We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sabang Oasis Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amami Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Papa Fred's Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Answer Hotel(Puerto Galera)
US$21
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
Apartelle de Francesca(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agbing Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Angelyn's Dive Resort(Puerto Galera)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Steps Garden Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
109
94
23
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
94
23
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasia diversdive operationbarrel bardive sitesrecommend elpoolside roomgreat divingpool viewdiving tripceiling fanrooms are cleanthe air conditioninglate at nightsabang pierpetegearboats
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I was one of the diver's with Bluegrass Divers. I AGREE with everything Doug said! The staff was fabuluos!!!!!!!! It was truly a memorable experience!!!!! I would recommend El Galeon to everyone headed to this island. The staff is friendly, warm and fun loving. They truly know the meaning of excellent cusstomer service!
Charla

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had this trip planned 2 years out in advance. We kept going back and forth about which island and what resort we were going to stay at. With help from Ultimate Dive Travel, we decided on El Galleon. After experiencing the resort, I am glad we chose El Galleon..The rooms were more perfect for divers. You couldn't have asked for better treatment from all involved. They made you feel like family and couldn't wait to help you if you needed them. Antoine cooked us up plenty of good food and always had a smile on his face. Cheryl the massage girl took care of all our aches and pains. Pete and Jamie with Asia Divers did more than there share to show us a good time and wonderful diving. We had a group of 16 divers and they were very good at finding all the neat little critters from Ribbon eels, frog fish, to numerous types of nudibranches. It was one of our clubs best dive trips ever..Would love to return someday. Doug w/ Bluegrass Dive Club, Lexington, KY USA

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diverboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Obviously a great dive resort but for me as a non-diver it was probably the best fun I've had on holiday with friends. Arriving with guys from Australia and Hong Kong, Alan and his team provided a high class experience. Antoine the chef produced great food and there were some interesting choices on the wine list. Loads to do around the island, we visited some stunning beaches with crystal clear water. Sundowners at the Point bar redefine the beach bar experience, with stunning ocean views and great cocktails. The staff could not have worked harder and always have a smile on their face.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Difficult to explain in a short answer. The resort might be considered a little tired and basic by some standards, however, could be the best option in the area. Rooms and public areas are clean and maintained, although certainly nothing fancy. The restaurant, as well as "The Point" bar were good. Their chef was very "hands on" with both staff and guests, and our group was happy with both quality of food and menu choices. The resort caters mainly to scuba diving activites, and the dive shop "Asia Divers" is an on-site operation, and is excellent. The resort is located at water's edge, but there is little beach. The pool is small, although adequate. The resort is within a small village. A short walk will take you to a several block area of restaurants, small shops with local goods, bars with live music, & several "honky-tonks" frequented by the local ladies. The night life was lively in what was more like an alley, than a street.

Strengths: Great people, always friendly and helpful. Always felt safe, day and night. Excellent diving operation. Great dive sites, especially Verde Island. Owners of both the resort and dive shop, as well as the restaurant chef, were very "hands-on". There was a real effort to please the guests and meet their needs.

Weakness: If you are looking for a Cancun type resort, with a beautiful white beach ... this is not it. If you are looking for "upscale" shopping ... this is not it. If you would rather not immerse yourself in the culture of the Philippine people and their economic challenges ... this is not for you.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Butchhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

the El Galleon and Asia Divers team toke care of our group of 18 divers during 2 lovely weeks, rooms are perfects, services and food are perfects, it's the best dive shop facilities that we never seeing! it was a best 2 weeks vacations that we never did!
Sincerly
Sylvie Larocque, owner of Sub Aqua Tech, St-Hubert, Quebec

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvieLarocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octopus_55_56, Guest Relations Manager at El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear Sylvie,

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you back this way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews