paying for the convenience of not having to leave the hotel for your meals so it's worth it. The pool area is very nice for relaxing. Depending on the tide you can also swim in the ocean. There is no beach, however, there are stairs that lead down towards the water. The view of the sunset from the hotel property is amazing and worth checking out. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from D'Mall (on White Beach) which you can make arrangements for at the front desk. They go to and from every 2 hours or so. If you choose to make your own way into town from the hotel it will cost you about P100 by tricycle.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemisstravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

i am amazed that in the overall ratings the service and the pool are the lowest these things were what made the stay service was great nothing was too much.we got the necklaces on arrival free drinks. fruit basket. view to kill for from balcony where we had our breakfast delivered to in morning.shuttle was good if we could get motivated toget there on time but trikes just as effective.the free massage was superb both i and partner were stoked(tip they are fabulous)room was clean and tidy everyday come home spotless.bed big and comfortable. only minor negatives and they clutching at straws the aircon little noisy(but had fan over bed)and the rooms starting to show effects of time. for pure relaxation away from noise of beach ,view ,comfort, service cant go wrong
shane

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank hakaboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

I wrote this review because I read other reviews and still couldn't get a picture of the Villas and whether I should stay there or not. The Lorenzo website is a vague gesture and not helpful. I hope this review helps you.

We went to Boracay with our four kids, the oldest being 8 and the youngest being 5 months old!! Travelled via Kalibo because of the sharp difference in prices, 25,000 pesos against 50,000 pesos for the flights!! ( You also get 20kgs luggage as opposed to the 10kgs on Asian Spirit ). You also get jet engines, rather than propellers !

By the way, there is no difference between Lorenzo Villas on some websites and Lorenzo Grand Villas, it is the same place.

Lots of imagined worries about the transfers we booked, but we weren't let down. We were ushered by the rep, with our names on a board onto a brand new bus and it is exactly 90 mins drive to the pick-up at Caticlan. You need to travel with shorts and flip-flops/sandals to step into the boats and if you have big luggage have some small notes to tip the porters, because you will not be able to carry your own luggage onto the boat, unless you take a back-pack, or one or the other will get wet. The boats have plastic side covers, but don't wear your best clothes. The boatmen will help you into the boat and carry your kids for you, so never fear.

(Don't take dressy clothes to Boracay. You can have a candle-lit dinner on the beach with shorts and a t-shirt and you will blend in. I brought 3 pairs of cotton trousers, having been to other countries developed islands and didn't wear them once. D'Mall is not a shopping mall ( no SM superstore here ), but an outside area of shops and prices are resort like. The rest of Phils sells the same things for 30-60% cheaper, so, if possible, shop for swimming stuff and lotions and even maps before you arrive. If you come directly from outside the Phils, you will think it is not so expensive though).

(Any reviews you read of storm damage to White Beach, you will not notice it, if it is your first visit.
If travelling with babies, think of taking a baby-carrier, rather than a buggy to White Beach. The sand starts off hard on the beach path in the morning but by 12pm you are almost carrying the buggy).

The boat drops you at 5 mins drive from the Villas and you are picked up by the hotel minibus.

On arrival you are given a beautiful shell necklace and welcome drinks, this is cute.

We booked, originally, the 2 bed villa, but, although they were very interesting design, with an air-con room on the first floor and a fan room on the second floor, with two bathrooms, it is like living in a house, with the TV downstairs. There was a small problem with insects, mostly red-ants downstairs and don't look behind the sink facades in the bathrooms. The main draw-back for us was the steep concrete stairs which the kids loved to play on, with serious consequences if they fell. These villas are great for large groups or for parties, with great terraces but don't book them with very young children or you will get no relaxation. The water is piping hot, more so even than the main building.

There are 4 "premiere" rooms and the rest are "superior". There is about $5 difference between the two, so book the "premiere" if possible. The main difference with the premiere is that they have smooth blockwood floors, as opposed to wood-strips which look funky but the blockwood is more comfortable. The premieres also have a remote for the aircon. All the rooms are huge, with a huge bathroom and bath and in-room safety box. The balconies all look over the pool area and the coast and are big enough to have lunch for 8 people on, as well as being sun-traps.

The rooms have been lightly renovated, but there are some cracks and chips and mouldy grout, mostly in the bathrooms. Paintwork is fading in one or two places. There is evidence of storm damage on one end of the building side windows, which are two of the premiere rooms, and the person who designed it didn't think of how he was going to clean the outside of the side windows! The above, though, is quite common in other than the most fastidious 5 star hotels in the Philippines and will not affect your pictures, enjoyment or relaxation.

That said, the rooms balance out with the size and aspect and they are clean and the sheets are fresh. The cable-tv works. The beds are great, so If you are a couple, book the premiere room with a 6 foot canopied bed only and the cocktails on the balcony from room service are pretty good. The beds do look cool. It is a romantic hotel.

If you have kids there is a 6 foot bed in all rooms but the superior rooms have an extra single bed, but they will add another single bed to suit. The huge rooms will absorb this extra bed. The water, after running for 5 minutes, is actually hot, unlike some places, where it is warmed by the sun. There is a waterfall and a fish pond by the unique stair-case and some caged birds. The lobby is cooled by sea-breezes.

The most memorable part of the hotel is the pool and garden area. It is really interesting and well-designed, you will take lots of pictures from different angles. The water is immaculately clean and safe, my children drank enough of it. ( They also clamoured to go back and swim in the pool after being in the beautiful clear seas at White Beach ). There are steps down to the sea when you pick up a boat trip and the views of the sea are great.

The set breakfast is great. it would be nice if it were a buffet, but it is well cooked and uses fresh food. When you go to White Beach, you will see that the standard of the Villas food is above most establishments, with little flourishes. Prices are slightly lower than town as well, but all Boracay is about 30% higher than provincial areas of the Phils. Breakfast takes a while to get after ordering, but this should be reassuring, since it is cooked rather than reheated, so time it well with the departure of the 2 hourly free shuttle at 10am. However, you can book the shuttle for trips for 300 pesos to take you anywhere anytime it is not used for the shuttle pick-ups.

You actually get a free 30 min massage for every guest with no hassle or obligation. We met loads of guests who had gone back many times to the massage area by the pool because of the low cost, the quality, privacy and convenience.

The staff are great. They are very welcoming, smiley, friendly and, trust me, when they say they will do something, it will be done, even if you have experienced the opposite in other places.

Attached "real" photos, no angles or tinting, taken with a camera phone. Forgot to photograph the rooms though. Will add to photos in a couple of weeks, after our next visit.

You are ten minutes drive from White Beach, but what is the difference? Peace and Serenity is the difference, with White Beach an easy 10 min free shuttle away. (The other resorts we saw on the beach didn't have the tranquility and privacy we had, with their pools open to the White Beach footpath and their pool areas a thoroughfare for arriving and departing guests).

We will be going back very soon, being quite local. We did not even think of trying to book a different hotel, because Lorenzo Grand Villas is already a home from home and we will feel welcome there.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank BuggyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2006

If your looking for a paradise go to Boracay and stay at the Lorenzo Grand Villa. You won't be dissappointed. The room,the service,the service and the food are excelent. Me and my family were very impressed by the size of the balcony and facing the sea. That's what I call " A ROOM WITH A VIEW".

The transport to the centrum was very good. The personnel are very nice. Our two week stay there was really fantastic. And now we are planning to visit Boracay again and of course stay at the Lorenzo Grand Villa. I hope they keep the same good standard they have. Mabuhay!!!

Stayed: March 2006
8  Thank pinoy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews