We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are in middle of paradise...with some minor annoyances”
Review of Vellago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vellago Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Just spent 6 nights at this beautiful resort.

(For those reading this review, let me say that my wife & I are very picky & prissy Filipino/Americans so please be forewarned)

I can totally recommend Vellago to those who are already considering it. The location is breathtaking & beautiful. The resort is actually situated on one of Tour A's stops, 7 Commando Beach so you know it's a beautiful place.

Here is my readers digest version.

Pros:

Staff was great. Marie is the Manager & very friendly & really works hard to make sure you are happy. The entire staff was always open to any requests & were great our whole stay.

It was awesome that there are only 4 rooms so the entire staff is totally dedicated to you 4.

An incredible location. One that any person who sees the pics would love to stay.

Snorkeling right off beach was really nice too. Didn't compare to Tour C snorkeling, but having that coral 30 meters out was awesome!

Our Tours A & C were set up by Marie & the vendor was outstanding. We had the same crew, headed by Elmar, on both tours. HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU HAVE A PRIVATE BOAT. TRUST ME ON THIS ONE!

Picked up on shore at La Plage as they were waiting for us even though we were a little late. This was really important as we didn't have a clue after arriving after a grueling 7 hour van trip from Puerto Princesa. (We had to use Miroju...Daytripper was sold out...)

Cons:

No electricity from 6am - 6pm. This only caused us a problem when we got back from the tours by 3 pm. We were both tired & it's too hot to go to room. We don't drink so Bar wasn't our thing. So we waited around till electricity kicked on. Will make you really appreciate electricity!

This is the main reason for the 4 stars.

You will notice when the AC cuts off at 6 am though.

Bugs - I know, we are in the middle of a deserted tropical area. Just saying, be forewarned. Ants, mosquitoes, flies, moths are sharing the space with you. We used the mosquito net every night. (Not a lot of bugs in room, but they're sneaky little guys)

We are City dwellers, not used to this environment.

No Sprite or 7-up!!! - just Coke & Coke Lite....okay, I'm being really nit picky, but having a little more variety in soft drinks would have been lovely

Food: It was good. We mainly ate in our room. We had dinner on beach one night which was great! But weather prohibited more of that.

So overall, I highly recommend Vellago if you get the chance. We feel very fortunate to have stayed here. We know we are blessed to afford this luxury. In our younger days, we probably would not have minded the inconveniences, but as we age, we become used to a certain level of comfort.

When the Tour A bankas dock, you have loads of visitors taking photos of your balcony wishing they could stay there. We saw the other places in town to stay; nothing even close to Vellago.

You could be honestly staying at one of the most beautiful areas in the world, (small Lagoon on Tour A was just incredible)...just know it has some small peccadilloes attached.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank cdrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Location is beautiful. Service is great and also the rooms are great with a view you thought you would see only in your dreams. Really a paradise and worthwhile to stay here for couple of nights to relax and snorkeling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Olivier v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The staff were very helpful during our stay, however, the hotel failed to communicate with us that they did not have a card machine for additional payments for the bill. This meant a daily visit to the mainland by boat - Not ideal. The max cash withdrawal was 10,000 peso so multiple trips were required.

They had building work going on - It was very loud. Again this was not communicated with us.

They had no toilet facilities by the beach/bar/restaurant which meant all visitors had to walk back to their rooms everytime we needed the bathroom. Being pregnant this was very frustrating for me.

The kitchen was not able to offer the entire menu. More often than not the menu was very limited. Unfortunately, the food was nothing to be desired I would highly recommend the hotel to gain a qualified chef that can prepare a continental menu for his/her guests. Our breakfast orders were incorrect all but one day of our stay.

The shower water was very salty.

On a more positive note, I believe the hotel will eventually be one of the best in El Nido but it is definitely work in progress.

The views were beautiful and the staff were helpful.

The rooms are pretty and comfortable but not as private as I was expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deepgreen69, Owner at Vellago Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for taking your time writing your review. It seems there were a couple things not in place during your stay.

We normally inform our guest prior arrival that we don't have a credit card machine and only accept cash in Pesos, USD and Euros. There is, however, also the possibility to pay with Paypal with an active account. There are 4,5% Paypal fees.

We indeed never anticipated that putting walls on an existing building can take 10 months, else, we certainly would have communicated it.

We aim to offer the entire menu every day. Unfortunately, we don't succeed all the time. The local market has it's limitation which means, we often have to get the supply from Puerto Princesa (5h drive) or alternatively from Manila which results in, that here and then will be limitations and delays of deliveries.

Lastly, regarding the salty water taste. We finally received our repaired Desalination system back and in the same time, bought a back up system which runs now since 3 weeks perfectly.

We hope despite the few negative points you experienced, that the good memories will remain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

There are places on earth where everything comes together to create a perfect environment for a specific purpose. When it comes to enology -the study of wine and wine making-Napa Valley and the surrounding area is such a place.

San Francisco is where we landed and spent three amazing days where from we drove an hour or so north over the Golden Gate Bridge to Napa. The drive was spectacular. Soon we found ourselves in Napa and the drive became more spectacular. The drive north in the valley from Napa the city towards the city of Calistoga you are surrounded by mountains formed by volcanic action ( now dormant)to the east and mountains formed by the American and pacific tectonic plates crashing into each other to the west. As such, geology has been kind creating the majority of known soil types in the valley. This combined with optimum weather conditions ( large swings in temperature with sunny and hot daytimes and cool with plenty of fog in the evenings) created perfect micro environments to grow all types of grape varietals. Here we were viewing one after another beautiful vineyards both down in the valley and on the mountains and hillsides as far as the eye could see. Breathtaking to say the least.

Our destination was the town of Yountville where we stayed at the lovely Vellagio/Vintage resort/spa. Strategically located about half between Napa city and Calistoga. In this small town are a collection of some of the best restaurants in the valley. French Laundry, Bottega, Bistro Jeanty, Redd, Ad Hoc, Bouchon to name a view. There are countless fine restaurants throughout Napa Valley and Sonoma to choose from. There are also local causal places like Gots Hamburgers or Busters Barbecue or Ciccio's pizza not to miss.

We stayed in the valley four days. The first two days we did wine tasting tours with the excellent Platypus tours ( not necessary you could select wineries and tour yourself but first visit I suggest you use a tour guide or company ). Our favorite was the Hans Fahden Winery all the way up the valley past Calistoga. But we visited about twelve wineries and they were all interesting. There are hundreds and hundreds of Vineyards to choose that is why on your first visit consult a guide.

The last day we selected and visited and tasted wine on our own. Then we drove down to Napa on our way back to San Fran and stopped at the Oxbow Market Hog Island Oyster Company to cap off an amazing vacation.

The world was given a gift when it comes to enology that gift is Napa. Enjoy!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the resort with a boat, the staff welcomed us with two delicious cocktails and lots of smiles. We were briefed about the place and it's attractions by one of the staff members. Next we were shown to our (perfect) room overlooking the amazing blue waters. We spent 4 days and 3 nights in the resort.

The resort is a 10 min ride by boat from El Nido town, the ride to and from the airport is free of charge. The resort is on a private beach on the Seven Commando Island. There is a restaurant and bar on the beach, we ate every night in the restaurant and there are a lot of choices of dishes in the menu. Moreover, the staff changes the scenery come dawn, from sun beds during the day, the staff places tables and candles for the guests to have dinner at.
Between 6am to 6pm there is no electricity but being the iPhone addict that we are it actually made us enjoy the stay even more! We bearly stayed in the room during the day.
To go to El Nido town we had to take a boat, there is a boat on the private beach available at all times, you just need to make sure to tell the captain when you want to come back to the island.

We wanted to say Thank You to the wonderful staff at the resort, you were incredibly kind, the service was amazing and every day was a new and great surprise. We would recommend this resort for every couple looking for privacy and serenity together with great atmosphere and service!

One con we experienced in the resort: there were a few things from the menu that were missing but fast enough did we learn that this situation happens in a lot of Philippine restaurants, it certainly did not ruin our stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
9.6 km away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
145 reviews
25.2 km away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
246 reviews
2.4 km away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
70 reviews
10 km away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
128 reviews
9 km away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vellago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vellago Resort

Address: Seven Commando Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: €338 - €483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vellago Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vellago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vellago Resort El Nido, Philippines - Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing