We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Hong Kong Sevens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base for Hong Kong Sevens”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I just spent a week at the Cosmopolitan as part of a mixed business & pleasure trip to Hong Kong.
My room was pretty small, but I didn't spend much time there, so no big deal. It offered everything I needed. The only negative was the hardest and most rigid mattress that I have ever encountered! I kept meaning to ask if the could put some sort of downy cover on the bed, but never got around to it.
The restaurant does a nice breakfast, with a range of Western & Eastern options. My only quibble was the fact that the price was one size fits all, meaning that my light continental breakfast cost the same as someone grabbing a full range of cooked food from the bain-maries. I also had dinner there twice & enjoyed both meals. As far as I could tell, the dinner offerings were 100% Eastern, although that was fine with me.
In the lobby there is a small bar, which did a great trade during the rugby and also made a decent coffee.
I found the staff to be obliging and helpful at all times, although I didn't have many interactions with them.
The location was quite good. I noticed signs pointing to the MTR but I mainly used taxis (so cheap in HK) and walking to get around. The walk to the Sevens stadium took around 20+ minutes and around 30 minutes to walk into Central. The shops, bars & restaurants of Wan Chai & Causeway Bay are only 10-15 minutes by foot.
It was obviously a popular venue for Sevens visitors and there were a lot of people in fancy dress drinking in the lobby each night - it wasn't difficult to make new friends!
All up I enjoyed my stay and would certainly recommend the Cosmopolitan

Room Tip: During peak times you are better off trying to catch a taxi on the street rather than asking thew co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErmoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Cosmopolitan during your stay in town. with no doubt Cosmopolitan is one of the ideal venue for sports events due to our services, locations and facilities.

With international travelers in mind, we do understand how important a good quality sleep matters to our guests, and to that end all of our mattress are imported by high quality mattress brand – Simmons at Cosmopolitan Hotel. understand it could be personal preference when it comes to softness in mattress, an additional topper is always available upon request. with the unusual occasions you have mentioned, we also are currently looking into the detail to make sure our staff react to respond our guests’ requests immediately.

The breakfast services in Cosmopolitan is designed in both east and western style in order to create varieties. to encourage our guests, we have also issue different promotions which mostly include breakfast in the package to create more benefit for our guests. you are always welcome to visit our official site for more details. in addition, although He Jiang restaurant is famous for Sichuan and Huai-yang cuisines, a selection of western food such as burger and sandwiches are also available at our room services menu. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back, and to provide you a unforgettable memory in town anytime of all seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    1,374
    566
    156
    67
See reviews for
867
716
240
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location for the Happy Valley races and also about a 5 minute walk to the metro station. Nice outside patio area for having a drink and also the breakfast buffet was pretty good. The staff were very helpful - overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jardinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beware of the rooms on the lower floors - the windows are frosted out so you can't actually see outside. We asked to be changed to another room and they took care of it immediately and moved our luggage and we ended up on the top floor with a great view and much bigger bed.. Additional benefit of being on a higher floor is that you always get an empty elevator!
The small paito bar and breakfast buffet were also worth doing.
Excellent location for the night races and also bus and taxi transportation. About a 7 minute walk to the metro.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor as long as you don't mind looking over an old graveyard. Or pay the minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jardinea_726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. with a total of 452 rooms, Cosmopolitan offers 8 different room types to meet various guests’ needs. aside from partial guest rooms facing greenery south side and the historical churchyard, most of guests rooms offer views of Causeway Bay district and the breath-taking greenery Happy Valley with endless skyline. in order to provide best services and more options to our guests, Cosmopolitan constantly offers various upgrade promotions, guests are given more flexibility on desirable room types before the official stays. i am looking forward to your soonest visit, and I ensure you will find out more benefit in Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very impressed with the view, service, cleanliness, and location. No problems! Would stay here again! Has complimentary shuttle. Close to everything! One can choose from 11 different pillows!

Room Tip: This hotel is next to a cemetery FYI. You might prefer the side opposite, but I had no problems wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randykoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments to our service, cleanness and locations. For your information, despite of partial rooms are facing to the south side of greenery mountain and historical church yard, most of our guest rooms are facing to Causeway Bay district and the breath-taking greenery view of Happy Valley with endless skyline. With international travelers in mind, partial rooms face the south also have clear window view and fashionable frosted window at guests’ options. I am looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at the Cosmopolitan for ten days in March 2012, and was really impressed with the hotel. The staff in particular were extremely helpful, polite and friendly, always anxious to help in any way they could and doing their best to deal with any enquiry.

The room was clean and bright - I was in a standard room with a frosted window but that didn't affect the light - with a nice bathroom. There wasn't much storage space for clothes - not too bad for me as I was in a twin room on my own, but if there had been two of us it would have been irritating as there were no drawers and only a small amount of hanging space. However, if you don't mind keeping some things in your suitcase or using the space economically, it's fine. The air conditioning in the room was a bit cold for me and a little noisy, but it's easy to turn off.

The hotel breakfast has a good variety of Chinese and European food, but is a little expensive at roughly £15 a head. However, if you venture out there are lots of places nearby which sell food (mostly Chinese, but there are some places you can get other things too) at much lower prices.

The hotel runs a useful shuttle bus service to central areas like Times Square, Admiralty, and Central Station, which is a great way of getting around for free, but at popular times they can get busy and sometimes fill up, so I'd recommend going to the lobby a few minutes early to make sure you get a seat. Otherwise there is a tram stop almost directly opposite the hotel, which is super cheap (20p ish) and, although sometimes a bit slow is a great way to see the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
It’s definitely our pleasure to have impressed you! Our 454 rooms are categorized into 10 room types featuring various room size and views with most of them overlooking the city junction or race course greenery. All rooms are smartly designed to ensure enough storage possible and if in case a room change is required, our 24-hour guest services manager will be able to arrange. We understand individual preference hence our air conditioning can be adjusted individually, again if you find any problem operating it our floor attendant or our guest services manager will be happy to assist. Our breakfast items enjoy a wide selection with both Chinese and western cold cut plus hot dishes, a good choice at good value to start off a day of exploration! The fact is also there are a variety of local choices surrounding the hotel bringing convenience to travelers.

One of our favourite services is the free shuttle service that runs on the island including destinations at Times Square (Causeway Bay), Pacific Place (Admiralty), Convention Centre (Wan Chai), etc . Our hotel shuttle is a 28-seater coach serves with a first-come-first-serve basis, hence a little more time for queuing in the line is encouraged. There is also a tram stop outside the hotel entrance that provides a more relaxing way to travel around on the Hong Kong island. Apart from the cheap fare, it is also a historical and worthwhile thing-to-do in Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,473 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#136 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,371 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,625 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,091 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#66 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing