We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awesome and exceptional experience”

The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #147 of 11,962 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: There is nothing more quintessentially iconic of Hong Kong than experiencing the acclaimed Peninsula Classic Afternoon Tea. Served daily in The Lobby, which has long been recognised as one of the most elegant meeting places in Hong Kong, this revered tradition is accompanied by The Lobby Strings, playing live daily. An a la carte menu showcasing authentic Continental and Southeast Asian delights is served throughout the day.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Having afternoon tea at the lobby of the Peninsula Hotel is a must if you come to HK for
their gorgeous architecture and the high quality
service and food.

It is a regular for me. Go there with friends and
visitors from overseas.

You have to go to believe what I am saying.

I am a big fan of the Peninsula Hotel !!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank makmwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

Nice colonial decor, high ornate ceilings and columns. Just missing the ceiling fans of colonial days. Orchestra on the balcony was pleasant but didn’t really need their rendition of the Star Wars theme whilst taking high tea. Also bass was a tad loud and booming in our section of the lobby. Toned down for one or two classical numbers. Always great to hear a bit of live music at any venue. We queued from 1.15pm so we could be near front of queue for 2pm seating. In fact they started seating at 1:50pm so not such a long wait. Service was swift. Waiters regularly came to top up the tea pots. Wish food was tastier. Could have done better with more savoury items. The finger sandwiches were so tiny, more like thumb nail size than finger size. The scones were just okay. A little dense to my taste, and not as nice as my own home made scones. Anyway, worth the experience and price was reasonable for an unhurried pot of tea in a nice cool setting out of the scorching tropical sun. Oh yes, the notice at front of queue does indicate a dress code of no sports or beach wear, but there were clients admitted with with casual wear such as shorts and trainers so not quite sure what they mean by sports or beach wear unless they mean literally no to arriving in bikini or speedos.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 823pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

afternoon tea is magic and a gold standard here every time perfect at the number one hotel in Hong Kong
nostalgic atmosphere of elegance

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Tip. Arrive an hour earlier, order a drink, be seated and that will save u the long line up. The location was fantastic everything was below par. Service was good at times but lacking on occasions. Ie. asked 3 times for glass of water and when we got our tea it took ages for the food to arrive.
For the price paid I was expecting a lot more. All the food was average. No wow factor at all.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Oz-Traveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The Tea at The Lobby was very average. For our table of three, there was no privacy as we were seated very close to the next table. We were also placed on such a small table that the placemats overlapped. The scones were very large, and the finger sandwiches were very small. Both food items tasted bland. We went on a rainy day, so the Lobby was dreary. Perhaps it is nicer on a sunny day. I don't recommend Tea at the Lobby.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank HChung100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing