We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tasting Menu”

Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental
Reserve with OpenTable
Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 9,446 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful tasting menu experience. For the price point, I would expect there to be at most one miss on a dish but there were probably two. I would say the highlight for me was the uni dish for sure. I don't rate for service but the service was top notch. The two misses were the oyster which didn't have the best flavor and the poached Foie Gras. Also, the starting salt thing needs to go.

Dinner
• Amuse bouche salt ice (Bad)
• Amuse bouche lemon meringue (Excellent)
• Amuse bouche on spoon (Excellent)
• Amuse bouche sprouts (Excellent)
• Egg pudding (Ok)
• Bread (Excellent)
• Cheese app (Excellent)
• Oyster (Ok)
• Uni (Excellent)
• Octopus (Excellent)
• Foie gras (Ok)
• Wagyu beef (Excellent)
• Squash transition (Excellent!)
• Fruit dessert (Ok)
• Chocolate (Excellent)
• Sorbet (Excellent)

1  Thank Kristofer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and very creative dishes. Worth the money. The services are good too. We can feel the chef has been very devoted and carefully matched the ingredients of different dishes . The presentation are very artistic.
Will visit again.

2  Thank william k. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, Manager at Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear william k. T,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. It is a reward for us to know that you very much enjoyed your dinner at Amber. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Yannick Kiefer
Amber Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had 4 nights in Hong Kong & pre booked a table for 4 of us for dinner on a Friday night at 8.15pm. We had a late-ish booking due to a full day visiting Shenzhen in China that day and only arrived back in Hong Kong with enough time to shower & change. After perusing the menu & gathering that Amber would prefer you to partake of the degustation experience (very expensive), none of us were keen to overeat so went for the a la carte menu, where there were four choices of main meal. We were then advised by the maitre 'd that the lobster course had sold out & there was only one meal of another choice left. So our choice was the fishballs in broth or the wagyu beef (@$300AUD a plate!) We were then told the main meals would take approx 25 mins to prepare. As it turned out the food was delicious, but the atmosphere was cold & unfriendly & extremely over priced. No more "fine dining" for us !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, Manager at Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Kate H

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor as it is a great way for us to improve our service. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the atmosphere at Amber. In our restaurant, we always recommend our set menu, which we are known for, to our guests. With the menu, guests are taken on a culinary journey and enjoy a full experience of Amber. We understand that it might not be for everyone, which is why we are also offering a reduced ‘a la carte’ menu; however, as we only want to serve you the best products in terms of freshness and quality, we must have limited choices. We are glad to know that, nevertheless, you enjoyed the food and, again, my apologies for the inconvenience. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we would love to hear further comments about your experience in order to improve our service quality.

Best regards,

Yannick Kiefer
ykiefer@mohg.com
Amber Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I went to Amber to enjo the (fairly) affordable lunch menu consisting of 3 courses and 3 desserts with wine pairing. Overall I can say that it was a extremely good experience, although some details could be improved in terms of service. Nothing much to add, it is considered one of the best restaurants in Asia for a reason.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, Manager at Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Jeremy C

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you consider us worthy of our title. Please feel free to contact me to provide more details on how our service was not up to your standards, so we can make improvements and, therefore, completely delight our guests.

Best regards,

Yannick Kiefer
ykiefer@mohg.com
Amber Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Arranged a special anniversary lunch for my cousin and it is very unique with different stimulation on the palate. What makes it so special is they'll ask you if this a special occasion or not and they'll arrange a special small mousse cake for you to celebrate this special occasion. Super thoughtful!

3  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, Manager at Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Kelly W

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed this special event with us. Hoping to see you again for another celebration.

Best regards,

Yannick Kiefer
Amber Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental also viewed

 

Been to Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing