We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Jakarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 441 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

When I arrived at the hotel it looked much better then I expected it to be fro the website.
The entrance is nice, you go up an escalator and arrive in a big attrium where the check in and restaurant are based.

I arrived 8pm and only 2 staff attended the big check in counter. It took me about 10min to get to speak to someone before I could check in...and then I was told that I had to check in at the 14th floor.

My room was upgraded to a suite, which is always nice. The room was great and big.
Ordered room service which was fast and tasted good.

The bed and shower, 2 most important things for me in a room, were great and comfortable.
There was internet (cable) in the room which I did NOT get to work, as it was getting late I didnt bother about phoning reception.

I enjoyed the breakfast at the 14th floor, with somewhat of a view over Jakarta.
Eggs were made to order and check out took place while I waited for the breakfast to arrive.

Overall the hotel is a bit outdated, but everything works and it is clean. Definitly happy to stay here next time when I visit Jakarta.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    342
    63
    18
    11
See reviews for
124
89
43
582
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have been staying here for a number of times for my business trip. Good service. One outstanding incident that I should compliment them. The bottom of my shoes came off during one of my trip. There was no gift shop in the hotel which I could get some glue. So I requested to see if the hotel has any. They took my shoe and within 15 minutes, they glued it together and gave me back! Excellent

Room Tip: Corporate rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eng98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Good service during check-in and at 24-hour restaurant. All staff encountered had good English skills and were very courteous.

Location is trapped inside a very busy and congested area of Jakarta (like many hotels?), but is still quite central. Worth the extra travel time to reach it in my opinion.

Non-smoking rooms had no trace of smoking smell at all. Fitness center is not too large but equipment seemed ok.

Food in 24-hour restaurant was average (club sandwich), nothing spectacular, but on par for a hotel of this quality.

One minor point (and this is really nitpicking) -- the desk chair in the twin-bed rooms is not a "computer" chair with good back support. For solo travelers needing to catch up on work in your room, you may need to get a higher-class room which has a good chair in order to avoid back and neck pain.

Overall, a pleasant experience. Too bad Jakarta's traffic is only getting worse...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sujoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This place is not a top tier hotel, but the value for money makes it a great place to stay. There are several restaurants to choose from, and the food is excellent. I just wish it wasn't so isolated in the business district. There is nothing around this place. Fortunately, taxis are inexpensive in Jakarta.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warhorse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I have stayed in Gran Melia once last month and I found it to be cozy nice hotel. The reception is quite huge, the staff is very polite and humble.

The rooms are quite cozy. Breaktfast is quite extensive and the staff serves the food amicably.

In terms of location, the hotel is in main city and not very far from offices.

I would recommend this hotel for a short business trip to Jakarta.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohrisaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta
#12 of 441 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#15 of 441 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Jakarta

Property: Gran Melia Jakarta
Address: Jalan H.R. Rasuna Said Kav X-0 - Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Family Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in the prestigious financial and diplomatic district in the heart of Jakarta, a few minutes from the highway and 30 km from the Soekarno-Hatta international airport. Just 10 minutes from the commercial district, 15 minutes from the National Museum and Presidential Palace and 20 minutes from the nearest golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gran Melia Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Sol Melia Jakarta
Jakarta Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing