We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary windows arrgghhh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Ranked #111 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Was staying here on Business. What surprised me most about the hotel was the small physical footprint of the hotel, compared to the height of the building. Anyway.....

Reception is bright, clean but very small. Staff were welcoming. I was on the 19th floor, and although the room was small, it was very nicely decorated in a traditional style, clean, chic and the bathroom impeccable. The window however.... was floor to ceiling glass. I imagine if you don't get vertigo it would have been amazing, however as impressed by the view I was, i was a little freaked out. Even found myself sleeping on the side of the bed furthest away from the window ^__^

Breakfast in the restaurant was very good indeed, lots of choice and quality on offer. Because of the size of the restaurant and because of the clientele I found myself sitting with various other single suited businessmen although none seemed open enough to chat. Not the hotels fault at all.

There was also a nice semi outside bar a couple of floors up.

Because I was working in Central the location was ok to good. If I was a tourist perhaps I wouldn't choose here, but for work purposes it was perfectly great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 742 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. Very nice boutique hotel with traditional chinese decor in the rooms. It is a short walk of about 5mins to the nearest MTR stop (Sheung wan) and 10-15misn to Lan Kwan Fong whoch is where all the bars/clubs/ restuarnts are.

The room was reasonably sized but bathroom was a little tight for space. Generally relatively good value for money in Central area of HK. Would I go back? Answer is yes as this was mu 2nd visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Positives-Very clean. Great location. Comfortable beds. Staff are accommodating. The bathroom soap smelt very nice. Great shower. Good value for money.
Negatives-the music (mood music) they play in the corridor can be a bit loud at night when you are trying to sleep. The first room we were in you could hear people having a shower. The pipes were very noisy.
But overall a great hotel would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kantravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here on business in Feb 2012 for 8 nights. Was booked in at the LKF Kau U Fong (not to be confused with the Hotel LKF by Rhombus actually in LKF!) by my work with no input from me.

Hotel is excellently located for LKF and Central. Just moments away from the bars and restaurants of LKF; Wellington Street is great! It is a small city hotel and little more, the marketing sells it as a boutique hotel but despite the more than average themed Asian decor, the 'boutique' tag is generous.

The hotel has a bar and nicely appointed but very small gym. It also has a restaurant which by all accounts is award winning but I had no intention of eating there with LKF's varied nightlife on the door step.

Staff are efficient but young and not overly attentive or keen to interact. That said I had no problems and they quickly found me another room when the first turned out to be a smoking one (can't quite believe any are these days!)

Lastly, the standard rooms are tiny! 'deluxe' versions look bigger on the website but standard rooms are really only fit for one person, and staying for 8 nights I wanted far more space. Bathroom was also small but had a nice rainhead shower.

All in all it was fine and would do for anyone staying for a quick night or two's stop over or business trip. Not at all suitable for a vacation stay for any longer than that - take my advice, pay a bit more you can do a lot better in HK!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The only really good thing is the location, that's why I also booked it.
The hotel is ideal/central directly to Hollywood Road in SoHo with walking disctance to plenty of other places - restaurants/bars/shopping. The next MTR station is 10 min walking, but be aware the hotel in on the hill with plenty of stairs to reach.
The design concept is "old" chinese and could be nice if only the rooms would be bigger. They are really tiny with TV only in chinese. Nice touch is the free Welcome fruit bowl in the room. But free WIFI is only available in the lobby and also only one power socket.
Hotel staff were not helpful as most of them didn't really speak english.
In overall, it is an unreasonable price, way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#33 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,132 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 723 in Hong Kong
365 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 723 in Hong Kong
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#169 of 723 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: €129 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is about being stylish, and as comfortable as you want to be, in a location that is perfect for trendy dining, nightlife and entertainment area of Lan Kwai Fong and SoHo, Minutes away from MTR, Macau Ferry Terminal, premier offices and designers shopping. Its rooms are furnished with a distinctive touch of oriental style, overlooking the spectacular view of Hong Kong city, which illuminated at night. Hotel offers free WIFI, happy hour with free house wine, mobile with free data and IDD calls to 8 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing