We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Metropark, Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel Nanjing
Ranked #27 of 1,996 Hotels in Nanjing
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I work in Nanjing 1 or 2 times a year and accommodation is paid for by work arrangements. The price is reasonable considering I'm there for 2 to 3 weeks at a time. The problems is that I probably get the worst rooms because I'm a captured client and the better rooms are made available for tourists and the usual Chinese weekenders that love the place. For me 3 out of 4 times the air con does not work and management claim it's turned off in Winter. This is policy for Chinese Hotels but shouldn't be the case for international standard hotels. Clearly this hotel is not international and that's one reason I'm allowed to stay there paid by Chinese funds.
The hotel is impressive in its grandeur but it is old. I wouldn't hold that against them and the price is appropriate for its age. The website is WAY out of date. There hasn't been an Italian restaurant in the building for at least 4 years (despite the signs in one elevator and the web page saying it's on the top floor). So some signs haven't changed in 4 years and neither has the menu changed (breakfast nor dinner). If you get a room with a non-functioning air con, expect humid air with the slight smell of burnt bearings (from the fans in the central system) to permeate your room. If you're lucky you might get a room with a window that opens, otherwise just suck it up for your stay. Staff are friendly and will help where they can. Guys at the front door are usually really good. Rooms are old and showing the wear. It's true the showers are in need of renovation and many are moldy.

Room Tip: If you go in Chinese Autumn, insist on checking that the room has active aircon. It can get hot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a twin room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was a good size with everything we needed. The first room we had had problems with internet but the second room a few days later was good. Breakfast was supplied with the usual Chinese food and a small amount of Western food.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Bellarine1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Avoid staying here. The hotel is at least 10 years old with very out dated furnishing, moldy bathroom, did't feel like touching anything. check-in was slow, breakfast not fancy, felt like been time-travelled to the early 90's.

Room Tip: No room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This property has the hallmarks of a "has been" luxury property that is however well-priced at this time. It boasts a grand lobby and has well-appointed rooms. The bed I had was an enormous one, bigger the a King, the largest i have ever seen. Extremely comfortable in a very large room. The only complaint I have is that the place reeked of smoke even though it was supposedly a smoke-free room. The constant dampness made the stench nearly unbearable. My other concern is that the free wifi only works well in the very early part of the morning. The network becomes rapidly congested and so slow as to be useless past 7 AM. Best if you wake up at 5 AM to do the work.

Otherwise, this was a very pleasant stay, with rapid access to the rest of the city through a very fluid set of nearby highways. Also of note, the hotel is situated next to a very large museum that is well worth visiting.

Otherwise a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Only comment is to make sure the room does not smell of smoke if you desire a smoke-free environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

-. 200m from metro station exit 1
-. there are some Korean managers, it's great benifit for Korean tourist.
-. tour guide materials provided, Korean managers provided great kind and detail cares.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 영재곽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanjing hotels
3.5 km away
Novotel Nanjing Central Hotel
8.1 km away
Hilton Nanjing
Hilton Nanjing
#12 of 1,996 in Nanjing
355 reviews
9.5 km away
Hilton Nanjing Riverside
Hilton Nanjing Riverside
#15 of 1,996 in Nanjing
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
Shangri-la Hotel Nanjing
#11 of 1,996 in Nanjing
223 reviews
5.9 km away
Novotel Nanjing East Suning Galaxy
5.7 km away
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
Sofitel Nanjing Galaxy Suning
#17 of 1,996 in Nanjing
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Nanjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Nanjing

Address: 319 East Zhongshan Road, Nanjing 210016, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nanjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Nanjing
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nanjing
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nanjing
Price Range: €67 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Nanjing 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Nanjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropark Nanjing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing