We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kawayanan Resort
Nearby Hotels
Empire Suites Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tia Mers Guest House(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Holiday Suites(Puerto Princesa)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Tree Garden Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

By the Bay Jacana Bed and Breakfast(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$17/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tree House Inn(Puerto Princesa)
US$37
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$169
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
37
38
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
38
13
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Although it's hours away from many of Palawan's main scenic spots, this resort is one peaceful and quiet place where you can just relax from all the day's traveling. Eating at the nipa huts lined outside the cabins is a great experience, but one tip is to bring a mosquito repellant. Swimming and playing at the pool with friends and/or family makes the experience fun too. All the staff are very courteous and will greet you with a smile everytime you cross paths with them. They will also promptly attend to your needs if there's any problem. Ma'am Mary Rose will be there to greet you when you arrive and will tell you a lot about the history of the place and Palawan itself. She'll make sure that you know a lot already even before you start your first tour.

One of the problems we had was the extremely slow internet. It's an issue because we need to access the internet to check our business and to do work. Our last two days there we didn't even get to access the internet because they had a problem with the signal I think. They tried resetting the modem and the router but to no avail.

But all in all, it was a pleasant stay. Had fun swimming while it was raining hard! Ate at one of the nipa huts and the service was fast unlike what the other reviewer said. The food was also great and affordable. The rooms were comfortable and cool.

Thanks Kawayanan! Highly recommended people!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Resort is great. Rooms and pool facilities are as pictured.

However, every meal we had here included at a minimum a 45 minute wait for any food. I've never seen anything like it. This property is also located way off the main road, so anytime you'd like to leave the property, you need to arrange transportation with the front desk. Also keep in mind there are no closets or dressers in these rooms, so you'll be working out of your luggage the whole time you're here.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Drewdini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

we stayed in Kawayanan resort first week of May. first, the owner welcomed us and orientated us about the place,points of interests and booked us to some popular restaurants. they have a welcome drink. all the staff are really helpful, polite and informative. they make sure each cottages have mosquito repellant in the veranda in the evening. the swimming pool is a good size and clean. a dip in the pool is a plus after a hot day tour. the place is quite as its tucked away from the hussle and bussle of the city but also still within reach with tricycle 10 pesos per person during daytime--a lot expensive at night time.the owner had bid us goodbye on our way to the airport.
room for imrpovements: the rooms especially the family cottages needs to have a cabinet or atleast some hooks to hang the clothes up. as all clothes were kept in our bag through out our stay. we complained about the blocked sink in the toilet but we think nothing has been done about it during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank silhouette_0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

stayed in Kawayanan May 23-24 2012...the place was great...peaceful surroundings, neat villas, staff were all efficient and the owner, Ma'm Rose...gee, very accommodating...the food were great and neatly prepared too...rates are reasonable enough...a dip in the pool was even invigorating at the start and end of the day...thank you so much for everything....hope to see you again..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimsor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Booking:
Very fast and efficient. Ms. Mary Rose (manager) promptly replies to all emails & queries. Once I emailed the scanned copy of the deposit slip, my booking has been confirmed.
The booking comes with free RT airport transfers which is very convenient. Check-in time is around 2pm but they accommodated us for early check-in. We availed of the family cottage (Dahlia) and it has 2 air-conditioned bedrooms. The living room is provided with TV and Mini-Ref. The toilet and bath is clean, there is hot water available anytime. Water pressure is ok. As it was “kubo type”, I was expecting the “filipiniana” theme to extend to bathroom, but there was no pail and tabo. Towels, shampoo, soap and tissue roll are provided. Accommodation comes with free daily breakfast. The staff will already get your order the night before so that once you seat yourself in the restaurant; the food will be available after a few minutes.

Facilities: Pool is clean and with depth of 3 to 5 feet. There is restaurant, a videoke within the restaurant, one billiard table (near our cottage).

Areas for improvement: 1. Prepare cash as they will charge additional 6% for credit card transactions (which is illegal, btw) 2. There is no closet inside the bedroom, no space where to hang your clothes. There is a table of sorts where you can put your bag (so all your clothes are inside the bag). 3. For those who will be availing of the Day Tour: the shower area near the pool needs drastic improvement. There is only 1 working shower and 1 faucet, when it seems the shower area is for use of 3-4 pax at a time. 4. We rented the family room but we were only provided with 1 glass, while other rooms (good for 3) have two glasses.

Note:
1. Bring mosquito repellant. Once I entered the PPC Airport, I noticed that there are lots of mosquitoes. Even inside fastfood shops, there are mosquitoes. The resort puts mosquito coil outside the cottage.
2. Book for the Underground River Tour with the resort at least a month in advance because permits are not easy to get. But DIY the City Tour and Honda Bay Tour. Instead of spending P600/pax and P1,100/pax respectively, you can lessen your cost/head if you do the tour on your own. For example, renting a van for the city tour is P1,500 which is good for 5 hrs compared to the organized tour of 4 hrs (at 4 pax, we spent P2,400). Savings of P900 which you can already use for pasalubong. Honda bay tour for 4 pax is P4,400, whereas DIY will cost you P1,500 for the van (drop off and pick-up) and P,1500 for the boat (good for 6). Total of P3,000 only, with savings of P1,400 which you can spend for your lunch. Besides, you'll get to control the time spent in each sites unlike booking the tours with resort and they will lump you with their other guests. It was a hassle sharing a van and boat with people you don't know and you have to be mindful of the time you spent on each site.

Positive tone: Kawayanan Resort has friendly and accommodating people, from the manager down to the housekeeping staff, drivers even the freelance tour guide that they hire. The resort is located quite far from the airport so you won't hear the take-off and landing of planes, unlike the inns or lodging near the city proper. The place is quite restful.

While there are areas for improvement, the good outweighs the bad and I will definitely go back here in case I'll be in PPC again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant/dining area are duplex-type and near the dining area where the videoke is located. Family cottages are stand-alone or single-detached.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traversata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews