We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel located in a crummy part of Causeway Bay”
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lanson Place Hotel
Ranked #21 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel located in a crummy part of Causeway Bay”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is lovely, tastefully built by the Singaporean owners.
Rooms are nice and large, a luxury here in HK. I stayed in a grand deluxe room with a separate sitting area, giving it extra space.
I am displeased with the bathroom amenities. However, being a SG company, i suggest they use a singaporean brand such as como shambala over an English one.
Check in was easy, staff were polite.
Concierge is always helpful, willing to give suggestions on where to go.
I don't recommend this hotel for first time travelers to HK. However, if you have more than 5 days, then this is fine.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room such as Grande Lux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwishiwasonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    445
    71
    18
    5
See reviews for
261
438
105
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
117 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is easily the best hotel in Hongkong - as long as you do not expect the MarriHiltonHyattRitzWestin melange which always is the same, independent of brand, and always impersonal. I have staid in most major hotels in Hongkong and i always prefer the Lanson.
The Lanson has for a fair price good rooms, a simple but attractive breakfast and many small special features. This starts with having a real lounge and a real library with a good selection of newspapers - do people in other hotels not read anymore? In the room one is welcomed by tasty cookies and free juice as well as a small kitchenette.
The room and bathroom is sparkling clean - the toilet even being a hygienic wall-hanging type.
the concierge in the first floo and the receptionists in the second floor are simply superb. The only gripes ar the location - but then Times Square is only 5 minutes by foot - and the exorbitant high internet rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I really want to give 4.5 if the rating was available. It's ALMOST perfect here. We were given one of the renovated rooms, it was very nice with ample storage space for two people - the drawers by the closet were amazing and there was plenty of shelf space. The room colours were lovely (light gray, cream and a bright orange velour headboard for the bed). The small fitness room is great and doesn't usually get crowded. Buffet breakfast is lovely and service is alway very good. Coffee is ok. There is a small "library" and guests are able to sign out books from the reception desk to read in their rooms. Staff is super-accomodating. Business center has a PC and a Mac, usually available.

Nice shower, toilet space was a little cramped, but then again, it's a small HK hotel room, so it's to be expected. Soap, shower gel and shampoo is provided. Bring conditioner if you're used to using it. The toothbrushes, cotton buds and cotton pads come in adorable boxes.

One annoyance was that our sliding closet door was always stuck and it always took so much effort to open or close the door. Also, it can be difficult to get a taxi from the hotel, but it's not a big deal because the location is so central. You'll need to get familiar with the area to find your way back after a walk!

Other than the minor little things I mentioned, I love this hotel. I would give a rating of 5 otherwise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migratorychic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A top-notch urban oasis. My room was modern, bright and boasted one of the most comfortable beds I can recall in a hotel. Breakfast each morning in the art-filled lobby was a delight. Best of all were the attentive staff - they truly paid attention to every detail and took care of any and all concerns I had during my five-night stay. I would love to stay here again next time I travel to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views! And I had a corner room with floor-to-ceiling glass so it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I love the service of this hotel!! The staffs are very friendly and all smiles. They will help you to flag down a taxi whenever you need it.

Breakfast is provided and it is quite good imho. There is a kitchenette in the room. The beds are super comfortable as I manage to sleep well every night.

However, I found out that my parents bathroom wall are made of glass. Can be seen from the room. But my room wasn't the case. If you are not comfortable with people from the room looking in when you are doing your business, better ask the reception about the bathroom.

Also, this hotel is slightly far from the MTR (train station) but still, it is very close to shopping areas. There are food places surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,293 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,632 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,779 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Property: Lanson Place Hotel
Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing