We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
8
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute tricycle ride cool breeze muelle pier white beach malawi mosquitoes boat
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We shared a wood little house with kitchen, 3 couples
Pros:
- views from the common areas, nice private terraces
- very quiet little house or bigger building, well build, with authentic charm
- good sleep quality
- far from everything and people
- nice pontoon and canoe available with no charge
Cons:
- basic comfort
- service is not very good, not available all the time
- no restaurant, so you have to bring your own food and cook. They can cook for you but you need to tell them in advance.
- far from everything, so don't forget the salt

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

You don't have to go far to bask in nature's glory and to experience the lush green surroundings of Puerto Galera. Kalaw Place is a haven for reflection and inspiration. The hilltop view of this place is a nature lover's delight.

One of the highlights of this Inn is a private lagoon with own pier and bar where you could opt for paddle boat ride. The best way to reach it is a short journey via pump boats.

If you are looking for relaxation and tranquility. Kalaw Place is the ideal place to be in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Che-Che C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

I was thinking of a good title for this review so I brainstormed myself..."What does the place remind you?". Good old days it is!

We came to the place by boat and went uphill from the cute pier that Kalaw has. The place is quiet and peaceful. A friendly staff guided us to our room and explained some rules. We received a call from the owner/manager Ms. Rosemarie telling us that she will drop by to give us a map of the town and explain it as well. She was a bit apologetic for not having anything for dinner. She said she thought that we are no longer interested at staying in Kalaw. To make it up, she recommended a restaurant in Muelle called Robby's Cafe. She was right, the food there was delish! :)
At night time, all you can hear is nature at it's...well, natural state :) Wind is cool, leaves, insects and animals making sounds. Really reminds me of my vacation days at my grandfather's farm.

Things to remember/do:
No TV or internet there - makes you more creative on how to kill the boredom (especially if you're the only Filipino in the pack)
Bring cards or board games or play charades to bust boredom
Bring you're own food if you gonna stay longer (it's cheaper) - I think all rooms have kitchenette
Don't forget to grill something - make use of the grill, it's fun :)
Get the room with the sleeping loft - it's cool to sleep in the loft...chill!
At night, go down at the pier and stargaze :)
Trike fare costs 10 pesos per person - for a group of four, we paid 60... a little extra is optional
On the landline phone that each room has, dial 1+'call' to reach the main house and talk to Rosemarie
You can ask for the mosquito electric killer - she lent us one. it's cool. turn off all the lights and watch all white things glow brighter (you know...UV light :D)
Quite far from town but there are places where you can eat nearby (e.g. Kurba Cafe)
Oh! The shower! Remember to turn both knobs, wait a little bit...water will become warm :) Don't panic!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacchar1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

if you are looking are solitude..this is the place to be. the place is so massive that inspite of other guests being around, I thought I had the place to myself which was an added bonus. If you are looking for luxury and a/c rooms with TV's, this is not the place for you. The wonderful owners have tried to keep this place as close to nature as possible. so be prepared for frogs, insects and geekos. they are harmless :) Rosemarie prepares food with so much care and love. Please let them know in advance if you would be having B/F or dinner with them. Thank god this place isn't commercialized.
The views are stunning, the water is safe for swimming. Exactly what I needed from the pressures of work and the craziness of manila. So thank you Kalaw's Place :)

Room Tip: all the rooms have good views and are very spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

for 2000 per night.we stayed there 2days, weekend. it was a perfect weather. i brought my dog there too (pug).
the place is family owned. HUUGGEE place. you can go there as a group with your friends, and with a family. i love the sound of the nature, the breeze is so calm, sun is not too hot because, trees are everywhere to cover the place. there is a mangrove too, we swam there at the dock. the place is sooo beauutiful, and quiet. for some people who cant appreciate the silence of the place you may feel it very creepy, haha:)) we slept so good in this place. you may wont go to somewhere, because this place is so huge that you can walk around. theres a lady who acommodate us, i think shes the incharge that time to assist us, im a pet lover, so theres a sweet german shepherd who will welcome you:) shes very friendly, but if you are afraid of dog, you can tell to the lady that you dont wanna welcome by the dog. haha:)) oh, the place is very like home, you can cook too. theres a stove, plates, tap water you can drink its clean. hot shower, you dont need AC coz its cold, theres a fan you can use. no TV. so yeah you may dont like it, but i love it. i hope they can renovate some of the place like theres a billiard room, and stage like people can use drum set and any music instrument. its just its broken you cant use it.
theres also hayak there you can use and mini banca:), tennis court, and table tennis:) so its fun!:) thank you Kalaw's place:)

Room Tip: all the rooms have balcony and you can grill so whatever room it is, its cool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbdmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews