We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Angelyn's Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$46
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Amami Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabang Oasis Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Answer Hotel(Puerto Galera)
US$21
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
Papa Fred's Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$57
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartelle de Francesca(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agbing Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Steps Garden Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
7
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housemosquito netmuelle pierwhite beachlotioncovemangrovesmalawidockmosquitoestricyclesteps
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

You can reach their place via a tricycle ride from Muelle pier. Tricycle drivers are familiar with their place. The place is far from the noise and lively activities of white beach. I suggest that you bring in foods and drinks already. There are no nearby stores in the area....although you can order food from them but you have to coordinate it w/ them ahead. The place is quiet and you can really feel that you are vacationing in the province. You will even be awaken in the morning by the sound of birds chirping or you'll probably have a rooster as alarm clock =) It is a big old house in which rooms has big windows and wooden beds. They don't have an aircon but don't worry, they provide electric fans and mosquito net. You will surely have a bonding time with the people you'll come with since they also don't have tv and computers so, you can have all the time in the world to spend time with them and laugh. You will have a diff experience when you come to Kalaw Place....a tranquil and quiet experience.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bhel17g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I fell in love with this place the moment I step right into its door step.

It is very peaceful. Very relaxing. The staff Ate Grace and Ate ( oh my sorry I forgot her name ) was very accommodating.

There is no TV here but that is not an issue with us. We call this the perfect opportunity to bond with our family members.

They have a WIFI though. :)

The resort is off the road so make sure that once you arrive from Muelle Pier ask a tricycle driver if he can take you the Poblacion public market for you to buy all the food/supplies that you need. Do this in one go. It will save you time and fare as well.

Please remember that the resort does not have a 24hrs, restaurant and public transport like tricycle,it can be a problem to obtain.Grace can help you with this or if you want you can ask the tricycle driver that drop off the resort on your first day for their number so they can fetch you if you need to go somewhere.

Going to white beach is 500 pesos two way per tricycle for 5 people. White beach is a 7km ride from the hotel. Going to tamaraw falls is 15km. we pay them 1000 pesos two way again for a tricycle of 5 people as passengers. You can barter but pls. be generous as well. :)

We booked rooms 1 and 7 since we are a family of 10. Room 1 does not have any screened windows so make sure you bring with you off lotion or mosquito patch. They don't have Air Conditioning but will provide mosquito net and electric fan.

Room7 has a screened windows and a kitchen. It was perfect for our family since we cook all our meals. You can ask the staff to cook for you but inform them in advance. :) Please take note that said room is on the second floor of the main house.

They don't have a beach front but they have a lagoon. :) It need's a lot of leg work from our rooms (Main House) to this place but no problem with us. The scenery is so peaceful. They have a common house as we call them near the lagoon. They can let you borrow kayaks, table tennis racket set. You can also grill. They have sink that you can use and toilets off course! Please don't forget anything that you might be needing coz it's a long walk up. And yes if you want to have dinner there don't forget mosquito repellents. There are lights going to the lagoon so don't worry.

We love the place! We love the ambiance. Very quiet!

We will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eteng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

My 3 friends and I stayed in Kalaw for 3 nights during the peak of Holy Week because we had to cover Malasimbo music fest. Our room has enough beds for 4 pax, and it comes with a small kitchen and a lovely view of the sea. I love the huge bathroom setup and the view as well. The room itself is generally clean and there's no air con. The room comes with one standing fan and we requested for another fan the next night because it can get quite hot even with all the doors and windows open. Not too forget, the frequent mosquitoes visits as well. The journey to Puerto Galera was tough as we had heavy luggage with us. Firstly we had to go via land, (you can take a bus for about 200 pesos to Batangas pier), we took private van that brought us to a different pier because it's a private chartered transportation (we shared the cost with others who are also staying in Kalaw), we also chartered the boat that took us directly to Kalaw's Place pier instead of Muelle pier, which is the normal public pier. Because we had a lot of luggage and heavy ones, the steps climbing up to our rooms was quite a challenge. (Your experience would be slightly different from ours if you come from Muelle pier) I do advise you guys to head to the nearest town and get food supply one shot and cook in your room, especially for breakfast. There's nothing much in the nearest town but you can get supplies from the only supermarket there, and tricycle is the only way out from Kalaw. I'd imagine it would be a romantic place for couples to chill at and of course family as well. There's no beach but you can chill by the pier and swim in the sea. Kalaw place sells beer but not water, so don't forget to stock up on water supplies unless you don't mind boiling water from the tap. (the water comes from the mountain)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Nestled on a hilltop, amidst a three-hectare lush grounds overlooking Puerto Galera Bay, Kalaw Place is a perfect sanctuary to momentarily escape city life, and simply enjoy the seclusion and quiet beauty of the place.

For our weekend get-away, we were given Room No. 1 at the Main House. The two-storey traditional Filipino house mainly made of bamboo, wood, rattan and nipa hut with wooden furniture, seems like a bahay kubo mansion.

The main house is surrounded with hardwood trees, palms, bamboos, anahaw, cactus, hibiscus, bougainvillea and other flowering shrubs, a sight that is so relaxing and pleasing to the eyes.

One of the kind caretakers, Ate Grace showed us the annex building where the much coveted Room No. 3 is located. The rooms in this three-storey house offer an unobstructed and stunning view of the Palangan Bay, Boquete Island and nearby beaches.

Since our room comes with a kitchenette, we opted to cook our meals from breakfast to dinner. We just went to the market, a five-minute tricycle drive from the resort, to buy seafood, meat, canned goods, vegetables, fruits, kutkutin and drinks.

Though Kalaw Place doesn’t boast of a white-sand beach, it has its own little cove (lined with thick mangroves) and private lagoon, which is also suitable for swimming, sun-bathing and kayaking.

Kalaw Place is truly a safe haven for reflection, romance, and maybe moving on. And even if we haven’t left the place yet, deep inside, I miss it already.

Room Tip: If you want a killer view of the sea and hills, get Room No. 3 or 4
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frencel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I just got back from Kalaw Place a couple of hours ago and miss it already. It may be true that it isn't for everyone, but I think everyone should give it a try.

First things first, let me get these out of the way:
If you're looking for a 5-star resort - this isn't it
If you're looking for night life (i.e. bars and restaurants or clubs nearby) - you won't see it here too.
If you're looking for sitting on the beach and doing some people watching and posing - this isn't the place.

What Kalaw Place has to offer is an experience, a chance to get away from it all and just rely on yourself or whomever you chose to come here with. Its a nice experience if you ask me, it removes the feeling of travelling with a checklist (have to do this, have to do that, have to eat here, have to go there.) which in some of my previous vacations made it feel more like work than time off.

They do not have a white sand beach (thats mentioned in their website) but there is a sitting area in front of the water and a long dock which you can use to take a swim or sun bathe. Their beach is on a cove, the water is very calm, clean and quiet.

The walk from our room to the beach was pretty lengthy, so remember to bring everything you need when you go down there to save you the exercise but the scenic route from the room to the cove is always an awe inspiring journey, its so nice that they kept the greenery pretty much untouched and just allowed to grow the way mother nature landscaped it, although I think 1 or 2 seating areas in the walkway would be a good idea for a quick stop or just suck in the beautiful greenery.

I was recommended room #4, this is on the second storey of a 3 room structure separate from the main house. It has a corner balcony where you can sit al fresco and enjoy the view. It also has a sitting area facing the windows, a kitchenette, a queen sized bed and a very very charming bathroom.

I knew there was no TV and air conditioning in the rooms (also mentioned in the site) but it was never hot and even though I expected a lot of mosquitoes since there were so many windows (the only wall without a window was the wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom) mosquitoes were never an issue and there is a mosquito net tied over the bed in case you need to use it, we never did.

The view from these rooms are beautiful, the windows behind the bed face the forest, the view from the kitchen combines scenes from the forest and a portion of the cove, from the balcony, the sitting area and the bed you will see the ocean and the other islands, which is such a nice view to end the night and start the day.

The staff, (I think I only saw 4 including the owner - Rosemarie) are very friendly and do their best to make your stay comfortable, there was a time that the internet router in my room did not work and took awhile for it to get fixed, the owner was very hands on in dealing with this and even came to me personally a couple of times to check on it herself and to let me know when it was working as for the other things they did for our stay, we were helped with right away and you can feel that they help you genuinely.

One of the biggest charms of the Kalaw Place experience is your ability to cook your own food, it may be a hassle for some to do this since their on vacation, but a 10-15 minute tricycle ride to the market leaves the creativity and bond to you and the people you came there with.

They let you borrow their kayak for free, we we're able to visit the neighbouring beaches with it, stopping in some for a couple of beers, it took us only 4 hours and tired arms.

Yes, maybe not for everyone but everyone should give it a try. Aside from the internet, you're left with the basic necessities and the people whom you chose to travel with or even just yourself. You never know, maybe something like this is what you've been needing all this time.


thank you to the people of Kalaw Place,

final thought on some travel tips:
- make sure you pack food, there is nowhere you can walk to late at night should you get hungry.
- standard tricycle rates are only Php. 10 per person, you can double that and consider it as a tip but Php. 10 per head is fine.
- San Miguel is available in Kalaw Place for Php. 50/ bottle! (I find this a good price so I asked if they can put 24 bottles in our ref)

Room Tip: Book room #4 or #3 or the room under room #4 for the best views.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews