We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agbing Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Answer Hotel(Puerto Galera)
US$21
US$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Steps Garden Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$58
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sabang Oasis Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Papa Fred's Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Amami Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angelyn's Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
11
25
14
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
25
14
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Nice hotel okay friendly kind staff always Ready to help us,in the Heart of Sabang nice view of The location maybe the hotel need to renewal a lot we spend Just one night here But why not maybe we came Back

Room Tip: Upper room's
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We booked 3 rooms Cause there are 7 of us.
We stayed at this hotel for our diving vacation.
The room are clean and big enough for us!
The most amazing thing is the king bed.
I love the bed so much that I don't even want to wake!
The staffs are polite and helpful.
I would love to visit again when I go to Sabang!

Room Tip: There are some rooms by the pool side!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Massive mediaeval looking room with olde world furniture and four-poster beds but fixtures and fittings questionable....huge explosion as maintenance chap fiddled with chandelier - sparks all over. The next chap on the scene electrocuted himself. We found the beautiful jacuzzi wasn't functional - no taps. As for the door lock....well we couldn't open or lock it. The place is old and sick of the palsy, but looks fabulous and imposing. Did anybody suggest they could assist with the issues rather than simply a refund for our 2nd night - NO. Of course not....this is the Philippines. Not their business to worry.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Right in the heart of Puerto Galera, and literally close by from when you get off the boat from Manila. Rustic Castle look with marble bath tubs and showers. It is the Philippines with a hot climate so expect to catch a few insects, once in a while although the staff does well maintaining and keeping the rooms clean and bug free as possible. Paul, the owner did a fantastic job lining up transportation to and from the airport with a very hospitable man named Ed (high recommended, a true go getter)

The hotel may claim that they can not take credit cards because their machine is down, but insist that you don't have cash and all of a sudden they will be sure to accept it, as it's better than nothing right?

The breakfast they provide is very traditional, and it is worth it for the complimentary start to your day. Wifi is only good in the lobby, but at least its accessible there. For the price its worth the experience, but don't expect the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltosucceed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I have stayed at Tropicana a few times starting in 2007, my most recent and last stay being Aug 2016. The most intriguing aspect is the architecture, which looks like a castle. The antique-looking wood furniture and marble tiles and all-marble bathroom are beautiful as well. However, the experience was terrible. I attempted to book on Tropicana's website, which hasn't been updated since 2014, but I never got a reply. Upon arrival, the room wasn't ready, and when we were told it was ready, the maids were still cleaning it, but it wasn't clean. The floor was dirty, the bed sheet smelled like mildew, the bathtub's faucet was removed (it was unusable), the refrigerator didn't work, but worst of all, there was a used condom wrapper on the floor. The maids didn't offer any solution to the refrigerator and the lady working the front desk was unfriendly. My kids were swimming in the pool for 20 minutes with numerous staff walking past them, until I saw the sign "pool closed for maintenance," without advising when it would reopen. The front desk didn't advise us of this either. We had originally planned to stay 8 nights, but stayed only 1 night and gladly found a cleaner, more friendly hotel across the street in The Mermaid. The sad thing is, Tropicana used to be a good place to stay. The castle, architecture and marble everywhere gives it great potential, but without proper management or professional staff, it's doomed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kent1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews