We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but need improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofyan Hotel Betawi
Ranked #298 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a wedding event at a nearby place. The hotel location is pretty strategic although it's not located in the protocol street. The room size is like budget hotel, but I don't know why it felt so small and cramped. Maybe because of the furniture. The furniture is quite old btw, started to worn out. Big dissapoinmet was there were no electric plugs by the bed side so you can not charge your gadgets while laying in bed.
The breakfast was below average for a 3 stars hotel. Not too many options and taste wise was not good enough. The quality was also pretty low. Big dissapoinmet was the milk served was not good and so watery.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and probably that was one of the good thing about the hotel. Definitely need lots of improvements. I've stayed at another syariah hotel before, and I must say the other syariah hotel was much much better. I must agree with previous comment, why name the hotel with "betawi". I didn't see any betawi culture touch in the hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank herrichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

PROS:

- Location is in the city centre, located near an elite, quiet residential area (Menteng)

- If you're a muslim and like to go to the mosque for daily prayers, the hotel is in front of a mosque

- In front of the hotel is a park (well, more of a field), there are many street cuisines there
- Polite and helpful staffs

CONS:

- There aren't many electrical plugs in the room. Especially near the bed so you have to go to the desk. In my room the electrical plugs are very loose.

- The TV is really small, there aren't entertainment channels such as HBO, etc. (i know it's a sharia hotel but i think the programs in local channels are far more degrading and stupid than what's on HBO).

- I particularly cringe when i see the bath towels, the color isn't white anymore, it's grey-ish, and the hotel should really consider replacing them because at home i don't even keep towels after they discolored like that.

- When i arrive at the hotel there's a really damp smell from the wet carpet hall (i think there have been a leak from the roof) and they didn't dry it off, they just cover it with some towels, so i had to smell the damp for two days.

- I don't see anything Betawi except the colonial-style building. If this hotel markets itself as a Betawi hotel, i suggest they really all-out with their sharia and Betawi theme, otherwise i don't see the difference.

I really recommend the hotel to do some updating on the facilities, because for the price it offers and for a 3 stars hotel you can have better.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Indira I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

That's hotel is cheaper vs location strategic. It is a good camp for training centre if you stay 1-2 months. Variety menu is good. Need for improve facility standar and service guest room.
It is also good for family packed.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank agus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel so simple
Quite clean but maybe need improvement for meubelair model.. so oldiest..

In front the hotel just walk away.. u'll find Cut Meutia Mosque.. one of heritage mosque @ Jakarta...
Near that many culinary traditional food.. hmm so delicous.. sate,nasi goreng, padang cuisine and more...

Back to hotel, this is sharia hotel model so u can take drugs,alcoholic drink,ilegal couple (lol) go inside...
No noise room so quite and peacefully

The hotel so hommy, resto so good and there are simple fitness center at top floor..

Superb Location because @ downtown..
Strategic @ Jakarta..

Enjoy Your Sharia Room...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Zoelva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel have warm environment with "Betawi" local jakarta touch culture.

Nice and warm staff at the hotel, the room is quite big for two, and price is fairly cheap with great hospitality.

The location is strategic mostly close to all mall in centre of jakarta, and museum or other jakarta icon landmark.

You can use any online transportation which is cheap or else you can take a walk for free.

Food stall also available across the hotel they are ready along the side road with many indonesian cuisine. (Satay, Fries, chicken, local soup "soto, rujak/pecel "local salad" etc.)

One of good spot relaxing after Explore jakarta!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Galih S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Whiz Hotel Cikini
Whiz Hotel Cikini
#207 of 468 in Jakarta
108 reviews
Menteng
Amazing Koetaradja Jakarta Hotel & ZenRooms
Menteng
Grand Cemara Hotel
Grand Cemara Hotel
#208 of 468 in Jakarta
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#240 of 468 in Jakarta
9 reviews
Menteng
Ibis budget Jakarta Cikini
Ibis budget Jakarta Cikini
#171 of 468 in Jakarta
184 reviews
Tebet
Sofyan Inn Tebet
Sofyan Inn Tebet
#306 of 468 in Jakarta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofyan Hotel Betawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofyan Hotel Betawi

Address: Jl. Cut Mutia 9, Menteng, Jakarta 10330, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: €21 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofyan Hotel Betawi 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a Halal Hotel concept. Stay with satisfactory services and facilities , strategic location is suitable for your leisure travelers and business people Muslims. Located in Menteng, Jakarta, is a popular choice for travelers. The excitement of the city center is only 3 KM away. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Jakarta hotel. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's fitness center, massage, garden are ideal places to relax and unwind after a busy day. Sofyan Hotel Betawi is your one-stop destination for quality hotel accommodations in Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofyan Hotel Betawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing