We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
388
170
19
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
170
19
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbed dormmini cinemacinema roomcommon roomcommon areas aresmall gymenjoyed my staycheap pricehostelbackpackersningindonesiawifiprivacyfacilitiescurtains
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hostel is very cosy and offer lots of entertaining. We stayed 2 nights and were pleased.

One downside is that the rooms are very noisy. The doors are made out of bamboo and don't keep out much sound. Other downside is that we ordered a taxi because the staff ensured us that was easier and would not cost a penny more. In fact when we were dropped of at the trainstation we had to pay the double rate because of the taxi pickup at the hostel.

I would still recommend the hostel, but find your own way to get around and bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tieske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for choosing Six Degrees, and thank you for your valuable feedback. If I may, I'd like to address the downsides mentioned in your review.

Our apologies that the noise in your room was an issue. However as you stayed in only one room it is, we feel, rather unfair to say that all rooms are noisy. This said, we do recognise that 2 or 3 of the rooms, particularly those at the front of the building, would benefit from some extra insulation. We have made plans to fix this issue, and scheduled the work to be done in the next couple of weeks.

The doors are made of wood rather than bamboo as suggested, and are certainly fit for purpose, offering good sound insulation.

Regarding taxis, we always suggest that guests use Blue Bird. They are widely acknowledged to be the safest, most reliable, least likely to rip you off, and are by far the biggest taxi company in Indonesia. We were happy to make a call for you and book one, saving you the uncertainty and hassle of standing around in the street in heavy traffic waiting for a taxi which may or may not arrive. However yes there is a minimum charge for a telephone-ordered taxi (Rp25,000 or around $2.50) which is no more than $1 more than the metered fee to the station, which is quite close. It does not affect fees for longer journeys, such as to the airport. While most guests appreciate the help and are happy to pay the minimum charge, we do understand that nobody likes unexpected costs - we should have made it absolutely clear to you before we helped you order the cab, and will do this with all guests in future. Our apologies again. We really were just trying to help.

Six Degrees' staff and owners' only objective is to make sure that all of our guests are safe, happy, well informed, and get a good deal. This is at the core of our business. We're sorry that we seem to have failed in this case, but would love for you to comeback to Six Degrees, perhaps after you have experienced the rest of this country; We would hope that you can see the hostel in a new light, see the changes that we have made, and have a more positive experience. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Very good athmosphere, billiard table, home cinema, rooftop garden, very nice staff, cool people from all over the world staying here.
Everything is in a good shape and clean.
A bit pricy for what you get, but I guess that's Just Jakarta...
Definitely a good deal when you are staying a few nights in Jakarta. You can find information about transportation, restaurants and what to do around there, staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of my Indo trip (just to recover from jetlag before moving on really!) and had such a great time here that I barely saw any of Jakarta.
The guesthouse itself is spotless and superbly kitted out, but it's the staff that make the difference - the two sisters were kind enough to share their Bacardi Gold with us on my first night, ensuring that a golden hangover occurred the next day, and on that next day they then took the entire guesthouse out swimming for the day...and this on their day off! They really do "get" the backpackers lifestyle and know what we like and want, but more important is that they love the lifestyle themselves too and are happy to be a part of it.
Bob is also an absolute hero (as well as a fantastic artist) and there are far worse ways to spend an evening than playing a few games of pool with some Bintangs and relaxing with Bob and his guitar.
Whether Jakarta is a destination in the middle of your Indonesian journey or just the starting point you owe it to yourself to stay at Six Degrees. Believe the hype surrounding this place as it really is that good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie-jleef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a great place to stay while exploring Jakarta, it is also a great place to stay if you just want to rest up for a few days. The staff is all great and unbelievably friendly, the owners Dave, Ian, Waty and Ning are all so helpful and great fun too. Our room was very clean, really nice and the shower was great. The atmosphere in the hostel is very chilled, there are plenty of films to pick from in the mini cinema, cable tv in the bar, a great pool table, free internet and a roof top bar. We planned to stay for just a few days but ended up staying a week and recharging our batteries. There are also a good few food places near by to chose from. If I'm ever in Jakarta again I'm staying here. And there is a pool nearby that is cheap and clean. The owners also remembered it was my birthday during our stay, which was very sweet of them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A very nice hostel in the heart of Jakarta. Six degrees has great comfortable rooms and excellent common areas (ground floor and roof-top terrace!). The staff is very friendly and the breakfast very good. If I get to go back to Jakarta, I will definitely repeat! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_BR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews