We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Must visit this place”

Mangroves Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 95 Restaurants in Puerto Galera
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Description: At Mangroves restaurant, you can relax in a beautiful secluded mangrove bay with your loved one and friends. Our head chef Sebastian has years of international experience in UAE, Singapore, Japan working in first class resorts, a cruise ship and his last as a sous-chef in a Michelin star restaurant. We serve an international blend with a specialization in Middle Eastern, Japanese and Wagyu beef.
Restaurant details
Description: At Mangroves restaurant, you can relax in a beautiful secluded mangrove bay with your loved one and friends. Our head chef Sebastian has years of international experience in UAE, Singapore, Japan working in first class resorts, a cruise ship and his last as a sous-chef in a Michelin star restaurant. We serve an international blend with a specialization in Middle Eastern, Japanese and Wagyu beef.
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We had our sunset dinner at Mangroves Restaurant and it was nice. We ordered Steak with mashed potato and salad,it was perfect. Plus our dessert- a carrot cake with vanilla ice cream,yum! Staffs was friendly and they make sure that all guests are ok. Lovely place!
Only 5 minutes by jeepney or by trike from Sabang Beach- Tell to the driver to drop you off by Edge Water Dive Resort. Staffs will be happy to meet/ serve you.

Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Mangroves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Cherry...Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a kind review. Yes our steaks are especially tasty, Glad you enjoyed our deck; we're very proud of it. Hope you can get back for a meal and some time on our deck again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

On a dive holiday staying at Edgewater Dive & Spa Resort our post dive munchies were dealt with by a good menu in the resort restaurant, Mangroves. Having travelled and dived all over the Philippines most hotels and resorts, good, bad or mediocre, all generally fall down on the catering. It was a pleasant and welcome surprise that the chef at Mangroves ran an excellent kitchen with a well thought out and varied menu. Great house burger; lovely lamb tagine; succulent satay; extremely moreish tempura ice cream. Happy days.

1  Thank Ogiman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Mangroves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi guys...Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. We feel very fortunate to have Chef Sebastien with us. Try our sushi next time you're in town. Hope you can get back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We have had several meals here, and recommend both lunch and dinner (have not had the breakfast), and we have been impressed at the range of the food and the quality. Local food and international - its all really well prepared, very well presented and tastes delicious.The setting helps a lot as well - its the best, in our opinion, food and scenery in the area.

The chef knows how to cook steak and the local pork dishes are delicious. Not overdone, tender and flavorful. I've had salads as well and think they are as good as any I have had. I have the mango smoothies with it while my partner has beer - it all works and I would recommend the hotel as well as the restaurant as its unlike anything else in the area that we have been able to find. Thoroughly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rachrob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Mangroves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi... Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a wonderful review. We feel that we do have the best steaks in town, so glad you enjoyed them. Be sure to try our sushi and sashimi next time. Hope you can get back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Many choices of western and asian cuisine, reasonable prices for the quality of food you are getting. staff was very friendly and professional in making sure everything was okay. My favorite was the chicken and pork adobo. Definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Mangroves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

So glad you enjoyed our food Ryan. Hope to see you back on our deck again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Had the pork chops and Asian fried rice special along with some pork skewers.
Breakfast is great with nice fresh eggs.
Perfect place on the deck to enjoy a meal and a drink.

1  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Mangroves Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Leigh... Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a kind review. Glad you enjoyed our arabic skewers. Hope you can get back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangroves Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 

Been to Mangroves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing