We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local discrimination ”
Review of Sixsenses Kitchen

Sixsenses Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 1,487 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Six Senses is a Fusion Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue from Barcelona. Understanding the cuisine by traveling arround the world and ingridients knowledge he recreate a Spanish Mediterranean Cuisine in a modern cooking method and plate presentation. Take a javanese building style combine with the White and Blue colour of Mediterranean Sea, we try to bring you feel in home with cozy ambience and homy while enjoying our gastronomy dishes. Welcome to Six Senses, Kitchen of the Senses
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I didn't expect that this restaurant is so disrespectful to local buyers. The owner who is also the chef and his wife greet the expats or foreign visitors only. They didn't even respond our greetings. Not even a single smile. The hospitality only goes to the expats especially those who are from western countries. In fact we also have money for the foods which frankly speaking the taste doesn't go anywhere. The quality of the ingredients is surely not the first quality.
I went there twice. First with my local friends and the second time I intentionally went there with my colleagues from western countries. As I predict they greeted nicely and warmly to the expats ONLY. I was invisible to them.

1  Thank Teguh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Teguh A

First We appreciate your opinion and review, but please be minded that in the date you mention of your visit, we were abroad for few weeks, and this review we respect as a freedom of voice ;)

in the way you mention about your invisibility, we will answer according our EQUAL hospitality to all of our guest and we have lots of number Indonesian Regular Guest, and our guest happily post their enjoyable visit in our Instagram @sixsensesresto

Indeed that you dissapointed with the way our food and service, we thanksfull for your feedback and this will help us doing better in maintaining to keep growing our quality standart.
We also need to inform that In the begining our waiter are well trainned to give best service we put Dine in rule in our own restaurant, including Dress up properly in dinner time, Some spots are forbiden to take a picture.

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

been reading lots of great comments about Sixsenses before going to Yogyakarta, and it is one of the best restaurant i've ever tried, even going back here twice. Had a delicious pizza, nicoise and ensalada de salmon salad for the appetizer. and for main course, tenderloin steak and lamb chop. the steak cooked perfectly as requested. the service was also excellent. even the chef came to our table to check on us. very recommended to have any special occasion here. one of the highlight of our trip to yogyakarta.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Gabriela C

Beloved Guest, It as a real pleasure to read such a positive review about Six Senses Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue.
Indeed we pay a lot of attention to every detail creating warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our Guests and were very glad that your visit to Six Senses was enjoyable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our restaurant in the nearest future!

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

recomended place for dinner.
You must try and come, the food is very amazing. Chef make all the food with all and perfection and with the good price.
Must come with your couple or with friend or with your family

Thank NailunN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Nailun N

Beloved Guest, It as a real pleasure to read such a positive review about Six Senses Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue.
Indeed we pay a lot of attention to every detail creating warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our Guests and were very glad that your visit to Six Senses was enjoyable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our restaurant in the nearest future!

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

i don't know how many times I've been here because I REALLY LOVE THIS PLACE. if you're looking for the best meat and steaks in Jogja you defo need to come here.
great place and nice staffs and also friendly chef! You'll be greeted with a warm smile from Sergio and he'll explains you everything about the food that you ordered <3

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nia Amandha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Nia Amandha D

Beloved Guest, It as a real pleasure to read such a positive review about Six Senses Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue.
Indeed we pay a lot of attention to every detail creating warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our Guests and were very glad that your visit to Six Senses was enjoyable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our restaurant ;)

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

the sixsenses is by far the no.1 western restaurant! highly recommended for food lovers! muchas gracias!

Thank bkjogja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear bkjogja

Beloved Guest, It as a real pleasure to read such a positive review about Six Senses Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue. Hope to see you again in the nearest future

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sixsenses Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sixsenses Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing