We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go local!”

Chuen Moon Kee Restaurant
Ranked #1,499 of 11,977 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Neighbourhood: Mong Kok
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Mong Kok
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Through the years, Tripadvisor has become an excellent resource when one wants to dine out in a new city. Following fellow readers we tried this place. As local as you can get, pictures of local TVB celebreties and news articles on the wall to illustrate their popularity. As most of the pictures and articles are feeling a bit like past glory, the food is still absolutely delicious and authentic.

The claypot rice with garlic shrimps was delicious, soup and noodles well made. If you want to go local, you go here. Decent food and (from a European point of view) cheap as hell. Even if you don’t speak Cantonese, all dishes are illustrated so if you are not accompanied by a native speaker, just point and you will get what you want. So challenge yourself and pull yourself away from overpriced hotel restaurants and explore this local hangout.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KO3N71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

The restaurant is located on Reclamation Street adjacent to the Cordis Hotel.

The restaurant has an English menu. Food is very reasonably priced.

Not all of the dishes are listed in the English menu so we ordered some dishes from photos that we saw online (in particular the Eggplant Claypot).

It seemed to me that a lot of locals eat at this restaurant. Despite being the only westerners on 2 occasions we ate here, we were made to feel very welcome from every staff member.

Food was amazing - on our two visits we ordered various dishes including claypot chicken, claypot eggplant, beef noodles, curry chicken. Approx cost for a group of 4 was approx $540HKD or $90 (AUD) which was very good considering that included beers and softdrinks.

If you are in the Mongkok area, this restaurant is a must do.

Thanks also to all the staff for making my wife's birthday celebration very memorable at your restaurant! :)

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The Claypot rice is their speciality. We ordered 5 different variety , they are so yummy. I love the spring onion chicken too, chicken meat so succulent and juicy. Highly recommended

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Annie0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This restaurant serves good food which is reasonably priced. The set meals in particular are good value for money. Claypot chicken rice here is a favourite with me.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Khin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My hubby absolutely loved his pork curry! I enjoyed my fried beef noodles too. Will return for another meal. :)

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuen Moon Kee Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chuen Moon Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing