We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
97
55
28
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
55
28
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no alcohol speed boat mountain villa evening buffet steamed vegetables religious beliefs entire life lagoon tour leave early in the morning kayaks provided secluded island shell necklace american food small gym exceptional staff main island spotty wifi
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I spent 6 nights in that resort and I really think it was a very bad investment I ever done!
Only 9 umbrellas available for the guests ( the resort have 50 rooms !) The beach is very tiny.
All the management is very un-professional. They only care every day to earn money instead of taking care of their guests. (very typical of Asian culture...) All the luxury resorts are always managed by foreigners except this one...
The quality of food was terrible, similar as a fast food restaurant but priced as if it was a gastronomic restaurant!
Even the breakfast was so cheap and ridiculous! No fresh juices and very poor and limited selection!
The main pool is very small and no sun bed around the pool. They allow kids playing inside the pool with soccer ball!
Some guests ( including kids) use the pool wearing their garments!
The staffs are very nice but not at all experienced. ( service could be very slow)
I spent the first night in a room who was supposed to have a forest view but mine had a building construction view!
They agreed after long negotiation to move to another upgraded room but to reach that nice room I had to climb 230 stairs every time! You have to be in a very good shape to reach your room ! ( I had a surgery to my leg...)
The proposed excursion are very expensive too! ( 3 to 4 times more expensive than what you can find in the main island ) and as there was not enough guests subscription, no other option than to book prive tour!
One positive thing is the snorkelling very nice just in front of the beach.
This stay was a waste of money every day I spent there...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Do not book this hotel. Staffs are rude, food is bad and prizes way to high. You will just be disappointed once you saw the hotel. Go to coron instead, all island hopping are all the same. Avoid stress and do not book this matinloc resort

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank zeth251998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

The resort is have amazing view. The sea just in front of u. They have 2 swimming pool. The room is nice. The staff is so caring about u always nice n stay professional. They pick u up from the airport they make sure about ur food allergic while u are there. They also provide kayak and snorkelling equipment so need to bring yours. But they still need to improved on their food n how to cook it. But still can excepted. Is really great resort

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Layla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Talk about exclusive! Literally the only resort on Matinloc Island. Speedboat gets you there in about 15mins from the port - a shout out to Ronald, who was our transfer guide, as well as the guide on our Lagoon Island Hopping tour (a must do)
Excellent private beach, with free kayaking and snorkeling available to guests. Rooms were gorgeous.
A couple of things that didn't quite meet criteria (considering you're paying in excess of AUS$700 per night)..Gym facilities are less than bare minimum, only offering dumbbells, a treadmill and a recumbent bike.
Also, the restaurant is a little limiting, sometimes out of stock of certain menu items for days at a time.
Also, NO alcohol is served at this resort or it's surrounds at all. You are however, allowed to buy alcohol at the port in El Nido to bring back with you. They keep it for you in their fridges, and serve it to you in the restaurant when you request it.
The view, the peaceful surroundings and the friendly staff make up for any of the negatives.
Just beautiful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALoBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Very nice resort. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Glad we brought along wine to have with dinner but sure missed having those umbrella drinks at the beach! Some minor mishaps during meals (forgetting to bring napkins, serving pizza dough instead of bread). Otherwise, would go back again.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews