We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to enjoy a different side of hong kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #94 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A family affair hotel and great value for money n sight.

Room Tip: Ask to have a balcony to view the marina n the sunset
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
There are newer reviews for Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 407 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We chose the Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel because of previous high ratings and affordability. Being a larger family, we needed two rooms for our overnight stay in Hong Kong before flying out after our adoption trip in China.

We saved hundreds of dollars by choosing this hotel over others closer to the airport.

The service was unbelievably friendly and efficient. The same person who checked us in was able to exchange our money for HK dollars, schedule our wake up call, and arrange for our taxi the following morning to the airport. The staff was fluent in English was made the stay more comfortable. When we called for luggage pick up, the staff was there quickly, while the taxi driver was waiting for us already. Amazingly efficient.

The hotel is listed as just over 5 miles from the airport, but a 30 minute drive. It is definitely further than a 5 mile drive; however, it was a beautiful drive along the bay, and we were thrilled with the views we saw on our morning drive.

The views from the hotel window were beautiful, and the hotel itself was peaceful, a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of other hotels we stayed at in our travels. We have four children, ages 4, 6, 7 and 9 with us. They LOVED the glass elevators and the sights to see in the lobby. We felt our children were welcome.

If we ever return to Hong Kong, we will certainly choose the Gold Coast Hotel, and we plan to recommend it to other adoptive families who want a nice hotel at a more affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was in HK for 2 nights on business. I had 9h30 morning meetings and decided to try a hotel outside the city centre. I was very impressed by this hotel. It was clean, the room was large with an ocean view. Food was very good and service, especially at the restaurant was great. The swimming pool is enormous. It took me 30 mn to come from the airport (Take a green taxi) and 45 mn to go to Kowloon in the morning. Taxi fares were around HK$200/250 which is very affordable.

It is a relaxed way to stay in HK. If you like Chinese Food eat at Yue, the local Chinese restaurant.

Will go again.

L

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights last week. After reading the reviews I debated if we should stay there because of the location etc but in the end we opted out for this place due to the great price offer. Although the location is far from Kowloon, transportation was not an issue at all. We took the E-11 bus from the airport to Tuen Mun (about 45 minutes). The cost was 14 Hong Kong dollars (appx $2 US), then a taxi from Tuen Mun bus station to the hotel (cost $40 HK, which was appx $6 US). We like walking so each morning we walked to Tuen Mun (about 12-20 min walk). The hotel has a shuttle (you have to get ticket at the reception) that can take you to town. There is also a public bus that goes from the city center and stops withing a block of the hotel (the cost is 19 HK $, which is about $2.5 US one way and it takes about 40 minutes). The last shuttle from city to Gold Coast leaves at 11:30 pm M-S and midnight at Sundays. THe hotel has dinner buffet located in the lower level and by the pool each night which offers many, many selections (probably over 500 different items). There is also another restaurant on 1st floor of the hotel. If you prefer lower prices, you can walk through the garden of the hotel to the nearby piazza (about 2-3 minutes), which has about 5-6 different restaurants, there is also McDonald's, and Subway over there. In the piazza district you also have a grocery store and a bakery and of course a coffee shop. The restaurants are very clean and the prices are very good. The hotel offers a free internet connection in the room. We did not bring our computer but the business center offered free PCs and it was always available for use. The rooms are quite large, TV has about 4-5 English channels, there is small fridge and a safe in the room. Also there is a tea/coffee in the room. This is a great hotel and eventhough location may not be the best, if you in Hong Kong for shopping, but the area where the hotel is located is very clean and does not have as many people as the center of the city which allows you to relax and enjoy the view of the china sea and the marina. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: You can email the hotel to give you a room with the view. We booked this hotel via booking.com and i...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 355John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Overall impression was pretty good but for a hotel which aims for families and business, I was very surprised to have only one electrical socket in the room. Families and business people are sure to need many more than that. The other most noticeable thing was that the doors to the rooms are VERY thin and therefore other guests noise in the passageways easily awakens you and I am not a light sleeper! However, on the plus side, this has to be one of the most efficient hotels as far as providing free WiFi throughout the hotel.A simple but often exploited amenity for guests. There is a general air of tiredness about the hoel even though it is not that old. I found the beds very comfortable but the bathrooms dated and showing signs of needing upgrading. The main bar was pretty soulless and encouraged one to go out. Staff were attentive and efficient but not overbearing. I would not object to returning for another business conference, but I would not choose it for a weekend away.

Stayed: April 2011
Thank mjlsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#382 of 721 in Hong Kong
419 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#371 of 721 in Hong Kong
97 reviews
Stanley Oriental Hotel
#386 of 721 in Hong Kong
13 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#57 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: €91 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing