We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel
Ranked #133 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Never stay here bacause?

1. Their package are lies! What you booked is not what you get.
2. Staff are rude, they dont value their guest all they want is your money.
3. Rooms are small and dirty. Bathroom is too small. Shower are rusty and not working!
4. AC is working but its very old with Small TV. No wonder its cheap!
5. Be careful and smart. Make sure you Check first the room you reserve before paying. Because once they got your money and you dont get what you booked they will not give your money back.

As you notice 99% of their guest are complaining how terrible this place. Dont ever try!

Room Tip: Check first the room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

The flashing window sign seen from the street below shows that rooms start at $9USD. They don't actually EVER have anything that low, but it does get the traffic in the door. I paid 150HKD for a single room. Later that afternoon, a woman entered the room unannounced, disregarding the "do not disturb" sign on the door. The next morning at 7:30am, I awoke to a loud banging on my door and a grumpy old man saying "check out." When I went to the front desk, I met a very grumpy young woman who didn't care that checkout was posted for 11am. Despite those problems, I attempted to use the same hotel another weekend, because it was so cheap. I emailed and confirmed the reservation, but when I arrived, they requested a payment 5 times the agreed price (Agreed to 150HKD, but they wanted 750HKD). I refused, and was able to find another very cheap room in the same building using one of the touts on the first floor.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are tiny and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Tai Wan Hotel is located at Chung king Mansion which is an old building. The location is good since it is located at the Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon which is the shopping and dining strip of the city. Tai Wan Hotel is cheap and might be considered by backpackers or budget travelers but for me it isn't worth it. Smelly, dim, untidy hallway. Rooms are very small. We got a room good for 4 persons but when we got there it seems that it is just good for 2. We cant even unpack our trolleys together because of the limited space. The bathroom has an old smell and is very small. The aircon is not functioning as well. If I would choose to look for budget accomodation, I might just look for an apartment usually posted at Airbnb since you could already rent out the whole unit at an affordable price. Overall, you could get low prices for Tai Wan but it is not worth it. I'd rather spend extra bucks to get comfort and feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

i just want say please looking for other hotel coz this hotel :-

1) Dirty
2) Management Rude
3) Lie to guest always ask for extra money
4) Once u pay they ask for extra money. if u dont want pay extra money & wang cancel staying here the managemen dont want give back your money, passport & credit card

Stayed: November 2016
3  Thank Mohamad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

They had a very bad customer service, would ask for a payment first then would ask you to go back at 6 pm then after you come back they would give you a room that is different from what you'd booked. The worst is that they insist we couldn't check-in early because our card is invalid and that our rooms is not ready yet, we even used our cards before we arrived in HK. Never booked with this hotel, room is quiet smelly, lacks with air freshener, same with the toilet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing have poor ventilation and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queensyl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#47 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 162 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel

Address: Block A, 3rd Floor, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €21 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing