We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel
Ranked #133 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 November 2016

They had a very bad customer service, would ask for a payment first then would ask you to go back at 6 pm then after you come back they would give you a room that is different from what you'd booked. The worst is that they insist we couldn't check-in early because our card is invalid and that our rooms is not ready yet, we even used our cards before we arrived in HK. Never booked with this hotel, room is quiet smelly, lacks with air freshener, same with the toilet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing have poor ventilation and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queensyl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My friends and I visited, we had read the trip adviser reviews and we're sure it could not be that bad we were correct it was WORSE
Booked 4 single rooms with window and toilet and got 2 double rooms and were told if we did not want they would still take the money from the pre authorised card
Rooms had cockroaches running round and outside there were rats everywhere obviously the hotel was to dirty for them to come in
Staff were aggressive and unhelpful on leaving had big argument to get the key deposit returned

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is the baddest experience I have ever had. We made a reservation for two nights. When we arrived at 10am they had the worst attitude and told us to come back at 2pm. Fine, if the check in is at 2, but please tell us in a nice way!

When we came back at 2pm we had to pay, and after we payed they said that our reservation was not confirmed so we had to pay cash and come back again at 6pm, the reason why we had to come back later, was so they could prepare our room.
We didn't understand the meaning of all this, since we made a reservation before arrival, when we told the lady at the "reception" she started yelling at us and in some way it seemed that she just did it to provoke us. We were very confused and frustrated, since we didn't have a room jet at 2 pm in Hong Kong... but we could put our bags at the "hotel" while waiting for the room to be ready..

When we got back at 6pm, the lady at the reception told us that our reservation was canceled (remember that we already payed) and she could give us a bed in a dorm or give us our money back.. Again with the worst attitude! In all this chaos the owner or what he was, came by the reception and didn't wanted to pay us back, instead he offered us the bed in the dorm which we didn't wanted, when we refused in a frustrated way, he offered us weed, McDonald's and made fun off us!

At last I got very mad and we got our money back... do not go there! This is the worst experience!!!!!!!!!!!!! Find another place.

A whole day in Hong Kong without a room because of them ... thanks for nothing but frustration!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lineaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Hello!!We booked 2 rooms, since we have a kids I asked a rooms that are close and they agree.. but when we reach the hotel they take our money first before they told us that that they will give us a room with different level. We tried to refund our payment but they said its not refundable. I don't want my kids to be far from us so they said they will give us 1 big room instead in the same price.We don't agree and we ended up with confrontation, we called police for assistance but the gut in the front disk leave his table and hide! Later on he spoke to the police and he insist that the payment is not refundable. After a few more brutal conversation with the front desk he offered us a room close to our kids. But I decided not to stay anymore in this hotel and forget about our payment after that brutal confrontation despite of police assistance my family is not safe anymore. We go out in the middle of the night to find another place. Rooms are very dirty and not a safe place to stay!

Room Tip: disaster rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights with my girlfriend , if you are a female solo traveller do not stay here unless you enjoy being harassed by men who still seem to think they are in downtown delhi on your way to the elevator. Also if you enjoy sleeping in a box for five nights I also recommend to stay here with towels that have cleaned more bodies than the population of hong kong and trust me that's a lot ! If you also enjoy the option of a sit down poo whilst in the mist of your morning shower then go ahead and book this little place of paradise , if not then I entrust you to book somewhere else and learn from these backpackers mistakes ! Enjoy hong kong !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank K7R19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 163 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel

Address: Block A, 3rd Floor, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €22 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing