We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room and hard bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel
Ranked #133 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 17 March 2014

i stayed here for a night only for the experience to find out how it is to stay in this hostel.location wise is good since it is in the middle of tourists attractions and shopping however the room is so small makes you feel like you're in a box and the worst is the bed so hard as a rock,can't sleep due to insect bites,the toilet is shared and you cant move inside because its too small.anyway i"ll just charge this to experience.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room if there is any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was deperate to have somewhere to stay, so stayed here for one night whcih was 1 too many. Good location and that's about it. Avoid this place, there's better places around if they're not booked up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I expected the sheets to be dirty and ripped (they were). I expected to have bugs and cockroaches crawling through my room (there were). I expected a bedroom that looked like a bathroom but had a view like something out of the movie like Brazil or Akira (it was). I expected the clerk's attitude to range from an extreme indifference to mild hostility (it did). I didn't expect to be demeaned by the brusque front desk staff (I was). I didn't expect them to refuse to pay back my key deposit for no reason whatsoever other than just playing a shell game (oh, you need to come back later - it's someone else who pays out the deposits ;). Other reviewers have used the word fraud to describe their operation, which is a strong word. But if you're okay with engaging in a transaction where you'd really prefer to have a lawyer and a pro wrestler at your side at all times (not to mention a security detail), then I guess this place might be worthwhile. It's probably a step up from sleeping on the street or at the nearby 24/7 McDonald's. If only because the wifi is slightly better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slantendicular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Chinese manager is horrible. His English is horrible but that is not the worst part. He treats you terrible. If you go the the reception area late at night he don't even open the curtain to talk to you. First he says they are closed but since we had an important thing to say he did talk to me but did not even open the curtain. Very rude. Then they promise me they would have a room for me during Chinese new years without pre-paying it. The day before the Chinese new years they kicked me out of my room and said the only room available was USD$214. And very very small. Do not believe any promises because they don't really speak English the just say yes yes to anything you say. I recommend that you pay in advance for the whole time you are going to be there if it is around busy holidays. But in the end it is not worth the rastle because there are so many other hotels that are very cheap in the same building and will have much better customer service. BTW keep you receipt for you deposit money in this hotel because they will not give your money back without it. Other hotels they just will keep track of it so you will be sure to get your money back in the end.

Room Tip: look at the room before you pay. If you have big luggage choose one that has a high bed so all your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brasil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have never stayed in such a terrible place. The woman on reception has zero skills in politeness, kindness and handling customers. She (the main staff member I dealt with) only cares about one thing, taking money from people and doesn't give a damn about their stay or comfort.
Amongst a number of other things that were offensive and totally dissatisfactory such as their attitude, they couldn't even spare one extra blanket, its winter with no heater in the room and only one tiny blanket on the bed, I was freezing.

This 'hostel' is a disgrace, please don't stay here. I wish I'd read the reviews before I made the mistake of staying here and I hope to save someone else the awful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#4 of 162 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel

Address: Block A, 3rd Floor, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €21 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Tai Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing