We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kalaw's Place
Nearby Hotels
Badladz Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Badladz Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lalaguna Villas(Puerto Galera)
US$86
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oceana Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$54
US$46
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandi Divers(Puerto Galera)
US$58
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Papa Fred's Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Montani Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Out of the Blue Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Steps Garden Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
6
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housemosquito netmuelle pierwhite beachmangroveslotioncovemalawidockmosquitoestricyclesteps
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My boyfriend and I rented room #10: a nice room with a beautiful balcony, though the bathroom that could use improvement. We did have a good rest though --clean sheets, comfortable bed and pillows. Kalaw also provided anti-mosquito coils, which were useful in keeping the mosquitoes away at night. We however awoke to the sound of chainsaws nearby, after which I saw my silicone basting brush (for grilling / cooking) and a bag with mouse/rat bite marks on it. It was really disturbing, and also strange, as it turned out they ate through 3 layers of plastic in the bag to get to the rice, only for it to be ignored in favor of the said brush. We then called Miss Rose, the owner of Kalaw for assistance, and she was kind enough to sew the hole in the bag, and upgrade us to the Annex Room --this Spanish inspired concrete room overlooking the sea.

The Annex room was beautiful. The fridge had an open wire which grounded my boyfriend when he wasn't wearing slippers, and the bed was not as comfortable as the one in room 10, but the bathroom, balcony, flooring, view --- loved it. It would have been totally relaxing if not for the appearance of a big gecko (about 5 inches long) and spider (about 4 inches in diameter), which my boyfriend was kind enough to capture and release back to the forest. Maybe better if they had screens on the windows/doors? Either way, it's an acceptable price to pay for the clean cove (though the sand is quite mushy, being close to mangroves), wonderful tall trees, colorful flowers, fresh air, and the more beautiful creatures that exist in abundant greenery such as butterflies, fireflies, birds, etc. The stars were also super visible and bright at night!

Tips: bring anti-mosquito lotion, flashlights/s, pocket chargers, food to cook (they have a fridge and cooking equipment), prepare yourself for creepy crawlies

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kamums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

You can reach their place via a tricycle ride from Muelle pier. Tricycle drivers are familiar with their place. The place is far from the noise and lively activities of white beach. I suggest that you bring in foods and drinks already. There are no nearby stores in the area....although you can order food from them but you have to coordinate it w/ them ahead. The place is quiet and you can really feel that you are vacationing in the province. You will even be awaken in the morning by the sound of birds chirping or you'll probably have a rooster as alarm clock =) It is a big old house in which rooms has big windows and wooden beds. They don't have an aircon but don't worry, they provide electric fans and mosquito net. You will surely have a bonding time with the people you'll come with since they also don't have tv and computers so, you can have all the time in the world to spend time with them and laugh. You will have a diff experience when you come to Kalaw Place....a tranquil and quiet experience.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bhel17g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I fell in love with this place the moment I step right into its door step.

It is very peaceful. Very relaxing. The staff Ate Grace and Ate ( oh my sorry I forgot her name ) was very accommodating.

There is no TV here but that is not an issue with us. We call this the perfect opportunity to bond with our family members.

They have a WIFI though. :)

The resort is off the road so make sure that once you arrive from Muelle Pier ask a tricycle driver if he can take you the Poblacion public market for you to buy all the food/supplies that you need. Do this in one go. It will save you time and fare as well.

Please remember that the resort does not have a 24hrs, restaurant and public transport like tricycle,it can be a problem to obtain.Grace can help you with this or if you want you can ask the tricycle driver that drop off the resort on your first day for their number so they can fetch you if you need to go somewhere.

Going to white beach is 500 pesos two way per tricycle for 5 people. White beach is a 7km ride from the hotel. Going to tamaraw falls is 15km. we pay them 1000 pesos two way again for a tricycle of 5 people as passengers. You can barter but pls. be generous as well. :)

We booked rooms 1 and 7 since we are a family of 10. Room 1 does not have any screened windows so make sure you bring with you off lotion or mosquito patch. They don't have Air Conditioning but will provide mosquito net and electric fan.

Room7 has a screened windows and a kitchen. It was perfect for our family since we cook all our meals. You can ask the staff to cook for you but inform them in advance. :) Please take note that said room is on the second floor of the main house.

They don't have a beach front but they have a lagoon. :) It need's a lot of leg work from our rooms (Main House) to this place but no problem with us. The scenery is so peaceful. They have a common house as we call them near the lagoon. They can let you borrow kayaks, table tennis racket set. You can also grill. They have sink that you can use and toilets off course! Please don't forget anything that you might be needing coz it's a long walk up. And yes if you want to have dinner there don't forget mosquito repellents. There are lights going to the lagoon so don't worry.

We love the place! We love the ambiance. Very quiet!

We will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eteng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

My 3 friends and I stayed in Kalaw for 3 nights during the peak of Holy Week because we had to cover Malasimbo music fest. Our room has enough beds for 4 pax, and it comes with a small kitchen and a lovely view of the sea. I love the huge bathroom setup and the view as well. The room itself is generally clean and there's no air con. The room comes with one standing fan and we requested for another fan the next night because it can get quite hot even with all the doors and windows open. Not too forget, the frequent mosquitoes visits as well. The journey to Puerto Galera was tough as we had heavy luggage with us. Firstly we had to go via land, (you can take a bus for about 200 pesos to Batangas pier), we took private van that brought us to a different pier because it's a private chartered transportation (we shared the cost with others who are also staying in Kalaw), we also chartered the boat that took us directly to Kalaw's Place pier instead of Muelle pier, which is the normal public pier. Because we had a lot of luggage and heavy ones, the steps climbing up to our rooms was quite a challenge. (Your experience would be slightly different from ours if you come from Muelle pier) I do advise you guys to head to the nearest town and get food supply one shot and cook in your room, especially for breakfast. There's nothing much in the nearest town but you can get supplies from the only supermarket there, and tricycle is the only way out from Kalaw. I'd imagine it would be a romantic place for couples to chill at and of course family as well. There's no beach but you can chill by the pier and swim in the sea. Kalaw place sells beer but not water, so don't forget to stock up on water supplies unless you don't mind boiling water from the tap. (the water comes from the mountain)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Nestled on a hilltop, amidst a three-hectare lush grounds overlooking Puerto Galera Bay, Kalaw Place is a perfect sanctuary to momentarily escape city life, and simply enjoy the seclusion and quiet beauty of the place.

For our weekend get-away, we were given Room No. 1 at the Main House. The two-storey traditional Filipino house mainly made of bamboo, wood, rattan and nipa hut with wooden furniture, seems like a bahay kubo mansion.

The main house is surrounded with hardwood trees, palms, bamboos, anahaw, cactus, hibiscus, bougainvillea and other flowering shrubs, a sight that is so relaxing and pleasing to the eyes.

One of the kind caretakers, Ate Grace showed us the annex building where the much coveted Room No. 3 is located. The rooms in this three-storey house offer an unobstructed and stunning view of the Palangan Bay, Boquete Island and nearby beaches.

Since our room comes with a kitchenette, we opted to cook our meals from breakfast to dinner. We just went to the market, a five-minute tricycle drive from the resort, to buy seafood, meat, canned goods, vegetables, fruits, kutkutin and drinks.

Though Kalaw Place doesn’t boast of a white-sand beach, it has its own little cove (lined with thick mangroves) and private lagoon, which is also suitable for swimming, sun-bathing and kayaking.

Kalaw Place is truly a safe haven for reflection, romance, and maybe moving on. And even if we haven’t left the place yet, deep inside, I miss it already.

Room Tip: If you want a killer view of the sea and hills, get Room No. 3 or 4
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frencel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews