We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Afternoon Dim Sum Overlooking Tung Wan Bay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
Ranked #284 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The dim sum menu offered at the Chinese restaurant in Warwick Hotel is of a reasonable good quality to order from and enjoyable. Al though the restaurant is dated, the view over the bay is sensational. Service is pleasant and charming to an certain extend. Perhaps the overall dining experience isn’t the grandest but definitely worthwhile to try it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edgar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

As the only hotel on Cheung Chau, it has no direct rivals. There are B&B's, apartments and retreat centres though.

I'd previously lived 4 years on the island but only visited Warwick when friends stayed and once when took visiting-family for the popular dim-sum there (it IS good!).

My wife and I stayed a week in October with our organisation for a retreat. Since we didn't pay ourselves, we shouldn't criticise too much.
The ocean-view rooms with balconies are lovely, whether it's sunny with blue skies or stormy and cloudy. There are few hotels in HK that could provide such a view (Auberge in DB, Disney hotels perhaps) and it's right between 2 beaches + a 5-minute walk to the village.
The downside or trade-off is that the decoration and some of the facilities are very very dated. Whilst the shower was great (remember to turn water-heater switch on) there is no soap or hand-wash provided, the bathroom door paintwork and a lot of the paint on ceiling + walls peeling off. There was a lot of mould on cupboards as we entered, due to the humidity + housekeeping leaving aircons to n. The fuse box was visible, would be nice if that was covered.
Room door accessed by a key, has an inside latch but not no lock inside so not as secure as you'd get in most hotels.
And it took us 4 attempts to get our room cleaned (new towels, shower gel + shampoo) despite calling housekeeping and asking at reception.

One major issue we have is accessibility. The entrance is located above ground-level so either have to walk up side-steps or a fairly-steep gradient, then walk down a level to the lobby. Anyone using wheelchair, elderly or with mobility issues would struggle to access it. Some investment in an elevator or a g/f entrance would be needed.

Overall a nice place to stay, going forward it would need investment to improve the guest facilities and accessibility though.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

My Aussie hubby and I stayed here for two nights for our honeymoon. The tiny balcony gave us a stunning view of the beach, sea and beyond. It was breathtaking! I felt so relaxed listening to the waves crashing at night.
There was a heli pad to the right of our room and we saw a helicopter landed on it. Definitely fun to watch and Iisten to!
The room has a safe, hairdryer, small fridge, kettle, small wardrobe with a few hangers, large tv that didn't allow us to use our Google Chrome for some reason so was very disappointed.
The toiletries included toothbrush, shampoo, shower gel, cotton buds and shower cap. No handwash which was a huge disappointment.
Air con was very loud and powerful at night until we turned it to lowest setting.
We didn't get a stayover clean from housekeeper on the Monday. Not sure what the policy is with this hotel.
The buffet style breakfast was delicious, especially the fried rice noodles on Monday morning. We got a choice of Western and Chinese food. We were too late for the rice noodles on Tuesday morning. It had been demolished by other guests so I was upset!
The wifi was weak and a huge disappointment for us!
The bed was very comfortable and room was spacious, unlike some cheap rooms I have stayed at.
Overall, a very comfortable stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kit Yee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I am really surprised to see so many people have written a review about this hotel when they have never stayed at this hotel before.

First of all, the last time I stayed in this hotel was a few years ago already.

This hotel is the only hotel on the island, and basically the only 'hotel' on any small islands in HK. Unless you want to stay in an apartment, this is the only choice you have.

Most of the rooms are facing the beach, you can even see the city when they weather is nice. Rooms are quite small and lacking of facilities. However, having a glass of wine on the balcony, embraced by the ocean and sea breeze will take all your troubles away. Nevertheless, the hotel is not that cheap based on its condition; but this is HK, everywhere is expensive.

One thing worth mentioned is that a number of websites keep saying that this hotel has a swimming pool. It DOESN'T. To people like me who enjoys doing laps, it would be nice if it does. After all, it is only 5 minutes walk from the beach (and 15 minutes from the ferry).

Room Tip: Sea view room, not the mountain view (rock view, to be exact) for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenciosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We only dined in the restaurant and did not stay at the hotel.
By the looks of things, it's the only hotel in town and we were treated to dinner here.

The restaurant is fair, nothing stands out about the food, presentation nor service.

We may have had better luck at one of the other restaurants in town.

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank kent3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#383 of 729 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#213 of 729 in Hong Kong
535 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Tuen Mun
#124 of 729 in Hong Kong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#104 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,015 reviews
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#103 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau

Address: East Bay, Cheung Chau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: €58 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hong Kong
Warwick Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing